Day Ten Nano Update


Pic of the day: Compassion, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau

____________________

A writer — and, I believe, generally all persons — must think that whatever happens to him or her is a resource. All things have been given to us for a purpose, and an artist must feel this more intensely. All that happens to us, including our humiliations, our misfortunes, our embarrassments, all is given to us as raw material, as clay, so that we may shape our art.

Jorge Luis Borges

____________________

I am slightly over 20,000 words in to the writing of the book at this point. I am feeling pretty good about it so far. The plot pace has picked up quite a bit from when last I updated things, back 6 days ago. Many things have happened, and I’ve added a few sub plots to the book. I am going to have to go into the middle of the book and add a few things, some interstitial pieces, short stories that will help add some needed context.

The context is needed because the bulk of the story revolves around police who are searching every bag that every person carries onto the subway. To make it make sense from the perspective of both the cops and the people, some of whom clearly accept this invasion of privacy as simply part of life, and others chafe under it, I’m going to have to add a few extra moving parts to the story.  And the way the story is going they will be somewhat disturbing elements.

Those elements are a Terrorist attack that kills thousands of Americans on American soil 16 years to the day after 9/11, including the complete destruction of the Pentagon and thousands dead at a bombing in LA, site to be determined, and a new law granting the police sweeping new powers to hold and interrogate terrorists without seeing a judge, essentially destroying the right of Habeus corpus, and because of the wording of it, also allows the same type of treatment of non-terrorists.  Which pushes the police department to search everything under the sun, which has some of the cops and the people angry. I’ve done some foreshadowing on all of these plot elements, but it’s clear that much more work there is needed.

I think the hardest thing I’ll have to do is find a way to tell the story of the terrorist attacks without making it look like I’m just dropping it in the plot. It needs to look natural. It’s all about context, and it’ll take some doing but I think I’ll be able to do it fairly easily. And maybe I should not write it so well, as I don’t want any crazy people getting ideas from me.

Thinking that I might use some type of subterfuge. Make the terrorists look like jihadists, and have it turn out later that they were actually American super-patriots fighting what they perceive as the wrongs in America, or vice versa. Not sure which, I’ll see.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I am happy with the simple amount of writing I have gotten done so far. I’ve been averaging over 2000 words a day obviously, 10 days 20,000 words. Ended up with that by having a few 3,000+ word days. To be honest I hardly feel like I got anything done today on it, worked on it for maybe 2 hours, some of which was fixing issues with the damn thing and I still managed to write almost 1,400 words today. What’d I have to fix?

Well…I’ll tell you. In this story I have a major fight happen, between 4 cops and one civilian. Guy gets his brains beaten out. But that wasn’t the issue, the issue was I had events happening that simply could not happen in the real world. Had a table break under one mans weight, and three paragraphs later had the same table back up again, only to break a second time. I read it, looked at the screen intelligently, muttered a few hundred curse words, and got to fixing the issue. And while doing that I found another issue, of the same action being repeated by the same character twice when he would not have been in a position to do that deed more than once.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

And it has done one thing for my writing, it has definitely made me a faster typist if nothing else. One more skill I can put on the resume, baby!

____________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

