I Want Work


Pic of the day:  Death and the Gravedigger, by Carlos Schwabe

_________________________

O happy living things! no tongue
Their beauty might declare:
A spring of love gushed from my heart,
And I blessed them unaware:
Sure my kind saint took pity on me,
And I blessed them unaware.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner, Part IV, st.15

__________________________

It’s been a happy and relaxed day. I got up early, got a few important things done. After that I walked around the house, watched a little television, and ate too much.  Doing that because it feels right, dunno why, it just does.  Maybe because I haven’t been able to run because of a strained hamstring.

That’s all cute, but there is stuff that I am not doing, above and beyond simply not running.

I am not getting ready for work though, and I would prefer to be in bed sleeping, getting read to wake up at 5:00am so I can run prior to a long day at work.  But I’m not.  I can’t really do anything about that, short of send resumes out and try to get at least some full time work, or barring that, more part time work if my part time job wont bring me around more often.

Makes me wonder whether I am the only one that’s still having problems finding work.  I read about the economy getting better, about the jobs growth picture getting better, but I still sit in the same boat I was in when I first lost my full time job 3 years ago.  I see that prospects are getting better for a great many people around the nation, but still I cannot manage to find the job.

I want work. I want to be a full time employee, get myself a 401k.  Health and dental insurance would be nice.   But it eludes me, and with the job I have been working at since October slowing down, with less opportunity to work as time goes by, I openly wonder whether I should just walk away from them.  Or whether I will have to do so, because it feels like they are doing just that to me.  I can’t live on the money from 1 of 2 days a week.  I can look for work with that going one, though.

Time to get cracking on this.  And I don’t care what the job is either.  I’ll be a ditch digger if it gives me steady work.  I’m a hard working man, I wouldn’t mind that job.  Anything to get a full time job.  It’ll happen eventually.  I’ve been telling myself that for over 3 years, but it’s taking it’s sweet ass time getting here, though.

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

