A Wee Bit Antsy


Pic of the day:  Sternbrucke in Weimar, by Christian Rohlfs

___________________________

I’m glad mushrooms are against the law, because I took them one time, and you know what happened to me? I laid in a field of green grass for four hours going, “My God! I love everything.” Yeah. Now, if that isn’t a hazard to our country … how are we gonna keep building nuclear weapons, you know what I mean? What’s gonna happen to the arms industry when we realize that we’re all one?!

Bill Hicks

__________________________

Is it me or does it seem like there is going to be a war in the near future with Iran?  Whether it’s the U.S. vs. Iran, or Israel vs. Iran, or the U.N. (the U.S. by other means) vs. Iran, the simple story that Iran now has enough nuclear material to build nukes, according to several stories I read.  At least two of them claimed that the Institute of Science and International Security made an analysis of data from the IAEA that Iran has enough enriched uranium for 5 nuclear weapons.

Now, I’ll give the people at ISIS the benefit of the doubt. They’re probably trying to stop the spread of nuclear weapons, always a good thing.  Let’s keep people from blowing each other to a billion fucking pieces.  Tends to ruin all the plans they had, makes evenings with the wife and kids difficult when they are nothing but dust because someone decided to nuke the countryside.  Makes it difficult you understand.

But with all the hemming and hawing about Iran and about how much of a threat they pose, when I hear and see the news that they have uranium, I don’t hear and see just that, and I think you’re all with me on this one, that what I hear isn’t just words of warning, but the drumbeats of war.  Call me crazy, but what I’m hearing is the sound of some military somewhere getting ready to pounce.

Now if the Iranians have dark intentions to use these weapons against  another nation, then I say, ya, take those weapons out.  Do what you have to do, within those confines.  Destroy the plant that makes the uranium, make it impossible for them to harm other nations.  But nothing more.  No occupation of the nation, no long term war.  It isn’t necessary, not from us, not from anyone.

Hell, personally I say we should buy the uranium from them, if it’s that much of a fucking issue.  They can’t use it on our friends or anyone if we have it, now can they?  No invasion necessary, no war necessary, no blowing shit up, no wasting money on military objectives.  Buy the uranium and… do what the fuck ever we do with this shit.  Make glow in the dark cheese or some shit.

🙂

I don’t love the Iranians.  But I don’t hate them either.  We’ve been in 2 wars started over 10 years ago in the region that has greatly destabilized the region, and made the world a worse place for it, made the world a place where terrorists can live and breed.

In Iraq, for example, our enemies thrived on hate created by us doing things like becoming unwanted occupiers.  There was no Al-Qaeda in Iraq until we showed up there.  Al-Qaeda thrived on our presence there.  In Afghanistan the Mujahadeen , the immediate forebears of Al-Qaeda and the Taliban were funded by us to fight the Russians in the 80’s, which turned and bit us in the ass a number of years later.

On 9/11/2001.

Date kinda sticks in my mind, yours too I’m betting.  I’m sure you know why.

So when I get even the smallest hint of us shoving our noses back into that region of the world, I get a bit antsy.  Makes me start to think “these assholes are at it again.”  Do I trust the Iranians? Not really, but I don’t know that there are any governments anywhere that can be trusted, especially not with nukes, potential or actual.

If it turns out that they really are just using this uranium in power plants, that is great.  Give the IAEA enough time to make sure things are on the up and up that way, let ISIS make sure that things don’t get squirrelly over there.  Don’t jump the gun on decision making.  Perhaps the one thing I can lay my hopes on at this point is that we have a president that thinks with his head and not his asshole like Dubya.  President Obama I trust to make the right judgment about the information he gets.

Just gotta hope the people getting him information give him all the information as it is.  No yellowcake.  No aluminum tubes.  No bullshit.

_____________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

