Most Curious


Pic of the day:  Whistler’s Mother, by James Whistler

___________________________

Democracy and freedom do not guarantee the millennium. No, we do not choose political freedom because it promises us this or that. We choose it because it makes possible the only dignified form of human coexistence, the only form in which we can be fully responsible for ourselves. Whether we realize its possibilities depends on all kinds of things — and above all on ourselves.

Karl Popper, On Freedom

___________________________

Viddy of the day:  George Carlin – Airport Security

___________________________

I love George Carlin. Just saying…

___________________________

I’ve been reading the polls again, and the President’s approval ratings are not too bad.  The nation is about evenly divided now on whether they approve of the job the man is doing with around a 49% positive, while Mitt Romney positive rating sits at about 40%.  That is probably why there are so many attacks going on throughout the wonderful internetz  and all over the right wing media that we as a nation have to live with.

The most curious numbers I ran into are the “direction of the country” poll numbers.  I’ve always thought that was a bit of an difficult thing to ask about in polls, simply because  a word or two here, a word of two there and you’ve turned a simple question into a partisan attack.  If you don’t know what I mean, take a look at any poll from any PAC.  The NRA is notorious in twisting words to get answers that they want, rather than a non leading question that might give them a realistic answer to a plausible question.

Most places have seen a steady increase in how good people feel about the direction of the country.  Reuters and the AP have 37 and 35% respectively saying that the country is moving in the right direction, up 10% from 6 months ago.  Which is actually pretty damn good.  I haven’t seen numbers this high in a while here. Except for the people at Rasmussen, who still apparently think the whole world is in the shitter, with numbers 10% below the nation average.   But then again Rasmussen is well, let me tell you this way…

I don’t know why I did it, but I looked at some polling from the right wing Rasmussen Reports.  The numbers were ….umm…  The problem was the poll itself.  The article title is: 73 percent say men and women earn equal pay in the workplace.

Wow.  Just wow.  What this poll actually proves: 73% of the workforce are a bunch of clueless fucks.  The poll also stated that the numbers haven’t changed from when they asked this question back in 2010.

Ladies?  Am I wrong here to think this is insane?  Are you now getting as much money as the guys?  Have we finally gotten it right, or is Rasmussen passing off Bullshit?  I want to know.

That’s the kind of people are at Rasmussen.  I want to know if I’m wrong to distrust their numbers.  You tell me, what direction you think America is going in?  Do women really make as much as men? Drop a line, I’m honestly interested.

___________________________

Call this bit Commenting on Commenting redux:

Been bouncing around the web, fighting trolls.  Dealing with crazy people on twitter and a few other sites.  I was on twitter reading the news, and ran into the hashtag #MoviesWithObama, and there would be some lame hater bullshit attached to it like “Dude, where’s my Czar” or “Citizen Hussein.”  Frankly it was easy dealing with that,  just make the movies more positive, or trying to be funnier.

I don’t know that the humor was successful.  I’m better with flippant remarks than actual jokes.  “What’s eating Rush Limbaugh” was about the best humor I could come up with, I was better with straight up positivity, just to fight the haters.  Not gonna add anything else I tossed out there.  Find me on twitter if yer interested. Look on the left side of the page to follow me on twitter.  Felt good even if it didn’t reach any of the haters who were posting there.

Then I ran into this, out of the blue, it was completely random:  Obama is quite capable of destroying himself with his record of attacks on our rights, his wars, and his stupidity.

I responded with the simple, His Wars?  Which wars did he start?  As far as attacks on our rights, I countered with a simple “Those attacks are as much in your imagination as anywhere, if you can’t name them in public.”  I have very publicly taken the President to task here, and will do so everywhere else I see fit, but when dealing with unnamed accusations and vaguery, I decided that attacking that vagueness was the only feasible way to handle it.  Specifics can and should be dealt with, but vague bullshit never flies here.

As far as stupidity I simply said “The Man got himself elected President and has gotten most of what he wanted to get done done.  He can’t be that stupid.  What have you done lately?”  That shut’em ALL the fuck up.

And that felt good.

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

