July 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page. This is the July 2012 Running Commentary. Enjoy!

______________________________

This month: 189.70 miles. Longest run: 11.4 miles (July 14th, 22nd, 28th) Shortest run: 5.2 miles (12 times in July) 27 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.025 miles

2012 Mileage total: 1229.53 miles Longest run of the year: 15.2 miles (March 11th, April 1st, May 4th) Shortest run of the year: 3.8 miles (February 6th, May 22nd). 164 runs on the year. Average run distance: 7.497 miles

______________________________

I came up short as far total distance I wanted to run on the month.  But this is only a minor disappointment.  I came close, only 10.3 miles short and the only reason I missed my 200 or more miles goal was the fact that I took four days off for all the right reasons.  I got to longer runs when I could, and work is what kept some of my run distances down, so I’m not going to complain.

I’ll take more money and lower mileage if that’s what it takes to survive.  But the long runs when I got to them were good.  Nothing longer than 11.4 miles is another mild disappointment, but one I’ll get over.  There are longer runs in my future.  I’m not offhand worried about that.

July was all about speed. I had a great many runs that were very fast.  Six runs that were sub 7:15.  Fourteen or fifteen runs that were sub 7:30.  Some of them in the blazing heat, where my numbers usually slow down.  I’m very happy about that.

And the exercise was adequate at the very least.  Exercised every day I ran, which may be a first for me.  Usually I slack for at least a day or three. Not this month.  I’m feeling stronger and dammit it’s fun sweating every day like that.

Next month’s goals are similar to my goals for July. 200+ Miles and exercise every day.  And at least 1 15+ mile run.

Sounds like a plan.

______________________________

Sun., July 1st:  Ran 9.52 miles in 1:14:29.80, a 7:49.51 m/m pace.  93 degrees, sunny, windy.  11:15 am.  This was 2 runs separated by a few minutes.  First run was 5.7 miles, 3 laps in the park, in 44:10.21.  The second was 3.82 miles, hills around the park,  in 30:19.59, a 7:56.33 pace.  It was hard running in the heat, but I wanted to get some distance in, so after stopping at lap 3 in the park, I wanted to see what I could do and ran the hills around the park.  Hard running, but good running.  150 knuckle push-ups, 72 chin-ups.

Mon., July 2nd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:41.90, a 7:14.98 m/m pace.  86 degrees, sunny.  7:20pm Absolutely busted my ass on this one.  Thought I was pushing too hard to be honest, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to keep up this pace for the entire run.  I don’t know that I’m acclimated to the heat, but a 7:15 in this makes it seems like I’m at least close to it.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., July 3rd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:56.02, a 7:40.77 m/m pace.  86 degrees, sunny.  7:45 pm.  Took my foot off of the gas today.  Well I pushed hard at the end of the run, but it wasn’t close to yesterday’s effort.  I did not feel like pushing that hard today, so I didn’t.  Kewl.  I’m planning on going long tomorrow, so there was no real reason to go nuts today.  No pain, no injuries to speak of.  Kewl.  80 chin-ups.

Wed., July 4th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:13:15.19, a 7:42.65 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny, humid.  10:25 am.  I wasn’t pushing super hard, but I wasn’t taking it easy out there either.  And while I didn’t push super hard, the effort to keep that pace up as the temperature went up became greater as the run went on.  7:42 is not really fast, but 7:42 over 9+ miles in a heat wave isn’t exactly a joke either.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Thurs., July 5th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Tired.  Wife asked me to stick around. I stuck around.

Fri., July 6th:  Ran 6.32 miles in 48:54.93, a 7:44.38 m/m pace.  92 degrees, mostly cloudy.  7:25 pm.  Took it kinda slow on the hills today, ran faster in the park.  The hills in the heat are difficult, and it was worth the effort.  Really felt good out there running them today.  Not fast on the hills, but that wasn’t the point.  Felt good to run that hill.  80 chin-ups.

Sat., July 7th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:16.07, a 7:35.45 m/m pace.  96 degrees, sunny, humid. 10:50 am.  This was initially going to be a 7.6 mile run, but I cut one lap off because I didn’t want to push any further in the heat than I already had.  I pushed hard out there, as hard as I could in this.  This felt like a 100% effort out there.  But then again, that’s probably also the heat.  I’m kinda surprised that I’m not better acclimated to it.  Temps have been hovering in and around the 90′s for the better part of 3 weeks.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., July 8th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 56:37.16, a 7:26.99 m/m pace.  87 degrees, partly sunny.  3:35 pm.  I was going to stop after 3 laps, but decided to add a lap just before I finished the 3rd lap.  I had decent speed for the first half of the run but got quicker as the run went on, ran a negative split, but I’m not exactly sure how much faster I was during the second half, 30 seconds or so I think.  I had fun out there today.  88 chin-ups.

Mon., July 9th:  Ran 6.06 in 44:49.35, a 7:23.78 m/m pace.  82 degrees, sunny.  3:55 pm.  Three 2.02 up and backs on the hills.  Started out pretty quick on the downhill, a pretty easy thing to do, and got faster as the run went on.  Ended on a real upbeat note, hit the last uphill at a 7:31 pace, I’d run the previous uphills better than 10 seconds slower than that.  Cooler and less humid made running faster easier.  Kewl.  275 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., July 10th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:59.05, a 7:18.27 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly cloudy.  7:20 pm.  Speed to burn today.  Felt fast the entire run, actually found a gear I hadn’t hit in a long when passing a crowd of people.  I stretched my stride out there a little, but most of the speed came from a fast stride, not a very long one.  Over 200 steps per minute out there on average.  I could have gone longer, and didn’t only because I had stuff to do at home after the run.  96 chin-ups.

Wed., July 11th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Thur., July 12th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:33.80, a 7:13.42 m/m pace.  81 degrees, partly sunny.  7:40 pm.  Had a rough commute home, took it out on the course.  Ran fast and felt good getting the commute out of my system doing it.  Something small and furry ran into my right foot on the first lap.  Something got caught under my foot in my shoe and I had to stop to get it out. Didn’t matter. Still had fun out there.   One of these days I am going to run long. When?  I dunno, but dammit, I’m gonna.  Soon. 225 knuckle push-ups.

Fri., July 13th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:55.94, a 7:17.68 m/m pace.  81 degrees, cloudy, humid.  7:30 pm.  Busted my butt out there today, and the humidity made it a hair harder than normal, but I had fun letting fly.  The threat of rain must’ve kept some people out of the park, there weren’t too many people out there today.  Which was nice. I’ve had 5 straight fast runs makes me really happy.  The fact that those runs were short doesn’t matter.  The long runs are around the corner.  96 chin-ups.

Sat., July 14th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:26:50.85, a 7:37.09 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly sunny, humid.  3:45 pm.  First 10+mile run since May 12th. I wasn’t sure how long I was going to go, I just wanted to go as long as I could.  Decided to go 6 laps after I hit the end of lap 4 and felt fine.  On top of running long, I hit my fastest lap on my last one, running a 7:27.36 pace on the last 1.9 miles.  That felt good.  Really enjoyed going long.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., July 15th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:29.03, a 7:41.71 m/m pace.  85 degrees, cloudy, humid.  12:10 pm.  This run was as hard an effort as yesterday’s, given today’s soreness and muggier conditions. I actually thought of cutting the run shorter than 7.6 because I just wasn’t feeling up to it.  After a slow start, I got two decent laps in and said to myself “I can go one more lap.”  And then I did it.  104 chin-ups. Finally over 100 chins for a single workout.  Took long enough.

Mon., July 16th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:05.47, a 7:31.05 m/m pace.  90 degrees, partly sunny.  7:35 pm.  Kept my feet as fast as I could today, and  ran pretty well as a result even with the heat and humidity.  I worked hard in a warehouse with no A/C today, and that took a lot out of me today before I even got out to run, so I was kind of surprised that I was able to run as well as I did today.  Good run.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., July 17th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Got stuck on the train coming home for an hour.  No time to run.

Wed., July 18th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:46.96, a 7:27.49 m/m pace.  77 degrees, cloudy, humid.  7:30 pm.  Ran  pretty hard early.  I didn’t realize until I got to the beginning of the second half of the run that I was moving a few seconds slower than expected. So I picked up the pace on the second half, and managed to bust out a 20 second negative split.  I felt pretty good about that, because while I was slower than I wanted to be, I wasn’t that slow.  80 chin-ups.  As much as I could get done before I hit the 10:00pm work night cutoff time.

Thur., July 19th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:52.74, a 7:28.60 m/m pace.  74 degrees, cloudy, humid.  7:30 pm.  I ran nearly as fast today as yesterday, despite not pushing nearly as hard today.  This effort was less of a strain than usual, and that was a nice change. Then again that strain of late came from extreme hot weather, so it isn’t a surprise really that this run was just easier.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Fri., July 20th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:13:39.05, a 7:45.16 m/m pace.  65 degrees, cloudy, humid, drizzle.  11:35 am.  I focused on stretching my stride in spots, and on keeping my stride rate high in others.  What I did not do was put the two together and really bust my ass.  I didn’t want to, because it was absolutely beautiful out and I decided to just enjoy it.  After nearly a month of unrelenting heat this cool spell feels great. 104 chin-ups.

Sat., July 21st:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:14.08, a 7:29.87 m/m pace.  74 degrees, sunny.  2:45 pm.  I walked out of the house feeling a little tired and not sure about how the run was going to go.  So how was it?  Fantastic! The run felt effortless at times out there.  Oddly, I never felt like I was giving 100% out there, but I was motoring out there nonetheless.  Feet were fast, and I was happy.  The weather was nice, the park wasn’t overpacked, and I really had fun out there.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., July 22nd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:27:51.69, a 7:42.42 m/m pace.  82 degrees, mostly sunny, breezy.  11:50 am.  Most of the run was relaxed.  Ran the 3rd lap pretty fast.  Some guy who had fun running just fast enough to stay ahead of me, regardless of the pace I ran … the asshole.  That shit is just rude.  The asshole pulled off the paths after a few minutes.  Run was truly fun before and after that.  104 chin-ups.

Mon., July 23rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:39.89, a 7:33.50 m/m pace.  80 degrees, sunny, humid.  8:55 am.  Early run on a day off.  Decided to go early with storms on the way and hot weather coming back.  I’m kind of surprised at my pace here.  I felt very slow today, like I could not get my feet moving today.  While 7:33.5 isn’t very fast, it’s faster than I thought I was.  I’m happy with the time.  General soreness is becoming an issue, I haven’t been stretching, need to get back on track with that.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., July 24th: Ran 5.2 miles in 38:50.03, a 7:28.08 m/m pace.  87 degrees, cloudy, humid, occasional rain.  7:35 pm.  Consciously moved my feet with as much speed as I could after working the loading dock.  Then again, this is about the average pace I run at this distance no matter the circumstances.  Most of the 5.2′s I’ve run this month have been within 30 seconds of the time I ran today.  So fast feet are no big deal I guess.  I’m pretty consistent, regardless.  80 chin-ups.  Less than normal, for a reason.  I increased the amount of them I do per set, and dropped the amount of sets.  I’ll pick the numbers up again after a few days, no worries.

Wed., July 25th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:28.41, a 7:12.38 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly cloudy.  7:25 pm.  Busted my ass today, and had more in the tank, speed-wise, for some reason.  Not arguing, I like being fast.  A few degrees cooler, much less humid, feet felt better after work today than normal, all factors I guess.  Park was packed with runners this evening.  My people are legion…during good weather anyway.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., July 26th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Lightning and the threat of tornadoes kept me from running.  I could have worked out.  Didn’t.

Fri., July 27th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 56:24.71, a 7:25.35 m/m pace.  88 degrees, sunny, humid.  3:40 pm.  Immediately tried to get my feet moving as fast as I could, and kept the stride rate as high as possible the entire run.  It was actually pretty easy going today, though I was feeling tired until I started up.  Hit the first lap at a 7:32 pace.  Last lap was my fastest lap of the 4 park laps, a 7:19 pace.  Nice.  90 chin-ups.

Sat., July 28th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:07.26, a 7:43.79 m/m pace.  80 degrees, cloudy, breezy, humid.  11:20 am.  Just going this long with the humidity as high as it is today was an effort unto itself.  Didn’t think about going fast today, all I wanted to do was get another 10+ miler under my belt. Long tomorrow as well, methinks. My toes are sore as are my calves, but that happens and I really don’t mind.  200 knuckle push-ups.  Did’em late, was kinda tired, just did’em to do’em, to be able to say I did some kind of exercise today.

Sun., July 29th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:11:53.89, a 7:34.09 m/m pace.  75 degrees, cloudy, humid.  11:45 am.  Went out moving pretty quick from the get go, and did what I could to keep that up the entire run.  Busted my ass, especially on that last lap.  14:04, a 7:25 pace, on that last lap, fastest lap of the day.  That always feels nice, when I can take a long run and tack the best lap on at the very end, after running hard the whole way. 100 chin-ups.

Mon., July 30th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:45.63, a 7:15.69 m/m pace.  74 degrees, partly sunny.  7:15 pm.  Busted my butt out there and was pretty damn quick despite sore feet.  Had a decent negative split, 15 seconds.  Hit it very hard on the second park lap, there were kids there, and damn they were quick.  Tried to quicken my pace to keep up.  Couldn’t.  Not bothered too much, they’re 1/3rd my age and I did well.  Had fun running tonight.  200 knuckle push-ups.  As much as I could get done in the few minutes I had at the end of my day.

Tues., July 31st:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:32.07, a 7:13.09 m/m pace.  72 degrees, sunny.  7:15 pm.  Felt kinda odd at the beginning of my run. For some reason my stride just felt funny, like there was something wrong with the way I was running, like I was landing wrong.  It went away after a few minutes, and after that I flew.  I was fast yesterday, and faster today.  Felt really nice to really burn two days in a row.  I am thinking of starting to go longer and run hills after work starting tomorrow.  I’ll see.  100 Chin-ups.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  Yesterday’s story will continue tomorrow.  My promise.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

