The Second?


Pic of the day, part i: Jabberwocky, by John Tenniel

____________________________

Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe

Jabberwocky, by Lewis Carroll

____________________________

Spending a quiet and happy fourth of July sitting around with my wife. We were going to go out earlier this afternoon, but it was about a billion degrees out. She doesn’t take the heat well, so she decided against going. So we stuck around the home sweet apartment, made macaroni salad, quesadillas, and a few other things, and generally just enjoyed being together.

As we speak, she and I are watching the fireworks on TV from Macy’s. I did my usual goofing on that crap Lee Greenwood song. You know the one. It’s not a bad song, I just like to make fun of it. Ya know because 5’9″ Mikey likes to goof around and sing “I’m proud to be an American where everyone is six foot three” or some such silliness.

My wife and I made fun of the people holding the blue day glow thundersticks. She calling them thunderdicks, and I asking all those American parents how it felt to have 9 year olds girls holding glow in the dark 3 foot Phallic symbols for the whole world to see. Sure their dads were proud.

That’s a whole new way to be proud of being an American. One which makes me laugh my ass off.

I love America. But I have a small problem with celebrating the 4th.

We should be celebrating the 2nd.

Like John Adams, I think the celebration comes a few days too late. The declaration officially passed on the 2nd, not the 4th. John Adams boycotted, as long as he lived, any celebrations of the 4th because it was the wrong damn day. I like John Adams for that, amongst other things.

And Lee Greenwood sucks. When Slayer or Dillinger Escape Plan sings that song, I’ll listen to it without making fun of it.

Maybe.

Hope you all enjoyed the holiday.

Now go get ready for work tomorrow.

____________________________

Pic of the day, part ii: A Mad Tea Party, by John Tenniel

____________________________

‘Have you guessed the riddle yet?’ the Hatter said, turning to Alice again.
‘No, I give it up,’ Alice replied: ‘what’s the answer?’
‘I haven’t the slightest idea,’ said the Hatter.
‘Nor I,’ said the March Hare.
Alice sighed wearily. ‘I think you might do something better with the time,’ she said, ‘than waste it in asking riddles that have no answers.’

Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

____________________________

That’s it from here America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

