June 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page. This is the June 2012 Running Commentary. Enjoy!

______________________________

This month: 140.49 miles. Longest run: 9.62 miles (June 15th) Shortest run: 4.42 miles (June 7th, 8th) 23 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 6.108 miles

2012 Mileage total: 1039.83 miles Longest run of the year: 15.2 miles (March 11th, April 1st, May 4th) Shortest run of the year: 3.8 miles (February 6th, May 22nd). 137 runs on the year. Average run distance: 7.584 miles

______________________________

This was a pretty damn good month for running, considering the fact that I started it hurt, and did not run a step until the 7th.  The hamstring injury was a nasty one and one I did not want to aggravate, so I took the comeback slow.  That’s why this is the first month in more than a year that I did not have a least two or three 10+ mile runs.  Not a single one.  And only 2 runs over 8 miles.

But I made up for that fact by running fast.  Over half (12 of 23) of the runs on the month were under a 7:30 pace.  And a couple of those were on the hills, and speed on the hills is one helluva lot harder than speed on the flats.

Even though I didn’t hit any serious distance goals on the month, I am happy with my performance overall.  Well, I did get over 100 miles on the month when I could not even get that far in May, and I did finally get to the 1,000 mile mark on the 24th.  I don’t think I hit the 1,000 mile mark last year until sometime in late July or early August, so I’m still getting better at this as tie goes on in some fashion.

And unlike some months where exercise is a complete afterthought, I made a concerted effort to exercise more often this month than I had in previous months.  Missed 3 days of the 23 that I ran.  Ya, I could say I missed 10 of thirty, but I usually take the day off completely if I don’t run.  A rest day is not a rest day if you do not rest.

Hoping for 200+ miles this July, going to get some longer runs in, I’m going to try to run every day in July, and work out every day that I run.  Should be fun!

_____________________________

Fri., June 1st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  And none until at least Friday of next week.  June 8th is the earliest I do anything.  I need to heal before I work this hamstring at all.

Sat., June 2nd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Sun., June 3rd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Mon., June 4th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Tues., June 5th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Wed., June 6th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Thur., June 7th:  Ran 4.42 miles in 34: 50.36, a 7:52.93 m/m pace.  68 degrees, sunny.  7:50 pm After 9 days off healing up a grade 2 hamstring pull, I am back running, and DAYUM, it feels good to be back.   I was surprised by a few things.  One was the fact that I was able to run without stops.  Usually after an extensive layoff I need breaks during that first run.  Not today.  Two was the speed.  Again, I have had this happen before, and normally I run an 8:10, maybe 8:20 first run back.  I ran some hills today and ran a sub 8.  Nice.  Good run.

Fri., June 8th:  Ran 4.42 miles in 34:14.88, a 7:44.90 m/m pace.  78 degrees, partly cloudy.  7:35 pm  After working hard all week, and my first run in a while yesterday, I was pretty sore today pre-run.  I shook it off and ran surprisingly well. Good news: after 2 days of running my hamstring is showing no ill effects.  Very happy about that.  I’m sore but that’s to be expected, being only 2 days back into it.  Depending on how I feel and when I get to go, I might go longer and slow tomorrow.  I’ll see how I’m feeling.  50 ceiling kick burpees.  Man these things beat my ass today!

Sat., June 9th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:05.52, a 7:33.59 m/m pace.  77 degrees, cloudy, humid.  2:40 pm.  Made the decision to go three laps and no more early.  Soreness kept me from running longer.  Pace-wise, I ran the first lap 7:42.1, second lap 7:32.63, and third lap 7:25.78.  3 days into my latest comeback and already I’m ending runs at a sub 7:30 pace.  Nice!  My right hamstring is fine so it seems that I am back on track to get to longer running.  Schweet!  150 knuckle push-ups, 30 chin-ups.  Would have done more chins, but I was sore as hell from yesterday’s C.K. burpees.

Sun., June 10th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:07.64, a 7:38.89 m/m pace.  76 degrees, cloudy, humid.  8:35 am  Started kinda slow, and actually got slower before picking up the pace after the end of lap 3.  Pace-wise I ran the first lap 7:40, second lap 7:43.61, third lap 7:38.94, last lap 7:32.63. Sore abs made the early running hard, ran fast when I felt capable.   Again no pain or soreness in the right hammy.  Tentatively scheduling Wednesday as my first 10+ mile run of the recovery.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., June 11th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:52.76, a 7:28.60 m/m pace.  64 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  7:25 pm Busted my ass on this one.  This was a truly hard effort.  I had a headache before I started running, had one for much of the day.  Made the run much more difficult.  The pain in my shoulder / upper back which just happens every once in a while has returned, and that’s where the headache came from.  Ran through it, and frankly I feel better now.  Good run.  150 knuckle push-ups.  As much as I could do in the 10 or so minutes I had.

Tues., June 12th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:06.77, a 7:42.84 m/m pace.  65 degrees, rain, breezy.  7:25 pm Took my time out there.  Well, I did push but with soreness creeping in I kept it to a minimum.  Still not a bad time.  Rain felt good out there today, didn’t slow me down and it made the run more enjoyable.  Might go longer tomorrow.  If I’m sore it won’t be much longer though.  10+ miles if I’m feeling up to it.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., June 13th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:41.11, a 7:43.30 m/m pace.  68 degrees, cloudy, breezy, humid.  1:35 pm I was initially going to go longer, maybe 6 laps (11.4 miles) but decided on 4 laps instead.  I was not up for that distance.  Couldn’t do it, my hammies were sore and I couldn’t stretch my stride.  It was hard enough to go 4 laps.  Decided after 2 laps that 10 miles was too much too soon.  I don’t know when I’ll get up to double digit miles but I’ll get there as soon as I can.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., June 14th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:52.75, a 7:28.60 m/m pace.  64 degrees, sunny.  7:45 pm Nearly identical time and conditions as on Monday’s run.  There were differences.  When I started running my stride just felt funny.  Felt like I was running wrong, like my timing was off.  I made up for it by flying in the park.  Had a bad moment in the park as well.  My left hamstring twinged, cramped on me.  It feels fine now, but I said the same thing when the right hammy first went on me last month.  Going to watch it carefully and hope there’s nothing wrong.  And soak in epsom salts.

Fri., June 15th:  Ran 9.62 miles in 1:15:58.25, a 7:53.83 m/m pace.  75 degrees, sunny, breezy.  11:45 am 4 laps in the park + a single 2.02 mile up and back on the hill near the park. Was going to go 5 laps in the park, but there were kids in the park playing on the paths.  On the first lap there were a ton of kids, and I thought of stopping but didn’t. Next 2 laps were fine, but the 4th lap was a real hassle, so I stopped after that, and decided to run some on the hill.  59:51.39 in the park (7:52.55) & 16:06.86 on the hill (7:58.64)  Not too bad for my first 8+mile run since coming back from injury.

Sat., June 16th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 44:45.81, a 7:41.48 m/m pace.  71 degrees, sunny.  8:40 am Hit the hills today, and I am going to continue on the hills for a few days (weekdays will be easier to do, tomorrow I don’t know about) to get back the strength that I lost when I had the injury time off the last half of last month and earlier this month.   I’m pretty happy with the time.  Hammy was good today, no twinges of any type.  Had one or two yesterday, and the day before was a mess as far as that goes. 250 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., June 17th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:36.84, a 7:29.62 m/m pace.  67 degrees, sunny.  3:40 pm Hills felt easier today than yesterday.  Downhills were consistently quick, running between 7:11 and 7:15 there, while the downhill was slower, running between a 7:40 and 7:50.  Felt quick in both directions.  A few more days of running hills like this and I will be ready to get back to longer distance runs.  150 knuckle push-ups.  It’s as much as I could do in the 10 minutes or so I had left at the end of the day when I finally got to it.

Mon., June 18th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 41:51.83, a 7:11.58 m/m pace.  66 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  7:30 pm I was going fairly quick early when I found myself challenged, verbally to a race by a young man, maybe half my age. He tried to pass me, but could not.  I had to run with everything I had to stay ahead of him, but I did it, and then I just stayed fast the rest of the run.  The kid was quick too, felt good to keep him in my rearview.  Dunno if I could do it twice though.  Had fun zooming.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., June 19th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 42:01.45, a 7:13.23 m/m pace.  70 degrees, cloudy, humid.  7:40 pm If anything this run was more difficult than yesterday’s, even with it being 10 seconds slower.  I was a slower on the early part of the run, by the time I got to the 1.9 mile marker I was over 30 seconds behind yesterday’s pace.  Made it up on the uphills, which I ran about 8 – 10 seconds per mile faster than yesterday.   Ran a sub 7 minute mile at the end of the run.  Nice.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., June 20th:  Ran 6.72 miles in 51:59.66, a 7:44.23 m/m pace.  93 degrees, sunny.  10:50 am Hard running in the heat.  I honestly thought that I’d be able to run longer than this.  Silly me.  I ran 2 laps in the park, then stopped and decided to run hills for a bit.  Slightly crazy, but the break between runs was really what I needed.  3.8 miles in the park weren’t all that fast, but I surprised myself by being faster on the hills than on the flat.  That was a truly happy thing.  200 Knuckle push-ups.

Thur., June 21st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Took a day to hang out with my wife.

Fri., June 22nd:  Ran 6.72 miles in 52:40.69, a 7:50.34 m/m pace.  12:00 pm 94 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  No need for speed today.  Hot, hazy and humid made for hard running.  Same run as Wednesday, and I ran slower because my body told me to.  Very hard running especially uphill.  It was a lung-buster just being out there today.  Tomorrow is supposed to be better, possible that I might go longer tomorrow.  I’ll see.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Sat., June 23rd:  Ran 7.6 miles in 57:08.67, a 7:31.14 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny.  11:20 am  Four laps in the park today.  Felt good to hit it with some level of speed after running slow yesterday.  No sign of problems with my right hamstring.  I think I’m going to try going long tomorrow, if I can.  I have tested the hamstring for speed, and have pushed it on hills.  It’s time for some distance running to complete the circle.  150 knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.  First exercise session in a long time without just a single exercise.  Felt good.

Sun., June 24th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:14:29.57, a 7:50.48 m/m pace.  78 degrees, sunny.  11:00 am  Five laps in the park today.  Today was a good day for a semi-long run. Would’ve gone longer but I am taking this comeback from the hammy injury very slowly and carefully.  9.5 miles was just fine for me.  Toes on my left foot are sore from all the banging around in the shoe.  Need better runners, these ones are good but old, and have seen better days.  Over 100 miles on the month and 1000 miles on the year on this run.  That feels good.  First major milestone of the year.  150 knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.  If once is good, twice is better.

Mon., June 25th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:43.00, a 7:26.73 m/m pace.  67 degrees, sun/clouds/rain.  3:50 pm.  You read those conditions right.  It was sunny to start.  by the 13 minute mark a fast moving strong storm started to roll into the area, before the end of the run there was a thunderstorm directly overhead, and it was raining hard.  I laughed in the rain.  It felt good.  Pushed hard throughout, no pain or injury issues.  Nice. 200 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., June 26th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 37:39.54, a 7:14.52 m/m pace.  70 degrees, mostly sunny.  7:30 pm.  If I pushed hard yesterday, today I gave everything.  This was as much as I had, as fast as I could go.  The speed wasn’t something I thought about.  I was fast, and just kept pushing faster, and the faster I went the better it felt.  I could have gone longer, and if I feel the same tomorrow, I just might go longer then.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., June 27th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:21.19, a 7:22.53 m/m pace.  82 degrees, partly cloudy.  7:30 pm.  I didn’t look at the watch during the run, just ran, not for time, not for speed, just to run.  I was fast because I don’t like not giving as much as I can on these shorter runs.  Park was beautiful today, for an over 80 degrees run, it was amazing out there.  The relatively low humidity and light breeze definitely helped.  No soreness to speak of, hamstring is 100%, or as close as it gets to it.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., June 28th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:13.34, a 7:21.02 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny.  7:30 pm.  Hot evening run, pushed hard out there in that heat.  Had fun too.  Park was crowded tonight, had to dodge a few people and dance my way through a number of crowded spots.  No worries though, still had fun busting my ass on the paths tonight.  The last few days of speed runs tell me I am ready for longer distance running.  I’ll get to it when I get time to.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Fri., June 29th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:27.11, a 7:23.67 m/m pace.  94 degrees, partly sunny.  7:45 pm.  It’s a scorcher out there today, and I still managed to run pretty damn fast.  Lower back was sore for a moment out there, but it cleared up as soon and as quickly as it showed up.  I’m happy with the speed, I tell ya, the speed really is nice, but I need to start running longer.  I can hear the 15 and 20 milers calling me.  I’m going to answer when I get a chance.  150 knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.

Sat., June 30th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 42:44.54, a 7:29.92 m/m pace.  95 degrees, partly cloudy.  3:30 pm.  I was initially going to run further, but decided against when I hit the wall of heat outside the apartment when I stepped out.  Ran pretty quick in the heat.  7:34.73 pace on lap one, 7:31.57 for lap two, and a 7:23.15 on the final lap.  Didn’t think I would have speed in the heat, but I found that gear pretty easily.  175 knuckle Push-ups, 56 chin-ups.

__________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’day.  More later, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

