Something to Think About


Pic of the day, part i:  Vetheuil in Winter, by  Claude Monet

____________________________

Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium. 

I prefer liberty with danger to slavery with security.

Rafal Leszczynski (1749)

____________________________

I walked through the ferry terminal, just trying to get to work.

The security guy who gets paid not nearly enough to rob my freedom asks me to stop so his dog can sniff my bag.

I don’t blame him.  He’s just doing his job.

I put the bag down and went along.  The alternative is not being allowed to get to work.

I’d protest but I have bills to pay.

The dog sniffed my bag.

Like I’m a terrorist.

Like I’m the one with the problem.

Like I’m a threat to them.

Like I’m a threat to liberty.

I’m not.  They are, even if they’re just doing they’re job.

Sure, I have nothing to hide.  I’ve heard the argument put forth that if you have nothing to hide you have nothing to worry about.

Bullshit.  That’s only true if you have no worries about losing your freedom because there is a security industry that needs to be fed.

Fed on our freedom.  It eats it, spits it out, and gives us back false security from invisible terrorists.

If that is what you mean by not having anything to sweat, anything to worry about, then by all means don’t worry.

You just won’t have any freedom while you aren’t worrying.

Good luck with that.

I have to live with this bullshit because people who made bad decisions with our freedom have been allowed to have their way.

Something to think about while you enjoy the fireworks and barbequing tomorrow to celebrate your freedom.

____________________________

Pic of the day, part ii: Das Dreschen, das Holzfällen und die Jagd im Winter.   (Threshing, Felling and Hunting in Winter)  by, Daniel Chodowiecki

____________________________

Of course, there are dangers in religious freedom and freedom of opinion. But to deny these rights is worse than dangerous, it is absolutely fatal to liberty. The external threat to liberty should not drive us into suppressing liberty at home. Those who want the Government to regulate matters of the mind and spirit are like men who are so afraid of being murdered that they commit suicide to avoid assassination.

President Harry S. Truman

____________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

