Thursday Night Late Night Idle Talk


Pic of the day: Carpenter at work on Douglas Dam, Tennessee (1942)

_________________________

I love hard work. I live to sweat, to earn my daily bread by the sweat of my brow. I haven’t worked all week and frankly that is no damn good. I’ve been sitting on my ass not making money. It kicks my ass. I have had slow weeks before but this is the first week where I’ve had no work in three months. It doesn’t sit well with me. I want to work. I am tempted to work on my resume and send it out to people just so I can find something that get me working every day.

I’m getting lazy to boot. Sleeping late, not exercising. And I’m eating too much. And this is all from a mere 5 days off. I need to get my lazy ass moving. I’m not making excuses, it’s stupid crap.

At least I’m still running like a maniac. Averaging over 9 miles a run so far this week. Gonna try to go long and hit the hills hard until next week. Next week I have work. Next week will be better. I can’t wait.

_________________________

In the last analysis, what is the significance of life? If we divide mankind into two great classes, we may say that one works for a living, the other does not need to. But working for a living cannot be the meaning of life, since it would be a contradiction to say that the perpetual production of the conditions for subsistence is an answer to the question about its significance which, by the help of this, must be conditioned. The lives of the other class have in general no other significance than that they consume the conditions of subsistence. And to say that the significance of life is death, seems again a contradiction.

Soren Keirkegaard

_________________________

Watched hockey tonight. Don’t do it often, so this was a real treat. Watching the Rangers hand the Senators their lunch made it even more of a treat. The Rangers took control of the game after coach Torts called a timeout. The team came alive after that, and scored 2 goals in the second period, including what ended up being the game winner by Brian Boyle with around a minute left in the middle period. They got sloppy during the last half of the third period and gave up 2 goals, but the effort was strong, and the win felt damn good.

LET’S GO RANGERS!

My wife’s team, the Bruins won as well.The Caps goalie Braden Holtby, who started after both the Cap #1 and #2 goalies came up hurt, came up big and got the Caps to OT before Chris Kelly scored the only goal of the game about a minute in. Looking forward to a Rangers/Bruins eastern conference finals.

_________________________

And now for something completely different…

Reading comments about fracking generating local earthquakes on a story on Bloomberg.com, about how it has been around since the 1940, and how the whole story is a load of crap. Read that particular bit from someone who claimed to be from Oklahoma who had been in the oil business and about how it’s a bunch of bullshit, all this negativity about fracking.

Then I went on to read about how the fracking that went on from the 1940’s until the 1990’s was different than the stuff that is creating the earthquakes. The stuff that went on early apparently was low volume fracking, that generally used between 20 and 80 thousand gallons of liquid per well.

What gets done now is that instead of thousands of gallons per well being used, millions are used, generally between 2 and 3 million gallons, and has apparently increased tectonic activity underneath the mid-western United States. From the 1970’s until the year 2000 the area experienced on average 21 earthquakes a year. That number has jumped since the beginning of the use of high volume fracking. There were 87 earthquakes in 2010 and 134 in 2011.

Now I don’t know a great deal about the science on this, I’m just not knowledgeable in this particular area, but it seems to me that low pressure fracking is perfectly safe and acceptable. It did no harm, it does no harm, no worries, keep at it. But the increase in pressure brought about by the increase in fluid injection seems to be a bit too much of a negative to be allowed to continue.

I’m not a fan of unnecessary legal action, but this looks like a clear cut case where those who are in power need to seriously look at the potential negative consequences of high volume fracking.

After all, an earthquake caused by high volume liquid injection fracking, even a small one that damages an underground pipeline and spills oil everywhere, that gets into the ground water and makes life difficult if not impossible for people and wildlife in the area is entirely unacceptable. We need better that this from the oil industry. If they can get oil using high pressure fracking, they can get it other ways. And if they can’t, that is their problem, not mine.

__________________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

