April 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page. This is the April 2012 Running Commentary. Enjoy!

______________________________

This month: 241.32 miles. Longest run: 15.2 miles (April 1st) Shortest run: 4.42 miles (April 27th) 29 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.321 miles

2012 Mileage total: 801.16 miles Longest run of the year: 15.2 miles (March 11th, April 1st) Shortest run of the year: 3.8 miles (February 6th). 101 runs on the year. Average run distance: 7.932 miles

_____________________________

This was one of my better run months. Ever. I was pushing distance a fair bit, especially at the end of the month, when I was pushing hard to get to 800 miles for the year before May 1st. Something that I did, just barely but I did it, and I’m really pleased with that. While the distance, both for the month and the year were accomplishments I am most proud of something else.

Speed. I had speed to burn at the end of the month. I got faster around the 18th of the month. What I did was really simple, I picked up my stride rate, made a conscious effort to get my feet moving faster and keep them faster throughout my runs. The point was to run over 200 steps per minute average, where before that stride rate might have been my high point speed wise. It felt really good to run 13 miles and hit a 7:05 pace over the last 2 miles, where before I never managed to get quite that fast.

I don’t know that I’ll be hitting quite this distance for the month, as I am expecting that I’ll have a few more days off in May than I did in April, but 200 miles should definitely be doable. And I am hoping to keep the speed up as much as possible. And I am going to sign up for the Memorial day 4 mile run again here on Staten Island. A race I always look forward to, and it’s no different this year.

_____________________________

Sun., April 1st: Ran 15.2 in 1:57:11.12, a 7:42.57 m/m pace. 50 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Eight laps in the park today. Hamstrings barked at me as usual on the last few laps of the run on the tiny uphill behind the skating rink. Beyond that, not much in the way of an issue with soreness today, at least not while running anyway. Really enjoyed going long today. 200 knuckle push-ups. Could’ve done more had I started earlier.

Mon., April 2nd: Ran 5.82 miles in 44:39.84, a 7:40.45 m/m pace. 50 degrees, clear, windy. Pushed pretty hard out there today, this was about as much as I had left after work today. My feet were killing me before I got my running shoes on, they felt better the moment I put’em on though. Nice. First half was a bit slow, picked it up and had a decent negative split, ran the second ½ 42 seconds faster than the first. 175 knuckle push-ups. It’s as much as I could do in the 15 minutes I had.

Tues., April 3rd: Ran 5.82 miles in 45:57.36, a 7:53.77 m/m pace. 40 degrees, clear, breezy. This was as much as I had at 5:30 in the morning. Pushed as hard as I could, though admittedly that wasn’t very hard. No issues as far as soreness or pain. I tried to pick up the pace during the second half, but didn’t have as much in the tank today as I did yesterday. It was 24 second negative split.

Wed., April 4th: Ran 5.82 miles in 44:33.08, a 7:39.29 m/m pace. 52 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Busted my ass out there today on the paths. Hit the hills hard, especially the second half of the run. First half of the run I hit a 7:53.88 pace, and the second I hit a 7:24.67. A 1:25 negative split. Had to stop on the second half to help some lost kid, probably the breather gave me the energy to push that much harder. Felt good no matter the reason.

Thur., April 5th: Ran 5.82 miles in 45:16.86, a 7:46.81. 42 degrees, clear, breezy. I gave it everything I had after about 31 minutes of running. I wasn’t slacking before that, but I found another gear after I saw that I had run a downhill mile in 7:45, which is slow. Ran the next uphill at about the fastest I have all week, and the last .89 of a mile I ran a 7:15 to tighten up my time. Not too bad.

Fri., April 6th: Ran 5.82 miles in 44:16.38, a 7:36.42 m/m pace. 38 degrees, clear, breezy. Worked on keeping the stride rate high on the uphills and I cut 10 seconds per mile off of my time today and 15 to 20 seconds off of my hill times. One minute six second negative split today, 7:47 pace on the first half, 7:25 the second. Nice. Had fun out there running with the sunrise. Got the place to myself today. Schweet.

Sat., April 7th: Ran 7.1 miles in 51:54.02, a 7:18.59 m/m pace. 58 degrees, cloudy, windy. Went all out, or as close to it as is possible today. I was amazed at the speed out there today. I knew I’d be faster here than I was all week, not running on hills, but I was not expecting to cut nearly 18 seconds per mile off of the fastest run i’d run this week so far. Had fun zooming out there.

Sun., April 8th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:26.85, a 7:29.72 m/m pace. 54 degrees, sunny windy. I was going to go longer today, but it’s Easter Sunday and I have things to do, so I cut it one lap short. Had a ton of fun out there today hitting the path as fast as I could. Sub 7:30, even if it is just sub 7:30 for a 10+ miler really feels nice. Want to go long again tomorrow.

Mon., April 9th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:11:04.37. a 7:28.88 m/m pace. 56 degrees, sunny, very windy. 20 mph winds gusting to 50 mph made this one a hard slough. Beautiful day otherwise, had fun running out there. No soreness to speak of, nice. I wasn’t what you’d call super fast out the chute, but I got faster as the run went on. First lap I ran a 7:37.9, last 2 laps I ran a 7:23, last lap was a 7:20.

Tues., April 10th: Ran 6.06 miles in 44:17.49, a 7:18.52 m/m pace. 54 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy. Drizzled right until the run began, it was fine after that, though. Noontime hills had me busting my butt something fierce. Hit the first downhill at a pretty good pace, 7:23 as I recall, hit the first uphill in a 7:32, and flew the rest of the way. Hella run. Note: The outside of my right foot at the front of the heel is sore, has been for a few days. Wasn’t too bad today, but it isn’t 100%. It bears watching.

Wed., April 11th: Ran 7.6 miles in 57:30.52, a 7:34.01 m/m pace. 50 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Never looked at the watch today, just ran. I kept my feet fast and ran, never trying to go super fast, but never took my time out there either. I could have gone longer today. No soreness issues today, the foot was not as bad today as it had been the last few days, didn’t notice it actually. Nice.

Thur., April 12th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:27:52.89, a 7:42.53 m/m pace. 54 degrees, sunny, windy. I pushed hard on this one, though it doesn’t necessarily show in my time. Kept my feet as fast as I could, ran as fast as I could, it just wasn’t fast enough for my liking. I need to start running hills more and get back to exercising everyday, my times are always be better when I do that.

Fri., April 13th: Ran 5.82 miles in 43:57.66, a 7:33.20 m/m pace. 47 degrees, sunny, breezy. Short fast early morning run. After yesterday, it felt good to get out and fly on the hills this morning. Hamstrings were a bit sore, still are, but that’s not a big deal. Right foot is a hair sore but not too bad. Felt fast on the uphills today, which is really nice, because no running feels better than fast uphill running. Had fun out there today. Went over 100 miles on the month today. Nice.

Sat., April 14th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:09:21.85, a 7:18.08 m/m pace. 66 degrees, sunny, breezy. I honestly didn’t think I had this kind of speed in me for this distance. I tried to push my stride rate as fast as I could for as long as I could today. Kept my feet moving over 33 steps per ten seconds the entire run, and was closer to 36 per ten at the very end of the run. Felt good to run a sub 14 minute lap average over all 5 – 1.9 mile laps today.

Sun., April 15th: Ran 13.3 miles in 1:40:25.50, a 7:33.04 m/m pace. 69 degrees, sunny, breezy. Kept my feet moving pretty quick during the entire run. I did make a conscious effort to move faster after the end of the fourth lap, wanting to see what I had in the tank. First 4 laps I ran a 7:35 pace, last 3 I ran a 7:29. Not a big diff, but I like the fact that I was able to increase my pace after running over 7 ½ miles. Had fun running in the sun. Been exercising with the wife a very little bit the last 2 days. Only a lil exercising, but it’s fun working out with her.

Mon., April 16th: Ran 5.82 miles in 42:59.21, a 7:23.16 m/m pace. 78 degrees, clear. Fun early evening run, except for the headache. That made this much tougher than it would have otherwise been. Still had fun out there, getting better at moving with speed on the uphills. Hit the second 1.01 mile uphill at a 7:27 pace, which is pretty damn good. Right foot seems better, no issues with it or anything else at all. Nice. 100 knuckle push-ups. Better’n nothin’ … barely.

Tues., April 17th: Ran 5.82 miles in 41:58.78, a 7:12.78 m/m pace. 72 degrees, clear, breezy. Holy crap I was quick today. No headache and a few degrees cooler made all the difference. Hit the half way point at 21:21 (7:20 pace) and ran the second half in 20:39 (7:05 pace.) This included a sub 6:59 downhill(1.01 miles) and a 6:52 run back home (.89 miles) Amazing. This has to be one of my best runs of the year, even the last few years. 125 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., April 18th: Ran 5.82 miles in 42:00.98, a 7:13.15 m/m pace. 52 degrees, cloudy, breezy, drizzle. Initially told myself I wasn’t gonna bust my ass out there. Ten steps in I was moving just as quick as I was yesterday, and pushing for all I was worth. Had to stop for traffic about 3 minutes in, and missed a step or two before I got the stopwatch moving (I hit the wrong #$%^# button), but I don’t think it made much difference in my time. Two steps at the pace I move at is less than 1 second. Had fun out there. 150 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., April 19th: Ran 5.82 miles in 42:44.94, a 7:20.71 m/m pace. 48 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Not a bad time for a 5:30 am start after the run I ran last night. I knew I’d be slower today, just because I’m always slower when I run in the morning, but I’m both surprised and happy that I was able to move this fast a lil more than half an hour after I woke up. Felt warmer than 48 out there, tell ya that. Good run.

Fri., April 20th: Ran 5.82 miles in 42:42.61, a 7:20.31. 50 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Nearly identical to my previous run. I felt my knee get loose on the second half of this run, and slowed down a hair and altered my stride a bit. It felt fine before long, and I was able to keep the pace fast after that. No other issues. The early morning speed is still surprising to me, and I like it. Beautiful morning for a run.

Sat., April 21st: Ran 13.3 miles in 1:38:27.19, a 7:24.15 m/m pace. 63 degrees, partly cloudy, windy. I had to stop for a minute after I finished lap one, my left knee felt loose and I gave it a short break before seeing if I could keep going. I busted it after that, and frankly could have gone longer. Hamstrings were kinda sore from pushing as hard as I did though, probably better that I cut off after 7 laps. Ran the last 3 laps in a 7:15.79, so I had a decent negative split. Nice.

Sun., April 22nd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE. Could have done both. Didn’t. Dammit.

Mon., April 23rd: Ran 7.6 miles in 55:30.69, a 7:18.24 m/m pace. 48 degrees, cloudy, windy. Started fast, got faster as the run went on. First lap I ran 14:07 (7:25.78 m/m pace), Second a 14:00 (7:22.1) Third a 13:46 (7:14.73) and final a 13:38 (7:10.52) This was about as much speed as I am capable of right now, I was laboring pretty hard out there, especially during the third lap. For some reason the last lap was easier than the 3rd. Fun speeding in the park today. 175 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., April 24th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:26:19.48, a 7:34.34 m/m pace. 54 degrees, partly cloudy, windy. I didn’t push as hard today as I did yesterday, but I kept my feet as fast I could. The distance was push enough for me today though. It was about 48 when I left the house today, and t the coolness of the day kept the park essentially empty. Works for me. 200 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., April 25th: Ran 5.82 miles in 42:26.42, a 7:17,52 m/m pace. 57 degrees, partly cloudy, breezy. Evening hills felt good today. 38 second negative split. Most of that was the return trip after 4.04 miles on the hills. The trip up to the 1.01 hill repeat took 6:50 (7:40.67 pace) The trip back down took 6:18 (7:04.71 pace.) The rest of the run was standard fare, 7:00 – 7:10 time on the downhill, and a 7:30 – 7:35 on the uphill. Had fun out there. 200 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., April 26th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:09.33, a 7:28.18 m/m pace. 53 degrees, cloudy, windy. Initially went out thinking I was going to go long and ignore time, just say I don’t care about how fast I go today. That lasted about 10 seconds. I was fast from the get go, and decided to haul ass as far as I felt like going at that pace. 42:55 for the first 3 laps (7:31.75 pace), and 42:14 for the second half (7:24.56 pace) 41 second negative split. Not too bad.

Fri., April 27th: Ran 4.42 miles in 33:56.62, a 7:40.77 m/m pace. 45 degrees, cloudy, windy. Short post work run, made short by the call of nature. It’s hard to run fast when yer butt cheeks are clenched for 3 ½ miles of a 4 ½ mile run. Lulz. It wasn’t a bad run, but I’ve had better. 175 knuckle push-ups.

Sat., April 28th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:08:40.25, a 7:13.71 m/m pace. 55 degrees, cloudy, breezy. I thought I’d be fast today. I tried hard pretty much from the start to keep my feet moving as quick as my body was capable of. I don’t think I’ve ever moved them quite as fast as I did today. I didn’t stretch my stride, meaning there is room for more speed, but this is about as fast as I could move right now. I was all smiles as I was nearing the end of this run, it was just that good. 200 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., April 29th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:51.45, a 7:31.88 m/m pace. 60 degrees, sunny, breezy. I felt more relaxed out there today, despite keeping my feet moving fast. After yesterday’s pace, I decided to take it down a notch for this one. Nice day out, really beautiful, and that brings out everyone, which made for clogged running lanes, but I managed. Could have gone longer, decided against as my hammies were starting to really feel beaten out there. 200 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., April 30th: Ran 11.4 miles in 1:25:55.15, a 7:32.20 m/m pace. 55 degrees, sunny, windy. Pushed harder out there today than yesterday. Was faster over the first 3 laps today, but could not keep the pace and lost time over the last 3 laps. I was interested in distance today more than anything. I needed to run over 10.24 miles to make it over 800 miles on the year, and I wanted it today. Got it. Nice. 200 knuckle push-ups.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

