A Few Moments of Nothing in Particular


Pic of the day, part i: Guitar and Violin, by Juan Gris

__________________________

My position as regards the monied interests can be put in a few words. In every civilized society property rights must be carefully safeguarded; ordinarily and in the great majority of cases, human rights and property rights are fundamentally and in the long run, identical; but when it clearly appears that there is a real conflict between them, human rights must have the upper hand; for property belongs to man and not man to property.

Theodore Roosevelt, The Strenuous Life

__________________________

As the sound of the guitars faded into nothing, I began to notice a second sound underneath it.  Not from the music that was playing from my television, not from anywhere in the house.  From outside.  The car that was sitting two houses down from my front window had music of it’s own blasting.  The music was of the thumping variety.  “THUMP. THUMP. THUMP” went the late model ‘stang, with speakers that were meant to shake the earth.  Didn’t offhand move me though, either with volume or with talent.  I’ve made louder noises with an acoustic guitar.  So I turned the volume on the next song up a bit to drown it out.

The windows did not break.

Thankfully.

Found out that I didn’t have to get loud.  As I turned the volume up the young man with the bassist in his trunk left.

I found that I liked the music louder and kept it that way.  My wife was only mildly amused.  Metallica’s “The Call of Ktulu” rumbling through the house a scant 20 minutes after she woke up was not, i think, the way she had planned beginning her day.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

But then again the music wasn’t too too loud before that.  Maybe the kid was only  there for a second.  I’m not his mom, I wasn’t watching, I don’t know.  And it’s not like I actually destroyed any of her plans for the day with that burst of music.  Just moved her to ask “What the FUCK is going on out there?”  I responded with, “Some lil shit with a wannabe boombox made a noise.  Wanted to show the lil shit how it’s done.”

She giggled and said  “Asshole.” Whether she was referring to me, him, the two of us or whatever meant nothing to me, as I joined the giggling, and turned the music back down to a  more conversational level.  “Listen,” I said sticking my head in the door of our bedroom, “I’m going to head out to run.  No idea when I’ll be back.  Thinking I’m going long, dunno how long though.”

When she looked at me, the look I got told me I’d not be leaving for a few minutes.  It wasn’t that look though.  She had something she wanted to ask.  “Do you love me?” She said.  I looked at her with the “Scooby look.”  Head tilted to the left while making a noise reminiscent of a quizzical scooby doo.   I said “Ya, I think so, wiggly!”  And poked her butt.  She tried badly to suppress a giggle and look sad at the same time “Only think so?  Booohooohoooo.”

I looked at her and said “Of course I wuv you, giggly!”  Purposefully mispronouncing the word love adds some strength to it when speaking, and it didn’t hurt that I tickled her as I said that.  She writhed a bit and wiggled beautifully while smiling and said “I love you!” and returned the tickle.  I do not like being tickled, but knowing this isn’t the time, I ran like hell and laughed about it.  I said “Listen, before you tickle me to death I gotta run, hun.  I’ll be back later.  I love you!”

“Be careful, hunny!  I love you too!”  I kissed her, deftly avoided her second attempt at tickling me, walked down the stairs, and said “Love ya!  Back in a bit.”

She yelled over the still playing music “Don’t forget to work on the leak in the A/C after you get back!”

“Can do, babe!”  I yelled as I locked the first of two doors I have to get through to get outside.

“I’ll get to it when I get to it.” I said under my breath two seconds afterwards to no one in particular.  I wasn’t interested in doing anything but running at that point…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

More of this short story later, perhaps.

__________________________

Pic of the day, part ii:  Guitar and Pipe, by Juan Gris

__________________________

It is an excellent thing to win a triumph for good government at a given election; but it is a far better thing gradually to build up that spirit of fellow-feeling among American citizens, which, in the long run, is absolutely necessary if we are to see the principles of virile honesty and robust common sense triumph in our civic life.

Theodore Roosevelt, The Strenuous Life

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

