Curmudgeon


Pic of the day, part i: A View of Toledo, by El Greco (1599)

________________________

Political tags — such as royalist, communist, democrat, populist, fascist, liberal, conservative, and so forth — are never basic criteria. The human race divides politically into those who want people to be controlled and those who have no such desire. The former are idealists acting from highest motives for the greatest good of the greatest number. The latter are surly curmudgeons, suspicious and lacking in altruism. But they are more comfortable neighbors than the other sort.

Robert A. Heinlein, Time Enough for Love

________________________

Surly old Democratic curmudgeon, that’s me.  Proud of it, too.  Love(d) Heinlein, even though the crazy dead bastard was about as hard leaning a righty as there ever was.  But being right wing doesn’t make you bad, any more than being left wing makes you anything beyond left wing.  Wings simply denote you have an opinion.

And everyone who has read this knows what I think of opinions.  They’re like assholes, everybody has one.  Shouldn’t want to shove it in everyone’s face though, that’ll get other people’s stinkholes shoved in your face.  If you like the smell of ass, that’s on you.

There is a time and place for breaking them out (the asshole analogy doesn’t cover opinion precisely, sorry), as there is a time when everyone must make a stand, show the world what they’re made of,  all that goodness.   The internet is a great place for showing it off, and anyone who has read this space knows I love doing this.

I highly value other people’s opinions.  Especially people with different opinions.  I love having two brothers who are conservative.  I love having friends both online and offline that are radically different from me.  It tests my beliefs, forces me to think and rethink my values constantly.

I used to be a republican in days gone by.

I voted for Rudy Giuliani.  Twice. (I was a dumbass, what can I say?)

I used to be minarchist.  That means pro-small government for those not in the know.  But as time went on, I learned things about how the right works, and about who they work for.  Over time I changed sides as I put two and two together.  Learned about the laffer curve, and saw the effects of the Republican economic trickle down theory on me.  Hard to like someone who screws you financially and then expects you to like them. They lost me.  And I won’t go back.

Democrats aren’t perfect, far from it.   But they are far more effective at doing things for the middle and working class people than the Republicans.  Abortion legislation doesn’t do a damn thing for America.  Talk about school prayer doesn’t do a damn thing for America.  Tax cuts for millionaires don’t do a damn thing for America.

Jobs legislation does.  The Republicans have done nothing substantive on that front no matter what they say.  Help the poor make it with jobs legislation and you make the world a better place by lifting the entire nation higher.  Just helping their rich friends, the Republicans have abandoned American ethics and made a mockery of the ideals this nation was built upon, life ,liberty, and the pursuit of property.

That’s just my opinion, though.

________________________

A short aside.  Very important few days coming up for me.  I have an interview coming up late tomorrow morning.  If this one pays as well as it can and I do well I could find myself doing very well financially.  I sent in a second resume to a company I used to work for.  They announced Friday that they’re hiring.  I want in.  Great company.  Might pay a bit less than the company that I’m interviewing with tomorrow initially, but I know the people there, great guys, and the pay goes up pretty quick after joining up. I’m expecting to hear from them soon.

Wish me luck!

________________________

Pic of the day, part ii:  An allegory with a boy lighting a candle in the company of an ape and a fool, by El Greco

_________________________

“Value” has no meaning other than in relationship to living beings. The value of a thing is always relative to a particular person, is completely personal and different in quantity for each living human—”market value” is a fiction, merely a rough guess at the average of personal values, all of which must be quantitatively different or trade would be impossible. […] This very personal relationship, “value”, has two factors for a human being: first, what he can do with a thing, its use to him… and second, what he must do to get it, its cost to him.

Robert A. Heinlein, Starship Troopers

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

