Give Thanks


Pic of the day:  Thanksgiving Day Greetings, by Frances Brundage

____________________

Damn me, it’s worth a fellow’s while to be born into the world, if only to fall right asleep. And now that I think of it, that’s about the first thing babies do, and that’s a sort of queer, too. Damn me, but all things are queer, come to think of ’em. But that’s against my principles. Think not, is my eleventh commandment; and sleep when you can, is my twelfth — So here goes again.

Herman Melville, Moby Dick

____________________

At the very beginning of black Friday I am here to tell you that I am thankful.

Thankful that I am not out there with the crazy people who go shopping at midnight.  Thankful that I am not taking part in that gluttonous ritual.  Thankful that I am not part of the madding crowd.

I am tired.  I ate entirely too much food, as a great many Americans do.  I ran, I exercised,which I love doing as it makes it possible for me to keep myself from becoming a blob that I would clearly become if I didn’t run and exercise.  I’m quite happy that I can do that, not everyone can, and many simply don’t want to, which I’ve never understood, at least not since I started doing it myself.

I did my daily write on my book, which seems to be stalling a bit in a few places, but is still moving nicely.  Took an hour and a half and wrote 1300 words.  Not enough, but a good amount for the time I spent writing.

I am thankful that I have the time and energy and patience to do all of that.

I am thankful that my wife loves me.

I am thankful that I have a roof over my head and food to eat while under it.

My life is replete. And for that I give thanks.

____________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

____________________

Leave a Reply

