It’s Been 4 Happy Years

Today was a good day.

____________________________

My wife and I got married 4 years ago today.  As I recall that was a hectic day, but not as hectic as I thought it was going to be.  I made the whole day easier by de-stressing myself just a hair by managing a 3½ mile hill run before the beginning of festivities.  Any day I can break a sweat running is a less stressful day than it otherwise would be for me.

The ceremony was funny, because the… oh what do you call it… the practice wedding the day before?  Whatever you actually call that thing, was not really a run through of any of the stuff we would be doing.  It was just people standing around looking at the deacon, and him more or less saying “Do you know what to do?”  You do? Good!”  “Do you?  Ya? Great!  With most everyone there thinking “Screw this crap, let’s go to the dinner and have a few beers!!!”

Kinda like that.

Except the answers, if I (not we, I will not speak for my wife here) was honest with the deacon would probably been more like “huh?” &  “Whu … umm … No …  I’m supposed to what again?”  Prolly would have saved much bullshit later on.

And we still would have made the dinner with plenty of time to spare.

Which meant that the wedding itself was filled with gaffes, from me not putting the ring on the proper finger, to not quite getting the wording on the vows right, there were flowers given out, and I flubbed that as I recall.  The candle lighting went surprisingly well.  I was shaking like a leaf, and could have easily been described as a fire hazard to the entire neighborhood trying to light the damn thing.

_______________________________

Grow old along with me!
The best is yet to be,
The last of life, for which the first was made:
Our times are in his hand
Who saith, “A whole I planned,
Youth shows but half; trust God: see all, nor be afraid!

Robert Browning, Rabbi ben Ezra

_______________________________

It was funny.  Doesn’t matter though, we got the wedding certificate, despite the deacon who ran the ceremonies best effort to screw us up, with our hearty, if unknowing, help.

His name was Maroon, to this day we still refer to him as Moron, and have only gone back to that church once. I think that is a result of the debacle that was his poor planning for people who were clearly unsure of what was going on logistically.

What a maroon.  🙂

Most of the rest of the day went pretty well.  At least the way I remember it.  The photographer was a stupid, annoying, graceless, pushy pain in the ass, who got her camera caught in my wife’s veil, and yanked it, damn near putting my wife on the ground during our first dance together, and was about the most nastily obtrusive person at our wedding.  My wife didn’t like the DJ either, but he was OK as far as I remember.  Played a song my wife didn’t want played, but it didn’t hurt anything, as I recall.

All in all, we had a pretty damn good wedding day, even if some of the minutiae didn’t go quite as planned.  Almost sounds like a good way to look at our lives, both before and since, one day that was a microcosm of our lives.

Yeah things went wrong, some looked pretty damned bad when they first happened, but after all, in the scheme of things it didn’t make a difference.  Life still goes on, and we can giggle our asses off at some of the stuff that happened.

Except that thing with the veil.

My wife is still pissed about that.

Don’t know that I blame her.

______________________________

The years have been tumultuous, difficult in ways neither of us could have imagined, but we have survived in large part because we trust and believe in one another.  The employment situation sucks for both of us now, and things look mighty dark, but as long as we have each other, we will be able to find a path to a better tomorrow.  We will make it together because we are a team, and work well together.

______________________________

That’s it from here America.  G’night.