Agnostic As To The Cause


Pic of the day, part i:  Great Fire of Salem, by Andreas Brugger

________________________

One day I feel I’m on top of the world
And the next it’s falling in on me
I can get back on — I can get back on
One day I feel I’m ahead of the wheel,
And the next it’s rolling over me

Neil Peart, Far Cry

________________________

Acta is dead.  None of the 8 signatories to the document have actually ratified the damned thing, and now the European Union has voted it down.

Good.

The main point of the treaty is to protect the rights of people who create music and content is laudable.  Great. The treaty itself was a travesty though, it was a major threat to everyone’s ability to live and work on the internet, and its death in the EU happily makes the whole thing disappear…

Or does it?

I don’t trust these bastards, just because the billionaires who wanted to throttle our internet in the name of poor bedraggled artists have been beaten here does not mean they are done.  Therefore we can’t think of this as over.  They will try again, and again we will have to stand our ground and keep them from getting their billionaire mitts on our rights and our internet.    Just because ACTA is happily dead does not mean they won’t try to get something different yet doing much the same thing past us.

We gotta keep on our toes.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Climate change is kicking my ass right now.  It hit 100 degrees here today.  It has been an average of 8 degrees above normal for the past week, and it did the same thing from the 20th to the 23rd or so last month.  Happily it gave us a few days respite at the tail end of June.  Happily, the weather is supposed to finally break after tomorrow does the same thing to us yet again.

Right now we are sitting at the average high temperature we normally get around here this time of year.  And just an FYI.  It’s after 11 pm.

Do I know this is climate change rearing it’s ugly head?  No I don’t, but I’ll tell ya this much; if it is and I find out about it,  screw this crap I’m moving to northern Canada.

I’m agnostic as to the cause, as to why it’s happening.  Fact is, it’s happening.  I don’t give a crap whether it was the goddamn squirrels who broke the sky.  If we can change it by doing things differently on our end, then dammit let’s get cracking.  I don’t wanna leave a planet beaten half to death due to our lack of effort for our kids to suffer and burn to death on.  Don’t doom other people’s kids to flaming death because you don’t think humans broke the sky, K?

All you climate change denying prick bastards can all kiss my sweaty ass because it’s too fucking hot out all the damn time.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I got paid.

I finally have a few dollars in my pocket.  Feels good to be able to say that.   Money doesn’t burn a hole in my pocket, I’m not a big spender.  The reason I had no money was because bills ate the money we had, and I didn’t work for two weeks, so I had no money coming in.  That combination bled my wife and I white.

Now that I have money, the last thing I want to do is spend it.  If I spend it, I won’t have it any more, and I’ll be in the same hole again.  Better to not spend.  Money is like supplies you have for a rainy day.  You don’t use it just because you have it.  Storing it, put it away for when you need it is the right way to do it.

I won’t trade tomorrow for today.

________________________

Pic of the day, part ii: The Fire, by Guiseppe Archimboldo (1566)

_________________________

We are secrets to each other
Each one’s life a novel no one else has read
Even joined in bonds of love
We’re linked to one another by such slender threads

Neil Peart, Entre Nous

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

