Beautiful Pictures, Intelligent Quotes, Random Thoughts


Pic of the day, part i: Tanabata Festival in Edo, by Utagawa Hiroshige.  From 36 views of Mount Fuji

__________________________

Thomas Jefferson, the leading Enlightenment figure in the United States, along with Benjamin Franklin, who took exactly the same view, argued that dependence will lead to “subservience and venality”, and will “suffocate[s] the germs of virtue”. And remember, by dependence he meant wage labor, which was considered an abomination under classical liberal principles.

Noam Chomsky

__________________________

I ran.

I ran hard.  I ran over 9 miles in 93 degree heat.  It beat my ass.

I ran so hard and long that I got home and immediately went to bed.

I didn’t sleep much, I just rested.  And coughed.

For some reason I could not stop coughing.

For nearly an hour.  Took some drug of some type, forget what it was, but it helped.

Listened to the Yankee game.  Listened to Metal.  Listened to George Carlin.

Fell in and out of a very light sleep.

Felt great after I got back out of bed.  Walked around like an old man.

My wife giggled at this.  I didn’t mind.

__________________________

I read.

I read a story that bothered me.

But then again, most stories I read bother me.  I think I like being bothered.

The story said hiring has probably cooled this quarter.

Only 100,000 total, but with cuts in government employees, that number drops to 90,000.

Meaning the economy is still in the shitter.

Joy.

Damned economy hasn’t been right in 5 years.

My personal economy, for lack of a better term, hasn’t been right in 20.

So it goes.

__________________________

People always find a pretext to do what they want.

Which is strange because pretext is never necessary.

People always find a way to prove to themselves that they are right,

Even when facts get in the way and prove them wrong.

I would say people are strange, but they aren’t.

They are smart, but not ever smart enough.

If they were, there would be no need for pretext,

And the world would be a much better place for it.

__________________________

Pic of the day, part ii: Sagami River by Utagawa Hiroshige.  From 36 Views of Mount View

__________________________

There are no conservatives in the United States. The United States does not have a conservative tradition. The people who call themselves conservatives, like the Heritage Foundation or Gingrich, are believers in — are radical statists. They believe in a powerful state, but a welfare state for the rich.

Noam Chomsky

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

