How?


Pic of the day: North America from the low orbiting earth satellite Suomi NPP

____________________

It is natural that one cannot understand deep and hidden things. Those things that are easily understood are rather shallow.

Yamamoto Tsunetomo, Hagakure

____________________

We ask questions like “Who made us?” and “Who made the world?” Because we make things. If we never made a thing, it never would have occurred to us that the world was a created thing, created by a being of any type. The thought can only exist in your head if you are capable of imagining it, and any creature capable of an act of creation can imagine other acts of creation. And because the world is gigantic when thought of in proper proportion, it cannot be helped that some of those thoughts would necessarily turn to the immensity of the world we ourselves live in.

We ask questions like “Why was the world created?” and Why were we created?” Because we, every single one of us act with intent most every day, and have for millions of years of our evolution. If we hadn’t, we would not be the creatures we are now. We could not have survived to become the top of the food chain without it. We didn’t survive because we had the biggest claws or the best physical anything. Intention and creativity gave us the strength to become who we are today. We created bows and spears and a thousand other weapons to kill that which threatened us, with the intent to protect ourselves. Intention and creation are at the heart of who and what we are.

We cannot imagine a world without intent because we have intent everywhere in our lives. It’s hard wired into our brains. Capitalism is an intent engine. It starts with the intention to create capital, to intentionally create something for ourselves to build a better life for ourselves. Nations are intent engines, as are political machines. We are intent engines whose sole purpose is personal fulfillment. Nothing in our lives goes untouched by these things.

So when I hear the above questions, I cannot help but think they are the wrong questions. Who and why, as good a set of simple questions as mankind has ever created, should be replaced with a more pertinent question. How?

How were we created? I don’t know, to be honest. I wasn’t there. I have heard speculation about it but have done no research myself. I think we came down from the trees a few million years ago, but that’s just me. I could be wrong.

How was the world made? Again I don’t know as I was not there when it happened, but I have an idea because others have done research and I’ve read and heard some of it.

It isn’t enough to ask questions. We have to ask the right questions. The wrong questions lead to wrong answers and push us in the wrong direction.

____________________

I feel bad for not writing here much lately. I have been writing, a lot. My novel is coming along nicely. A hair over 33,000 words since I started on November 1st. I’ll write more about that later.

____________________

That’s it from here America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

