Nothing Permanent


Pic of the day:  8 Views of Omi – #7. Evening Glow In Seta by Utagawa Hiroshige

____________________

In the old dramas it was love that had to be sacrificed to painful duty. In the modern instance the sacrifice is at the shrine of what William James called “the Bitch Goddess, Success.” Love is to be abandoned for the stern pursuit of newspaper notoriety and dollars.

Aldous Huxley, Do What You Will (1928)

____________________

I sent an e-mail to my boss late this morning asking him if there was any work this week.  Normally when I do that he responds pretty quickly.  It usually takes him about an hour to get back to me.  But not today.  I still have not heard back from him, and it has been more than11 hours since I sent that e-mail.

But I am getting close to being at the end of my 128 total days at the job(that is the contract length,) I am wondering whether he even cares at this point.  If I only have a few more days left, and to be honest I don’t know how many exactly I have left, I wonder whether he will go out of his way like he had previously to get work for me, and the other guys like me who are running short on days.

It could also be that he doesn’t have anything, or that he simply didn’t have time to answer it.  Regardless, it gives me pause to think about how little success I’ve had the last 3 and a half years finding full time employment.  Make that no success, because I have yet to find one.  I’ve had lots of temp jobs, a great many short term jobs, but nothing that even comes close to meeting my needs.

I’ve heard it said that to keep moving is the best way to be successful.  And I have tried. Keep updating myself, my resume, my look, my everything.  Send resumes to every place that I think might need someone with my skill set.  And what do I have to show for it?

Nothing.  Nothing permanent.  I had 5 jobs in 2011.  Only one this year, but the job has not been consistent.  2 days here, 3 days there.  No days one week, 5 days the next.  Better than nothing.  But I still don’t have medical coverage.  I still don’t have dental coverage.  No 401k.

I am still looking for that elusive full time job.  I will keep trying, I will keep looking until I find it.  In a society where the ability to make money is the most important one, I can’t stop.

I will win, doesn’t matter what the world throws against me.  I will win.  I will get that job.

My promise.  I never break a promise.

____________________

To aspire to be superhuman is a most discreditable admission that you lack the guts, the wit, the moderating judgment to be successfully and consummately human.

Aldous Huxley,  Do What You Will

____________________

I sent in six resumes today in an effort to get to that elusive full time job.

Spent the better part of 3 hours going through the list of jobs that I had available to me.  Many of the jobs I went through and did not respond to had one or two things in them that made them a bad fit for me.  There were jobs where they wanted a driver on top of being an art handler.  I don’t have a drivers license.  So no go.  There were others where they were asking for a college degree.  I don’t have one.  I went to college but never finished.

That sadly killed off a number of job opportunities.  But there were still plenty of good ones, and every good one got a resume.  It might not sound like much, but I tell you that six resumes sent in one day, six that I think have a serious shot of getting the job is truly a good day’s job hunting.

____________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

One thought on “Nothing Permanent

Leave a Reply

