A Tale from Underemployed Man


Das_große_Gonna tell a short tale, be slightly annoyed and vocal about things for a little bit.

Just for a minute.

Honest.

I am underemployed.  What does that mean?  Simple.  I don’t work as much as I want or need to, in order to pay my bills and meet my every day needs.  Thursday this week will be my second day working of the month and eighth of the year.  This is an issue because… well… it should be obvious why that’s an issue.  8 days of work in two months is far from an ideal situation.

But it’s also eight days more than some folks.  I’ll take what I can get, though I am still bouncing around on unemployment.  But I tell you all that to tell you this.

I got a bite from a place that I used to work at. Talk of a job being open, and they were interested in me.   They were, back when I worked there hostile to the union guys in local 814 and those who sided with them (like me), hostile enough to lock them out for ten months and never once tell me or any of the other temps who were trying to get hired on they wanted to hire us despite the fact that they loved our work.  Then when they finally signed a new collective bargaining agreement, pushed most of them out the door, and never even thought about bringing any of us former temps back.  Of the 44 regulars that were there when the agreement was signed, four are left of that crew.

So when they e-mailed me to indicate their interest, I was overjoyed.  I loved working there.  It was the best professional experience of my life, and they were the best bunch of guys around, despite the circumstances.  Great crew, great place.

Could it be the same way it was back then?  Highly unlikely. Hell no would be a more apt way to put it.  More likely things would be hard, ugly, and abrasive, and that is being kind in my assessment.  But knowing that I was still willing to brook that and make the most of things, and make some money along the way; make my life and my wife’s life that much easier by having regular money coming in, an actual weekly paycheck and knowing I was working for five days a week, sometimes even seven.

Heaven in comparison to where I am now.

But it was not to be.  After much back and forth talk with several people in the human resources department of this fine institution, I was told that, sorry, the position has been filled.  But thank you for patience!

The position:  Temporary property handler, Sotheby’s

A position that was on the nyfa.org site, the site I had found the posting on in the first place.

Freshly re-opened and newly placed on the site, dated today.

Did I mention that they said the position was filled already?

Now I don’t have an issue if they didn’t really want me.  Doesn’t bother me overmuch.  I have had to handle a boatload of rejection from a boatload of places over the last few years trying to get back on my feet and land a full time permanent job.

I have an issue with them telling me they would like to interview me, then disappearing and not responding to an e-mail I sent in regards to the first e-mail they sent; then saying the woman in charge was busy and could not talk, but drop me a line if you don’t hear anything by the end of the day; then when I do that today they say, sorry, she’s still busy but the position has been filled; then seeing the same position listed as open, the one I wanted to interview for, which I was told was filled open on the same website I had found the previous posting on with today’s date on it, meaning they are still looking for people to fill that position.

THAT is why I am bent out of shape.

I really do try to be professional, but if you don’t want me around, just say so.  I can take a hint, really I can.

What I think happened was a simple foul up on their side.  I probably have a file there, I’m sure all the temps who worked there before do, and my name like many others probably has a big red flag next to it that says “Pro-Union; do not interview” or “Former employee; do not re-hire” or some such on it and someone missed that and saw my resume and liked it and made a common sense hr decision namely “His resume looks good, let’s see if he can fit here”

But did not see the flag.  Can’t blame the kid for that, and I can’t see a possibility of me not ending up angry or confused or both about it no matter what they did.  I dislike the fact that…

that…

Well, they led me on.  Which is antisocial and rude, bound to get you talked about in all the wrong circles for all the wrong reasons… in a perfect world.  Which this clearly isn’t.  Or else I wouldn’t even have been looking for work with them, and I would be secure in my finances and in my world.

I’d go to the better business bureau but I don’t know what I’d say, or what they’d say, or if it would matter a damn to them, or anyone but me.

The end.  I’d give you a better ending but you only get really good endings in fiction.  The real world doesn’t give you the endings you want, you get what you get.

Moral of the story;  Expect something, receive nothing is the way of the world.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

That’s it from here, America.  See you around sometime.  More jobs to look for.  There’s one out there for me somewhere.

Leave a Reply

