Morning Story


Pic of the day:  Still life with Cups and two Poems, by Katsushika Hokusai

_________________________

Do not think dishonestly.
The Way is in training.
Become acquainted with every art.
Know the Ways of all professions.
Distinguish between gain and loss in worldly matters.
Develop intuitive judgment and understanding for everything.
Perceive those things which cannot be seen.
Pay attention even to trifles.
Do nothing which is of no use.

Miyamoto Musashi, The Book of Five Rings

__________________________

Life is made up of small things…

It’s nearly noon as I begin writing this.  I went to sleep normal time last night, around 1 am and set my alarm for 8:10.  I wanted to wake up early and get a run in before I got to the work of the day.  Only a little real work mind you, most of the days duty is to be spent in traveling back and forth, and getting a few trifles done.  The real work was moving a few hundred pounds of metal.  Nothing major.   So, shuffle around make coffee, feed cats.  The usual morning routine.

Look out the open window in my kitchen at 8:40.  I said “Cloudy again, smells like rain,”  while waiting for the coffee to finish percolating.  The cats pay the statement no mind, being cats, interested only in food and relaxation.  When the coffee finished, I grabbed two cakes to eat with my coffee, and sat down at the computer.  Wrote my boss an e-mail, asking if there was any work for next week.  Not expecting any, but hoping for it.  He gets back to me after a few minutes, and says no work, enjoy the holiday.  I tell him I figured as much and told him to have a good holiday as well.

I peruse a few headlines prior to getting ready for the run.  Nothing major. Etan Patz.  Mitt Romney.  SpaceX.  Nothing major though, so I don’t open any stories, just drink coffee and eat my cakes.  Make moves on my fantasy baseball team.  Get dressed for the run.  Blue shorts, red tank top, white socks, black trail shoes, SI Yankee tan and blue baseball cap.  I grab my keys and I go.

Walk a number of blocks to where I start the run, with 3 block detour away from the start point to see if my path is blocked.  It isn’t. Jog to the start point.  No soreness, feel good.  It’s 60+ degrees, and I can see my breath.  Weird.  I start the run, it goes well enough for about a mile and 3/4.

Nearing the mile 2 marker I begin to notice soreness in my right hamstring.  It is minor, but I pay attention to it.  It gets worse as the run goes on, so i slow the run down.  After a while it simply gets to be too much and as a consequence I cut the run 2 miles short for the second day in a row due to soreness.  With a race coming up on Monday morning too.  Nice.

The second I stop it seems fine, and I can walk on it OK, but I can’t run on the thing.  Not surprised, annoyed.  I walk home easily enough.

When I walk in the door i see there is a message on my phone.  Check the message and the work moving the metal has been moved back to Tuesday.  Not an issue, the work will get done when the work gets done, and if the person I’m doing it for doesn’t need it now, no worries.

So I stretch.  The leg feels better after the stretches.  Clean myself up and grab a second cup of coffee.  I find some cookies and eat them.  Life is good.  The hamstring gets sore again after a few minutes, but that is not an issue.  Painkillers and stretching should do the trick.  Get to it later.  No worries.

My wife, who has been awake for a bit doing stuff in the bedroom comes out looking for a wire.  A single USB cable for a platform thing that she puts under her laptop to cool the thing down.  Can’t find the damn thing.  So a search begins.

We end up going through every single drawer in the house.  First the junk drawers.  Nothing.  Search a few other drawers in the kitchen.  Nada.  Search a few drawers in the living room.  Zero, though I do find a few old CD’s I hadn’t seen in a dogs age.   First closet in the hall which has a bag that my wife brings with her whenever she travels.  She thinks it might be in there. After a few minutes of digging, she finds… Zilch. We get to the second closet. We both know there is a bag with cords in it there.

Remember that just as we get to it.  Dammit.  Getting old sucks sometimes.

Fight through about 15 bags of crap.  From candles and potpourri to Christmas stuff, the closet is loaded with crap.  After digging out almost everything I find the bag.  I remembered it being a small bag.  This thing was a garbage bag within it were 2 smaller bags of wires and cords and cables in it, but the main bag had crap in it as well.  My wife and I start going through the bag.  It takes about 20 minutes and untangling perhaps 30 or 40 cables before she finds it.

She has the cable.  She’s happy because she has her cord.  I’m happy because I am done kneeling down digging in the damn closet.

Joy.

🙂

___________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’afternoon.  Catch ya later.

One thought on “Morning Story

Leave a Reply

