Thank you… no, no… Thank you!

A thank you goes out to the President for getting the report to congress out on what is going on in Libya.  According to what I had read, the White House had made noise about not having to report because they thought they did not have to, because the actions in Libya do not meet the requirements for reporting to congress.  The President reported anyway.  Good on him.  I was in the process of writing an article yesterday about his not getting the report to congress, a somewhat angry one, and in the middle of it, the report was sent to congress.  Or more accurately, I heard about it going to congress.

Stopped me dead in my tracks.  Deleted the report, all 700 words of it, and turned around and decided not to write a column, and just watch hockey(more on that in a few paragraphs.)

_______________________________

A second thank you goes out to Anthony Weiner for resigning his seat in the house of representatives, for sexting.  He did an apparently legal, but very improper and clearly stupid thing by sending naked and nearly naked pictures of himself to several women.  Now there are others who did worse, by far (see Charles Rangel and John Ensign) but he had to go.

The man was becoming a media distraction, he was getting more press than anything else that was happening, giving the Republicans something to attach a negative image of Democrats in the minds of Americans.  I would say another, but with the way politics are imagined in the minds of Americans, I cannot see very many people having positive images of very many people who hold office in either party right now. For every Anthony Weiner someone on the right can point to, someone on the left can point to a John Ensign.

Let’s be realistic about this America.  The view of the moral compass of a great many of our elected officials has deteriorated to the point that none seem to be worthy of trust anymore.  I am not sure that particular view is accurate.  To judge all elected officials by the actions of a few seems ridiculous. Perhaps an article on that subject sometime in the near future.

_______________________________

Character teaches above our wills. Men imagine that they communicate their virtue or vice only by overt actions, and do not see that virtue or vice emit a breath every moment.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

_______________________________

Viddy of the day:  Elvis Presley- suspicious minds 1970.  Thank you… no, no… Thank you!

______________________________

A third thank you goes out to the Boston Bruins for making me look like I know what the hell I’m talking about, at least as far as hockey is concerned.  I wrote in my WILDLY INACCURATE finals pick that the Bruins would win in 7, and that offense would be sparse on the Canucks side of the puck. The Bruins won in 7, and allowed the Canucks to score only 8 goals during the entire series.  I also said there would be a number of low scoring games, and a few shutouts.  There were 4 shutouts total in the series.

Either I’m good, or I’m lucky.  I’ll take it no matter which one is true, even if I’m no longer WILDLY INACCURATE.

Congratulations to The Boston Bruins on winning the Stanley Cup!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

And a quick word about the rioters In Vancouver.  I am really not surprised.  Not at all.  I remember the ’94 cup riots.  I heard about the police cordoning off downtown Vancouver before the game even started, and knew, regardless of what happened in the game, there would be some shit happening in the streets of that fine city.

That riot had less to do with hockey, and more to do with drunken 20 somethings trying to prove how tough they were.  I heard something about it being the work of anarchists, but I don’t believe that.  This was not the g-8 summit. They usually show up for more… political reasons.  A hockey game, even a Stanley cup game 7 final, doesn’t sound like something they’d attack in force.  Call it a hunch, but this was just drunks with anger issues.

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  Thank ou very much for reading, and G’night!