Which Days?


Pic of the day:  In The Clove, by Jasper Cropsey

____________________

Human beings are unable to be honest with themselves about themselves. They cannot talk about themselves without embellishing.

Akira Kurosawa

____________________

Viddy of the day:  Death –  Trapped in a Corner (Live in Eindhoven 1998) (High Quality)

____________________

Had my final day on the job today for the year.  I used up all my time there for the year, and can’t work there again until January.  Had a good day as well.  Busy as hell, and I busted my ass today too.  That felt good.

I know, I know, I go on endlessly about work.

About the lack of it.

But ya know, this time I kind of did this myself.  In early September I was told I had about 30 days worth of work left for the year, and was told I could work those final days however I wanted, a little bit at a time over the length of the year, or as much as possible as fast as possible.  I went with the second.

And ya know what?  I think I did it right.  If I did this the other way, lil bit at a time, I would never had had the money to pay bills, and would have been under considerable financial stress all year long.  Not to mention it would be really difficult to look for another job while having an uncertain schedule.  “3 days work a week, but which days?”  makes for a not knowing what days I can do an interview.  The other way I know which days I’m working, and as a consequence which ones I’m not, and can schedule interviews for the off days.

And it looks like I will have another interview soon, due to talking to shippers where I worked until the end of today (and should I not land anywhere before January, where I will be again after January.)

I had a great time working for the people I worked with.  And I hope I end up working with a crew as good as the crew I worked with this year.

____________________

Repeat after me:  Paul Ryan got his ass kicked last night. Knew Super Joe could handle Ryan. Go Joe!

____________________

Repeat after me:  The Orioles bats were weak all week, and even with some insanely good pitching, still could not beat Raul Ibanez and the New York Yankees.  Gotta play Raul every day against the Tigers. Every day.

____________________

That’s it from here, America.   G’night.

One thought on “Which Days?

Leave a Reply

