Curious News/ Good News

Regular employment still eludes me.

I have an interview on Wednesday though, which is a good thing, right?

Well, what would you say if I told you they say I need to bring $80 bucks with me for some type of security certification?  It makes me extraordinarily leery of the entire thing.  I know that there are certification tests and classes to be a security guard in New York, but do I have to pay it?  Would a legitimate New York security firm make the prospective employees pay for the certification? I don’t know.

Sounds fishy to me.  If get so much as a hint that it isn’t supposed to be that way, and I will be contacting the better business bureau about this, I will not touch the interview.  Why the fish would anyone have to pay to get certification for any job they have yet to do? Just sounds funny, tell ya that.  I will bring cash with me, even if the thing turns out to be 100% legit.  No person I have never met, or company I have never had dealings, or in fact even heard of, gets any bank info from me.

That simple.

But …

My unemployment hasn’t been coming in a few weeks, the last company that I temped with for 5 weeks decided to fight me for unemployment.  I need money.  So if I have to take a few bucks out, for legitimate employment, so I can get more money coming in, is a price I am willing to pay.  I have a wife to think of, bills to pay, a life to live, the type of work, and to a lesser extent the money I would get paid,  is of little consequence, I am afraid of no work.

I want to make the best of a bad situation.  Just don’t want to get burned here, but I have to dance damnably close to the flames here.

Dammit.

______________________________

If you make a decision in your life, even one as eminently logical and self-improving as “Why’d you start washing your hair every day?” and you start getting questioned hourly about it, you’re going to start second-guessing yourself.

Keith Olbermann

______________________________

Viddy of the day:  Countdown with Keith Olbermann: … ‘Countdown with Keith Olbermann premieres on Current TV June 20th.

Keith is back!  The new show was excellent.  I won’t get into specifics, just go watch the show.  The first one was great.  Michael Moore was great as his first guest, but the best guest shot was by Markos Moulitsas, better known as ‘Kos, as in the Daily Kos.  T’was truly fantastic watching ‘Kos rip that pompous asshat Joe Scarborough a new one on the air.  It was priceless.  And while Olbermann didn’t reciprocate, you could see he was enjoying it, and agreed at least in principle with everything Moulitsas said about the morning jerk.

_____________________________

That is it from here, America.  G’night.