Someone I Didn’t Know


Pic of the day, part i:  100 famous views of Edo; Fudo Falls, Oji, by Utagawa Hiroshige

_________________________

A mind does not receive truth as a chest receives jewels that are put into it, but as the stomach takes up food into the system. It is no longer food, but flesh, and is assimilated. The appetite and the power of digestion measure our right to knowledge. He has it who can use it. As soon as our accumulation overruns our invention or power to use, the evils of intellectual gluttony begin,— congestion of the brain, apoplexy and strangulation.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, The Natural History of Intellect

_________________________

I met someone I didn’t know when I was in high school today.

Lots of people do that every day, but I did it in a special way.

The person I met who I didn’t go to high school with had several friends that I did know back then.

Names I had not heard in decades.

Faces that had been seemingly forgotten  a lifetime ago.

Dave, the deadhead stoner who lived down the street who lived in the huge house, back in the days when I was a stoner myself.

Larry, the fat faced stoner with the I.Q. of a brick.

John, the guy who became a heroin addict to my knowledge.

Geezer, the stupid bastard who got his ass handed to him by my brother for spraying painting(as I recall) my parents car.

All were remembered for being good smart people.

I didn’t want to burst this persons bubble.  Didn’t want to say bad things about people who were well thought of.

We spoke of both being musicians, in very general terms.

I spoke of my guitar collection and the fact that I’ve been playing for 29 years.

My friend spoke of owning a few guitars, and talked about amplifiers for a few minutes.

We were both surprised that we were the same age, despite the fact that we both probably look our age.

We didn’t touch on any level, at least from where I sat.

But it was nice nonetheless.

Took the edge off of an insanely bad commute.

_________________________

Pic of the day, part ii:  100 famous views of Edo; Zenko Temple and the Ferry at Kawagachi, by Utagawa Hiroshige

_________________________

Explore, and explore, and explore. Be neither chided nor flattered out of your position of perpetual inquiry. Neither dogmatise yourself, nor accept another’s dogmatism. Why should you renounce your right to traverse the star-lit deserts of truth, for the premature comforts of an acre, house, and barn? Truth also has its roof, and bed, and board.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Literary Ethics

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

