Three Hours Of Nothing

Looked for work today, for about three hours.  Found nothing.  Must be looking for work in all the wrong places, looking for work in too many faces.  Or to get away from Waylon Jennings with quickness, but stay on the same path, I’m just doing something wrong, and frankly I do not know what.

Can’t spend money traveling around looking for work like I want to, resources are tight enough where any spending is too much spending.  Plus, how many buildings in Manhattan can you just walk into without having a specific place and person to visit?  Gotta show ID and have a name at the door, and if you don’t have that, you don’t get past security.

So search for work from home. OK.  Can do.  Every day I do.  Must.  There are no off days for this unemployed person.  None.  Frankly I think I work harder at this than some people do at their jobs.  Met people who I could say that about, and more than just a few.  I’d say they know who they are, but they probably don’t…. But I digress…

I searched through several sites today.  Searched through a list of tests for government jobs, none of which I am qualified for.  A few jobs On Indeed.com were similar, had one thing that I could not do.

Drive.

Dammit I should learn to drive.  43 years behind my ass and still I don’t.  But part of me hates the thought, it is one of the few things that I am honestly afraid to do.  I think I could skydive, I want to run with the bulls in Pamplona, that’s one of my bucket list things to do before I die.  But drive?  You people are insane when you’re in those… damn things, and the word insane, coming from me, means something.

After one particular disappointment, I walked away.  3 hours in, thought I had finally had one.  And the job, of environmental police (didn’t know the job even existed) had a requirement of a valid driver’s license.  Ya know.  Fuck YOU.  Seriously, Fuck You.  I needed to just walk away.

I have muscles, I have brains, I can use them, in tandem no less.  No one apparently is interested in that without a fucking driver’s fucking license.  Fucking assholes.

Noodled on the guitar aimlessly for a few little while.  Watched some documentary on the Revolutionary war for a little while.  Watched a few minutes of Restrepo.  Could not concentrate.  After as much disappointment and horsecrap, and being told NO job for you, you don’t drive one time too many, I just needed to walk away.

But I can’t stay away for too long.

I’m going to get back to it after this.  Can’t let stupid crap like this get me down.  Life is a 24 hour a day job, can’t let stupid bullshit get to me.

Can’t.

Won’t.

Back to it, now.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.