May 2011 Random Thoughts

Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the content from May 2011′s Random Thoughts.  Enjoy!

_________________________________

Donald Trump has decided in his mind (as opposed to…say.. deciding with his ass) to run for President.  God bless America!  That is great.  He and the President are proof positive that anyone can run this great and proud country.  President Obama, a socially liberal democrat from Hawaii (a suburb of Kenya according to the birthers) who came to the Presidency via a vast wave of populism, and Donald Trump, a formerly socially moderate billionaire who has become the darling of the socially conservative.  Trump has really hurt himself recently with his birther nuttiness. Good luck hairball, you’ll need it. (5/1)

__________________________________

Osama Bin Laden is Dead.  Good riddance.  His death is something that we have been clamoring for, looking for, and waiting on for years and years.  It is late in coming, but better late than never.  I railed against Bush for his inability to get him, and was equally unhappy with Obama for not getting him, right until the moment he, and we, got him.  That murderous bastard is dead, and I’m damn happy about it.  (5/2)

__________________________________

I’ve been listening to talk about Osama Bin Laden, about his focus on terrorism.  His view was seemingly based on the economic damage the attacks Al-Qaeda were able to bring to bear.  He said something in an interview with Al-Jazeera a month after the 9/11 attacks, and his focus was on how much damage had been done to the stock market, about how many billions of dollars were lost in the aftermath of the attacks, and about the long term damage it would do to the economy.  He also, not surprisingly, focused on the psychological damage done to the people.

He’s dead and I am happy about it. (5/3)

__________________________________

Amazing what drives some markets.  Been watching the oil prices with some interest, and find it amazing that people are panicked about it dropping… ALL THE WAY TO $100!!!  It was at $87 to begin the year, and THAT price was over-inflated, and yet a price $13 above that somehow is a bad thing.

Commodities have been overpriced for a while.  Example, there’s been talk of gold going over $2000 an ounce before the end of the year, and it sits well over $1500 an ounce now.  Wasn’t it around $1100 an ounce only a year ago or something? and in triple digits not too long before that?

They have been trying to call the current commodities prices a “new normal.”  A better name for it is  “Raging bullshit.” (5/5)

__________________________________

Anagram:  Cinco De Mayo/ Acid Economy/ Coy Comedian/ Yo!  Manic Co-ed!/ A Coin Comedy/ Do My Cocaine/ I Am Con Decoy/ Die On My Coca  (5/5)

__________________________________

I haven’t written here for 6 days, and not on the main page since last Friday.  I’ve been recharging my batteries.  For a while it felt like I was forcing things while I was writing, and I was really not writing very well, not up to snuff for me.  Sometimes I was in a fog, sometimes in a rush, and either one is a sure recipe for disaster as far as writing is concerned.

A few days off won’t kill me, and I’ll come back feeling better about my writing, it’ll help my writing, and that is really what I want, to be a more effective writer.  I won’t be gone much longer.  I’m feeling the itch to bark at people again.  (5/11)

___________________________________

Anagram:  NHL Conference Finals/ Finch fallen onscreen/ Clefs For Channel Nine  (5/14)

___________________________________

Man, today’s run beat the hell out of me.  Nearly 15 miles, almost 2 hours out on the paths.  Hamstrings feel like rubber bands, Quads are sore, Calves are hyper-sensitive.  Nice.  Gotta do this again, next week. (5/15)

___________________________________

At this point in my day, I want to beat people with a crowbar.  My dad is in the hospital, was all day, and I could not get to see him, and didn’t know what was going on.  That irked the crap out of me, I was worried about the man.  Then on the way out the door from work, after I had punched out, that lil tyrant of an assistant manager decided it was time for a meeting, and pulled me away from going to visit my father to tell me she’d be really upset with everyone if this one job (which was nearly done) didn’t get done. I said OK, and went to leave.  She stopped me, again… there is more to this story, but it ended badly, and now I dunno if I’m gonna have a job come Tuesday or not. (5/16)

___________________________________

I still have a job, they say I’m being re-assigned.  Gave me the day off with pay. That, to me, doesn’t sound good.  The ax falls tomorrow, perhaps? Dammit, I was just trying to go see my father at the hospital (he’s better now, btw, thank the lord.)  Why this stuff happens to me I have no friggin idea, but it does, and it isn’t easy to handle.  Dammit.(5/17)

___________________________________

Great hockey news for real fans of the sport!  It is unofficial at this point, but word is that the Atlanta Thrashers are moving… TO WINNIPEG!!  That’s right folks!  Another Canadian team!  Now there has been some error filled reporting about it, such as the report that had Gary Bettman flying to Manitoba to finalize the deal while game 3 of the Eastern conference finals was going on… while he was at the game.  Silliness, but I think that is great news!

The American south loses a team they have only minimal interest in, and Canada, which LOVES this sport, gets another team.  (5/19)

___________________________________

Harold Camping’s predictions for the end of the world, have, not surprisingly, not come true.  Guess I can go play the lottery now.  :)   (5/21)

___________________________________

Odd way to leave a job.  Got into an argument with an assistant manager on Monday, got written up for it.  Then I was told I’d be re-assigned on Tuesday morning.  Then they gave me the rest of that day, and Wednesday off, with pay, and told me to come in Thursday.  Then on Thursday they tell me that they would re-assign me but there are no assignments open, so… since I’m only a temp, then I would simply be let go.

So when I go to tell the people over at unemployment what happened, I can tell them, because this is how it was put to me, that I am out of work because of lack of work on their part.  Despite the fact that on it’s face, that seems a falsehood.

And I am in the process of fighting this termination with them as well.  I have asked for, and have yet to receive, the form with which to put in an official complaint about the person who got me fired. The charges were trumped up, and the situation seems a cover-up of the facts on their part, and I want…if nothing else, my word on the record with these people, and best case scenario, I get my job back, and someone else loses theirs. (5/22)

___________________________________

It sucks being out of work… again.  I’m thinking about taking the art handler training course at the Bronx council on the arts.  Only stumbling block is the commute, and it isn’t much of one, to be honest.   A 2+ hour commute, and a rare 2 fare commute each way.  Nothing major, but that is expensive, $45 + a week commuting, with no money coming in.  But the Bronx… that is… the boonies, all the way out there, almost upstate New York. We’ll see.   (5/24)

___________________________________

Downloaded the latest windows update (about a month or two since i’ve done it.)  Seems that the version of IE9 that the system tried to give me comes up as malware.  A false positive, no doubt.  Saw that, and started up my anti-malware and anti-virus software to see what it reads, so far nothing.  Damned malware detected screen won’t go away though.  Pissing me off.  Might do a hard shutdown just to see what happens.  (5/25)

___________________________________

Bummed about my right hamstring.  Damn thing seized up on me 4 minutes into today’s run.  Dunno if I’m gonna be able to run worth a damn at the race on Monday.  Gonna try to run, might be more of a controlled speed gimp, though.  lulz.  (5/26)

___________________________________

I went out and got my race number today for the memorial day race.  650.  Walked the three miles to the place to get the number and back.  And ya know what else I got?  Sunburn!  Nice.  2 hours worth of walking in 80 degrees sunshine after not really enough sun to make a real difference since… well … early last September made that happening seem reeeeeeeeeeal easy.  I don’t mind.  Tested out the hamstring during the walk.  It’s still an issue, but I feel better about it now.  That makes a difference.  (5/27)

____________________________________

Had fun at the family barbecue yesterday.  I played my role for the kids, that of human pinata.  They beat me, I just hung there and took it.  Tires them out, and doesn’t hurt me, so no big deal.  When it does hurt I’ll say something.  Enjoyed cooking for everyone.  Well, enjoyed setting the meat on fire at any rate, close enough to cooking for me.  Cooking’s super easy when there is no food prep necessary.  Fire + meat  = Joy, or some such equation.   Family was great, had a blast! (5/29)

___________________________________

Anagram:  Memorial Day/  A Dreamy Limo/  I Am My Ordeal/ Ye Mild Aroma/ Roam My Ideal/ I’d Relay Ammo/ Moral May Die/ Aid My Morale/  Lo!  Media Army/ My Lame Radio/ Adore My Mail  (5/30)

___________________________________

After sending in several resumes this morning, I decided that it was time to try to find some career testing.  Checking out what other people think my best option for a career is.  Silly sounding concept, but I bit on it.  After being told that I am best suited to be a writer, editor, publisher, Paralegal, religious instructor, translator, engineer, accountant, management consultant, economist, intellectual property attorney, judge, and  inventor, I just gave up.  Forer effect, in full effect!  (5/31)

___________________________________

That’s it for the moment.  More later!

May 2011 Running Commentary

Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the May 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

________________________________

 

Sun., May 1st:  Ran 13.3 miles, un-timed.  60 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Longest run of the year so far, I didn’t push hard, but the distance run gave it the feel of a hard effort.  I did pick up the pace at the end of the run, just to see if I had a final kick left in me, felt good to have one after nearly an hour forty five of running.  150 push-ups, 150 crunches.  Easy workout after a hard run .

Mon., May 2nd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:40.66, a 7:14.74 m/m pace.  57 degrees, partly cloudy.  I told myself as I was going out the door I wasn’t going to push hard.  Two steps in I started to push hard, and I didn’t let up at all the entire run.  This was everything I had at this point in my day.  Surprisingly, I didn’t have any knee pain this time around.  Helluva run.  100 Push-ups, 75 beginner knuckle push-up burpees. Light short workout, and it was as much as I had time for .

Tues., May 3rd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:06.50, a 7:31.25 m/m pace.  68 degrees, partly cloudy.  Took it easy during the first half of the run, and picked it up for the second half.  Hit the half way point of the run at 19:50 (7:37.69 pace).  Ran the second half 36 seconds faster (7:24.61 pace.) No pain at all from the knee, or anywhere else for that matter.  Felt good on a great evening for a run. 96 (12 sets of 8 ) KPU, chin-up, ceiling kick burpees.  Gotta find a better name for this exercise.  This kicked my ass!  Nice!

Wed., May 4th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:06.25, a 7:19.66 m/m pace.  48 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Busted it out there today. Felt good pushing this hard today, when I didn’t think I had this kind of effort in me.About the same effort as the one I put in Monday.  Left knee was sore, as was my right hamstring, but it was only a minor issue. 175 push-ups, 35 chin-ups .

Thur., May 5th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:11.54, a 7:37.96 m/m pace.  58 degrees, clear.  3 laps in the park at dusk.  I ran pretty hard out there today, not as hard as I did yesterday, but it was a strong effort.  I thought I was faster than this, but it was as fast as I was capable of tonight.  No pain at all from the knee or the hamstrings.  Nice. 175 push-ups, 35 chin-ups, identical to yesterday’s workout, short, due to lack of time for exercise.

Fri., May 6th: NO RUN, NO WORKOUT

Sat., May 7th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:29.16, a 7:31.99 m/m pace.  55 degrees, sunny.  I started with a nice even pace, and pushed that pace harder as the run went on.  By the second of three park laps, I was motoring nearly at full speed, and actually had to slow down for a little bit during the third lap, because I had been pushing too hard for too long, and was feeling it.  Beautiful morning for a run.  No exercise, too busy today.

Sun., May 8th:  Ran 10.9 miles un-timed.  62 degrees, sunny.  Beautiful day for a run.  I actually pushed pretty hard in spots out there today, surprising more because I usually don’t do that during longer (10+ mile) runs, but the great weather and the feeling that I could made it too difficult to pass up.  This ranks with some of the best run days of the year, of the last few years.  No pain, no knee or ankle issues.  125 push-ups, 125 crunches, 25 chin-ups, 50 KPU chin-up ceiling kick burpeesThis exercise STILL need a new name, dammit.

Mon., May 9th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 40:41.86, a 7:14.49 m/m pace.  66 degrees, sunny.  I had no idea I was going quite this fast out there today. This was everything I had, and dammit, this felt good.  I had pain in my left knee early, but it disappeared after about 4 minutes of running.  I had to run around a ton of people out there today.  Probably why I was so fast.  200 KPU Burpees.  Broke a serious sweat doing this, first time I’ve done this particular exercise in a while, busted it.

Tues., May 10th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 36:59.74, a 7:06.87 m/m pace.  54 degrees, partly sunny.  Fastest run of the year.  Started out fast, got a boost on the downhill to the park, by running with some guy, trying to stay ahead of him on the downhill.  He was fast.  I was faster, barely.  Kept the speed and tried to increase it in the park.  Zoom and other such statements.  No pain at all.  Nice.  180 push-ups, 150 crunches.  Fast workout, would have done more, but I started late, less than an hour before bedtime.

Wed., May 11th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:08.70, a 7:29.94 m/m pace.  60 degrees, partly cloudy.  Took my time on tonight’s hill run, kinda.  In comparison to the last few days, I took my foot off of the gas, but it was still a sub 7:30 on hills, not exactly a weak effort.  Stomach was bothering me for a lil bit, must’ve had too much coffee prior to the run, made it harder to run. Fun run otherwise.

Thurs., May 12th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:22.88, a 7:31.11 m/m pace.  56 degrees, partly cloudy.  Starting work late, so I ran early today.  Up at 5 am, out before 6, back before 7.  I stretched my stride here, might not look like it, looking at my time, but I did.  I pushed hard, at least for me, during a morning run, before work.  No knee pain, no issues to speak of.  Great morning for a run.

Fri., May 13th: NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Sat., May 14th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:31.4, a 7:40.76 m/m pace.  57 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Knee was an issue for the first half of the run, bad enough where I had to stop near the ½ way point.  It got loose on me, and I needed the stop to straighten it out.  I moved faster, and with less pain after the stop, and my time improved somewhat.  I didn’t really push it though, wanting to keep from doing more harm to it.  100 standard burpees, 125 push-ups, 125 crunches, 45 chin-ups.  I just went with what felt right, broke a decent enough sweat.

Sun., May 15th:  Ran 14.7 miles in 1:53.24, a 7:42.85 m/m pace.  61 degrees, cloudy, rain/drizzle, fog.  Longest run of the year, so far.  Took it slow early, ran an 8:00 m/m pace for the first 4 ½ miles, pushed it after that, ran the next 10.2 miles 25 seconds per mile faster. Which is only part of the story.  Lap 3 I ran at a 7:45, lap 4 I was faster than that(7:36 pace,) and laps 5 thru 7 I ran at or under a 7:30 m/m pace.  Helluva run!  200 push-ups, 40 chin-ups.

Mon., May 16th: NO RUN NO WORKOUT.

Tues., May 17th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:06:34, a 7:23.77 m/m pace.  60 degrees, cloudy, breezy, occasional showers.  After a long two days of hair on fire worrying about things on several fronts that I choose not to write of here, I finally got a run in late afternoon, and decided to run longer than normal, not knowing when I will next be able to run.  Ran to clear my head, concentrated on form.  I ignored everything else. It was the right way to go.  I feel better now, except I did something to my left pinky toe, dammit.  200 push-ups, 40 chin-ups.

Wed., May 18th:  Ran 6.65 miles in 48:11.47, a 7:14.8 m/m pace.  61 degrees, rain, heavy at times, windy. Fast hill running in this weather is not something I expected of myself.  Pretty happy with it. Strong fast pace, about as much as I am capable of at this point in my running life, given conditions, and conditioning.  Left knee was an issue for a moment, but only a moment, left pinky toe is still sore.  225 push-ups, 45 chin-ups .

Thur., May 19th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:33.15, a 7:32.55 m/m pace.  63 degrees, partly cloudy.  I decided to take the foot off of the gas today, at least in my head. My feet were moving as fast as usual, but I didn’t expend nearly as much energy on it, or on my stride length as I have recently.  I needed a little bit of a break, and took it out there today.  Knee was not a problem, but the left pinky toe isn’t doing so well.  It’s always something with me.

Fri., May 20th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:02.26, a 7:19.75 m/m pace.  60 degrees, sun-showers.  I picked up the pace today, pushed as hard as I was able to.  Pretty happy about chopping a minute and a half off of yesterday’s time.  Not having to deal with pain today was a pretty happy thing.  Muddy track and wet conditions made this run if not more treacherous, then at least messier than normal.  Covered in mud and happy about it!  Nice!  100 ceiling kick burpees.

Sat., May 21st:  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.

Sun., May 22nd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:42, a 7:31.05 m/m pace.  53 degrees, cloudy, windy, drizzle.  Pushed as hard as I was able to at this distance at this point in my training regimen.  The run was pretty uniform, tried to keep my pace and stride length as close to precise as I was able.  I was tempted to stop at a number of occasions, but happily didn’t.  Left knee was sore, but not too too bad, no other issues to speak of.  200 push-ups, 40 chin-ups.

Mon., May 23rd:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:32.04, a 7:38.25 m/m pace.  64 degrees, cloudy.  Took my time today. Didn’t feel like pushing after I pushed as hard as I did yesterday. But I also tweaked something on the back of my right leg.  Whether it’s my hamstring or my IT band, or something else, I do not know.  But with a race coming up in a week, I’m not taking any chances.  I’m taking tomorrow off of running unless I feel absolutely 100% healthy.  Exercise info if I exercise, dunno if I will or not. (no exercise on the 23rd)

Tues., May 24th:  No run.  Not going to chance it with a race in a few days.  I might run tomorrow, I’ll see how the injury is healing at that point.

Wed., May 25th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Healing on the right leg is not progressing well.

Thur., May 26th:  Ran unknown distance in 4:03.35, maybe a ¼ of a mile. (note to self: do not count this distance)  66 degrees, foggy.  This sucks.  The week before the race I have been waiting for all year, and now I come up injured.  Dammit.  Ran for 4 minutes, and the right leg cramped up, or tightened up, something.  Can’t place it.  Tried, after stopping and rubbing the muscle for a minute, trying to just shake it off, to push off, start to run, and the leg nearly collapsed underneath me.  Son of a bitch.  I might just not run until the day of the race, and hope I can go without the thing seizing up on me during the race.  This is as frustrating as hell.

_______________________________

This month:  146.29  miles.  Longest run: 14.7 miles (May 15th) Shortest run: 5.2 miles (May 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 10th)  19 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.699 miles

Year to date: 573.26 miles  Longest so far 14.7 miles (May15th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 93 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  6.164  miles

_______________________________

I was on pace to have one of my best months on record, far better by far than last month, which was a very good one for me.  Then I tweaked my hamstring on the 23rd, and that made a mess of everything.  I was unable to run for more than 4 minutes for the rest of the month after that.  On June 1st, I was barely able to get in a 1.9 mile run, and the hamstring is sore from that slight effort.

Still the month was a decent one.

Almost 150 miles in 19 runs, averaging over 7 miles per run is a damn good thing.  Keeping up the exercise when I was running helped me to run fast and strong. Running a few half marathon distance runs at speed, around a 7:30/ 7:40 pace, which I think is phenomenal. I usually run those slower, that really felt good.  I am going to build on this, rather than focus on the bad end things took this month.

_____________________________

That’s it from here for now, America.