Today Is Good Enough


Pic of the day:  Paradise by Dieric Bouts (1450)

____________________

On a sudden open fly
With impetuous recoil and jarring sound
Th’ infernal doors, and on their hinges grate
Harsh thunder.

John Milton, Paradise Lost

____________________

My dreams aren’t big dreams.  I don’t dream about big things.  I dream about having a full time job.  About having medical coverage.  About having a place to live big enough for my wife and I and all our stuff.  About not having to travel and hour and a half a day every day just to work.  About feeling safe at home.   About making enough money to think about a future for my wife and I rather than just today.

Tomorrow is a dream I cannot afford to dream.  Today is the only important day in my life.  Can’t afford to do it otherwise.

I don’t really mind though.  My life has been like that for as long as I remember.  Today is good enough when it’s all you have.  While I dream about having a full time job that doesn’t mean that that isn’t a big dream.  It is.  That may be a small thing to you, but when you don’t have the full time job, getting the full time job is the big dream.

My father had dreams.  He dreamed of success for his kids and himself.  He dreamed of a better life for his wife and his kids.  I don’t know what else he dreamed of.  We never had that conversation when he was alive.  But I know he loved me and I know I loved him.  That was enough.  I would have given him more had I had more to give. But I couldn’t.  I’m not successful, but I work hard, give everything I have.  That has to be enough because it’s all I have.

I have tried all my life to be a good worker, make a decent salary, but most importantly be a good man.

That’s as much as I can do.

____________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

One thought on “Today Is Good Enough

  1. Mike,

    That was great but remember that is what we were taught. There is nothing else but what is 2 inches in front of your nose is what matters. Do not expect more unless you are willing take more crap . With good comes bad and vise versa. So sometimes what you have at that time is just what you need for that moment, and above all be greatful for what you do have seen and unseen . The most important than any I can think of is the love of one’s family.

    BiL Walsh

Leave a Reply

