Mid-October Late Night Idle Talk


Pic of the day:  The Night Cafe, by Vincent Van Gogh

____________________

Man had always assumed that he was more intelligent than dolphins because he had achieved so much — the wheel, New York, wars and so on — whilst all the dolphins had ever done was muck about in the water having a good time. But conversely, the dolphins had always believed that they were far more intelligent than man — for precisely the same reasons.

Douglas Adams, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

____________________

Viddy of the day:  “Paul Ryan’s Video Diary” – A Bad Lip Reading of Paul Ryan

____________________

I write every day. I enjoy it, there’s nothing more fun you can do with a computer that doesn’t involve … well … let us not get into that sticky mess.  But I am about to get into some writing that is much larger than anything that I’ve tried before.  Tomorrow I begin working on the outline for the Nanowrimo story ideas that I have been working on for the last 2 weeks.  How I am going to do this is pretty simple.

In the telling anyway.

Part one:  Story statement.  I am simply going to write the most basic concept out.  Single sentence to at once state what will be written and the point of the story, the aim of the story arc.

Part two:  Chapterization.  Begin to break down the story into sections, being sure to put enough action in to each one.  See how many peaks and valleys the story has and see if it looks and sounds right.

Part three:  Minutiae.  After getting the big picture of what the story is supposed to look like, taking those chapters and breaking them down to their smallest possible pieces.

Part three will take the longest.  I pretty much have section one done on several of the story ideas, but concept tweaking is always  a good thing.  Part two will take some inspiration, but I have no doubt that I can do it pretty quickly.  We’ll see though.

The “otherworld”  story is something that I have been going over in my head for the last few weeks, writing down ideas, asking questions of myself about the story and where I want it to go.  I have been doing much the same thing with the Dystopian American future story and the boy meets girl and fall madly in hate story, though not to the same degree as the “otherworld” story.

Now whether I can, through the month of November write an average of 1666 words a day on a story, is something that will prove difficult.  But I plan on doing it, and hope to not just do it but to exceed that number.  Nanowrimo wants 50,000 words in the month, I am going to try for more than that.  I’ll see how it goes.

____________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

One thought on “Mid-October Late Night Idle Talk

Leave a Reply

