Short Pieces


    Joe Scarborough annoys me.  Pat Buchanan annoys me.  Ron Paul isn’t a bad guy tho…    

      Reading on bloomberg that Ben Bernanke won the battle with deflation.   Good for him.  I thought that was what he was supposed to be doing, keeping fed overnight rates as low as they are and have been for the past year.  And it was just him, right?  No one else worked on it?  …I digress.   Now lets see what the man does when Inflation rears it’s ugly head.  I presume he’ll handle it, but the question, as with all large scale financial questions, is a simple one.  What will he do to insure that there is no next time?  

     I presume not enough, but I’m a pessimist as far as our economic future is concerned.

________________________________________________________

    Verizon  SUCKS.  Big bunch of friggin idiots, the lot of them (unless i get a job with them, then they’re all wonderful, LOL)  Read this article from Ars Technica on them and their ETF and Mobile web browser thievery. 

________________________________________________________

     I’m looking at a bunch of different jobs at this point in my night.  I’ve been looking for work today since about 9:30pm.  The point of doing this is obvious, to have my resume be the first one (or one of the first ones) on any prospective employers desk when they get in on Monday morning.   I am also starting to look outside my areas of expertise, partly I want to improve the odds of getting a good job relatively quickly, but mainly because, despite all that I have heard about the job market opening up, I have yet to find a job.  Makes paying the bills a wee bit difficult, lack of money coming in, ya know?

   The question I am asking myself is, how far afield should I go when doing this?  I’m an ugly bastard,  maybe availing myself of modeling / acting might not work, but what’s the worst that happens, I don’t get a job?  That’s been happening for awhile.  Time to fling crap on the wall and see what sticks….Just gotta make sure I don’t get to silly with it.  This isn’t a joke, it’s my future I’m talking about.

________________________________________________________

   4 -8 oz. New York Strip steaks,  1 ½lb. Boneless pork roast,  1 lb. Chicken Breast Fajita strips,  1 lb lean ground beef.  1½ lbs all white meat chicken tenders,   1 lb. of fish sticks,   2 ham steaks, 2 lbs. french fries,  1 lb lima beans,  1 lb. green beans,   2 lbs of fresh apples,   a dozen eggs,  10 tortillas, 1 qt. shelf stable milk, and a  2 lb. sweet potato pie.

     for $30.

    This, THIS is why I like angel food ministries.  Anyone can order and get any of a great many packages like this, relatively cheaply.  The cuts of meat are top notch, all the food is good, no fighting with people in a store, no coupons, no being unsure about prices.  And the nicest people around.  Everything was thrown out of whack due to the storm, but these people bent over backwards to be as helpful as possible.  

     Thank you, Angel food ministries.

________________________________________________________

     That’s it for me. Later.

Today’s Nuggets, via wikiquote:  I am a Conservative to preserve all that is good in our constitution, a Radical to remove all that is bad. I seek to preserve property and to respect order, and I equally decry the appeal to the passions of the many or the prejudices of the few.   Benjamin Disraeli

We are obligated to be more scrupulous in fulfilling the commandment of charity than any other positive commandment because charity is the sign of a righteous man.  Maimonides

There’s a time when you have to separate yourself from what other people expect of you, and do what you love. Because if you find yourself 50 years old and you aren’t doing what you love, then what’s the point?  Jim Carrey

Leave a comment