Day Four Nano Update


Pic of the day:  Inspiration, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau

____________________

To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves; let us be above such transparent egotism. If you can’t say good and encouraging things, say nothing. Nothing is often a good thing to do, and always a clever thing to say.

Will Durant

____________________

Nearly 7,000 words into my Nanowrimo story, and the storyline is progressing nicely.  Even if I never try to publish, even if in the end what I write is pure crap I will be more than happy with the effort.  The fact is that I don’t think it’s crap, but my thoughts here matter little.

I’ve got 2 main characters, protagonist and antagonist, as well as a number of smaller characters on both sides, some who only come into view for a single scene, others more regular.

There has been conflict throughout, which is something I have had problems writing in the past, some of the conflict physical and some psychological.  I’ve made the main character look like an idiot at times, and made the antagonist a somewhat empathetic figure, mixing the roles a bit in that way.

The pacing is slower than I had anticipated, but that to my mind means that the story will also go longer than anticipated, a nice thing to happen.

I’m pleased so far.  I’ll see in a week if I still think that.

____________________

The work on the novel has me looking far and wide for inspiration. I’ve been watching movies that  I normally would not watch, reading and listening to books that I would normally not read and listen to, as well as work with concepts that fall far outside the purview of the original concept of the novel.

That original concept is showing the negative social consequences of the destruction of the underpinnings of the constitution, especially when done in the name of security.

Nearly 7,000 words in, and there have been only three references to the story created “law” that damages things and makes the mess in the novel, and those were oblique ones.  Think I might have to introduce the legislation and the legislator responsible as a side plot rather than as part of the main plot, which was part of the original plan.

____________________

There is a question I am asking myself about how to manage the characters. Meaning I am not sure whether I should kill off the Antag and Protag or not.  Initially I was going to have, at the very least, the Main character and one of the antagonists die.  Now I am not so sure.  I want to leave loose ends now, where before I did not.  Enough holes where I have enough meat left where I can use the at the very least some of the same characters in another book on a similar subject.

The minor characters have a great deal of life in them, enough I think that they could stand on their own as main characters in their own right at some point in future. And I might flesh some of them out for larger roles within this book than was initially planned.

Dammit, writing is fun!

____________________

That’s it from here America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

