March 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page.  This is the March 2012 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

__________________________

This month: 223.76 miles.  Longest run: 15.2 miles (March 11th) Shortest run: 5.62 miles (March 9th, 13th, 19th, 20th & 26th)  27 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.287 miles

2012 Mileage total: 559.84 miles  Longest run of the year: 15.2 miles (March 11th) Shortest run of the year:  3.8 miles (February 6th).  72 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  7.775 miles

__________________________

I’m not 100% happy about ending the month with a day off on a Saturday, but beyond that, this was a great run month.  I matched January’s very surprising distance total, though I ran one day less in March than in January.  I went over the 10 mile mark 8 times, I ran hills with some level of quickness, a bunch of sub 7:30’s on the hills, which is fantastic.

Sore hamstrings, calves and stomach muscles were an issue throughout the month, but never enough to keep me off of my feet.  The weather was fantastic again, like it was in January.  I can run in low 50’s all day, and only things that needed my attention (i.e. work, writing, wife, sleep, etc,etc, etc. ) kept me from running further on a great many days.

I didn’t really exercise enough, but I got in as much exercise as I was capable of in the limited time allotted me.  Even if I didn’t get strong, I didn’t lose anything either.

April should be a strong run month.  I’m going to try to push the distance envelope as much as possible this month, even if work keeps me busy every day.  Might  make it to 800 miles on the year before April 30th, will give it everything I’ve got to do it.

__________________________

Thur., March 1st:  Ran 5.82 miles in 44:50.31, a 7:42.25 m/m pace.  39 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  My feet were sore as hell as the run started, thanks to the crappy shoes I wore to work today.  But surprisingly, the pain and soreness went away as the run went on.  Pretty damn happy about that.  The uphill runs were usually around an 8 m/m, and the downhills around a 7:30.  The time I ran today, it’s not so bad.  I’ll take it.75 knuckle push-ups, 30 chin-ups.  Wanted to get my feet wet again, after a month of no upper body work at all.  Should have gone harder.

Fri., March 2nd:  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.  Worked late, never got out.

Sat., March 3rd:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:23:48.57, a 7:41.33 m/m pace.  53 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I tried to keep my feet moving fast but I didn’t push hard today.  Felt good going at the pace I did today even if it was not me pushing my hardest for any length of time during the run.  Left ankle was a bit sore early, but the soreness went away as the run went on.  No worries.  Had fun out there.100 knuckle push-ups, 40 chin-ups.  Same as Thursday, will begin the upper body sweat in earnest in a day or three.

Sun., March 4th:  Ran 14.7 miles in 1:58:41.91, an 8:04.48 m/m pace.  38 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Longest run of the year, so far.  Just going this distance was pushing hard.  Hamstrings were sore after the first of the seven park laps, and stayed that way.  I was slow because of it, but also, or more appropriately mainly because I knew I was going on my longest run of the year so far, with not a large mileage base underneath me, after those February days off, and knew I couldn’t do it with speed.  Good run. 100 knuckle push-ups, 40 chin-ups.

Mon., March 5th: Ran 7.1 miles in 54:48.94, a 7:43.23 m/m pace.  39 degrees, sunny, breezy.  In actuality this is two complete and separate runs.  One of them 3.8 miles the other 3.3.  I hurt my knee during the first run which was going to be a 7.1 miler.  I told myself that I was going to finish the run after a few minutes to rest the knee at home, but I ended up working on a clogged drain there & that took a while.  So, the numbers were actually; 3.3 miles in 26:02.27, a 7:53.41 pace, and 3.8 miles in 28:46.67, a 7:34.38 pace. That second run was itself the tale of 2 runs.  First lap I ran in 15:06, a 7:56 pace, and the second in 13:40, a 7:11.57 pace.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., March 6th:  Ran 10.56 miles in 1:24:45.38, an 8:01.57 m/m pace.  36 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I thought I was moving faster than this today.  Knee wasn’t an issue, hammies and calves were tight, but not too bad.  The hills were difficult today, but I managed to plow through, hardest time was on the beginning of the second half, the hill up Walbrooke avenue, the hammies were a mess the whole way up that hill, that was a hard slough.  The rest of the run was OK, never 100%, but close to it in some other places, like Broadway coming out of Harvest on the way back.  Had fun out there.  80 chin-ups, as much as I could do in the few minutes I had to exercise in.

Wed., March 7th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 44:06.46, a 7:34.71 m/m pace.  55 degrees, clear, windy.  Beautiful weather for early March, it feels like a may evening out there.  I was not sure how good this run would be, my left calf cramped up on me a bit on the way home, but it was fine by the time I was ready to head out at 8:00 pm.  My time on the 1.01 mile uphills were 7:47 and 7:57, and the 1.01 mile downhills were 7:30 and 7:17, ran the .89 mile path from home to the hills in 8:03, and ran the same .89 mile path on the way back in a 7:11.  Nice.  No exercise, just beat today.

Thur., March 8th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:27:43.55, a 7:41.71 m/m pace.  66 degrees, sunny, windy.  Even with winds that gusted over 35 mph out there, this is great run weather.  Can’t ask for better in early March.  The park sucked tho.  The parks department had crews out all over the place cutting down trees… parked in the paths.  Damn near killed myself trying to run one lap running over, past and sometimes through all the crap they left lying around and their vehicles.  Ran that lap, said fuck it, and ran hills for 9.5 miles after that.  The run turned into 3/10ths of a mile hill repeats for a bit. 150 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Fri., March 9th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 44:04.74, a 7:50.59 m/m pace.  40 degrees, cloudy, windy.  I ran about as hard as I could here, one small cup of coffee to power the run.  It was a fine effort, albeit a slower than expected one.  No issues with hamstrings or calves, though both are and have been a bit sore of late.  Nothing more to tell.

Sat., March 10th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:18.40, a 7:30.47 m/m pace.  40 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Shorter than normal Saturday run.  I had no idea how long I was going to go when I walked out the door today, but after hitting a fast early pace, I decided to go shorter and fast.  Ran the 3 park loops (5.7 miles) in 7:24, and a 7:52 on the hills (1.4 miles) to and from the park.  150 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Sun., March 11th:  Ran 15.2 miles in 2:01:21.10, a 7:59.01 m/m pace.  52 degrees, sunny, windy.  Longest of the year so far.  My time for the first two laps was sub 8, but by the time the end of lap 3 came around, I had nudged up to an 8:00 mile flat pace, then got slower for the next 2 laps.  I stopped looking at my watch and got a shade faster, finished just faster than that 8:00 m/m pace.  Pretty happy about that, I was not expecting to be able to do that.  Nice.  150 knuckle push-ups.  I was going to do more, but things were busy and I never got to it.

Mon., March 12th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:53.11, a 7:32.42 m/m pace.  62 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  I ran round about normal speed on the uphills today, call it a 7:50 – 7:55 pace.  Hit the downhills at about a 7:20 – 7:25 pace.  But I lit it up on the way back home,  ran that last .89 miles in a 6:57.  Schweet.  Good to see that I can hit sub 7 now and again.  Nice.  And after last months disappointing mileage total, It’s good to break the 100 mile barrier this early in the month.  Double nice. 150 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Tues., March 13th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:23.87, a 7:32.64 m/m pace.  68 degrees, clear, breezy.  It felt easy out there tonight.  It was just fun pushing out there, despite walking out the door with what feels like a cold.  Sinuses are a mess, but running was easy.  Hit the first hill fast and never looked back.  I wasn’t even sure I’d be able to run at all feeling as ill as I was.  This was a great run day.  175 knuckle push-ups, this was as much as I had time for before I went to bed.

Wed., March 14th: Ran 6.28 miles in 47:39.18, a 7:35.28 m/m pace.  64 degrees, clear, breezy. I am an idiot some days.  Near the end of the run in a dark spot during the run, I went to hit the light on my watch.  I missed and hit the wrong button and my time disappeared, then proceeded to stand there and fight with my watch while trying to get it to show my time.  I think I stood there fighting my watch and losing for at least 20 seconds.  Dammit.  The run was fast, felt that way anyway.  Happy with the run otherwise. 150 knuckle push-ups.  Sucks that the amount of exercise is actually decreasing.  Need more time.

Thur., March 15th:  Ran 6.28 miles in 48:55.54, a 7:47.44 m/m pace.  42 degrees, breezy, drizzle.  Not a bad run.  I didn’t think I’d be able to keep up the kind of pace I’d run the last few days.  I kept a strong pace but never really put my foot on the gas today.  I didn’t look at the watch for most of the run, and that made this run feel good.  Not sweating my time, not concerned about a negative split or pace.  Just run.  Felt nice.

Fri., March 16th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Sat., March 17th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:13.29, a 7:21.30 m/m pace.  50 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I have had a cold, or something that resembles one, since about Monday.  It’s been really good running all week, and today was no exception.  Maybe it’s short runs after the long one last Sunday, maybe the medication I’ve been doing for the cold, but I have been fast all week.   Zooming fast today, haven’t felt this quick in a dogs age. Nice.

Sun., March 18th:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:42:57.64, a 7:44.48 m/m pace.  61 degrees, sunny.  Tweaked my knee halfway through lap two of the seven lap run.  Had to stop for a few minutes, and I kept the speed down for laps three and four just to play it safe.  7:42 pace for laps one and two, 7:54 for laps three and four.  7:38 and change for laps four through seven.  Had fun today, even with the knee tweak. 200 knuckle push-ups, 80 chin-ups.  Closest thing to an actual workout in forever.  Felt good.

Mon., March 19th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 41:24.01, a 7:21.99 m/m pace.  64 degrees, clear, breezy.  I busted my ass on this run, had my feet moving very fast and stretched my stride as far as I was able to.  And with this being a night hill run, it makes the time doubly impressive, to me anyway.  I had fun out there, hauling ass on the hills. 150 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., March 20th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 41:24.59, a 7:22.09 m/m pace.  52 degrees, dense fog, drizzle.  It felt like I hit it harder today than I did yesterday, even with the nearly same exact time.  Probably because I was actually a shade slower early, hit the halfway point 9 seconds slower than I did yesterday, and finished with the time that I did, meaning I ran the second half nine seconds faster today than yesterday.  Nice.  Slower tomorrow methinks. 125 knuckle push-ups, 50 chin-ups.

Wed., March 21st:  NO RUN NO EXERCISE.

Thur., Mar 22nd:  Ran 6.28 miles in 50:50.66, an 8:05.77 m/m pace.  65 degrees, partly cloudy.  Took my time today.  I didn’t feel like busting my ass after busting my ass at work all day.  I had a headache, which made a hard effort even harder to contemplate.  So I took my time and really just enjoyed being out running, just enjoying the nice weather.  This was a great run.  Had a nice time out there.  No exercise. I was beat.

Fri., Mar 23rd:  Ran 6.28 miles in 49:34.86, a 7:53.70 m/m pace.  58 degrees, cloudy.  I pushed about as hard today as I did yesterday, but ran 12 seconds a mile faster today than yesterday.  Not a particularly fast time, but I’m happy with it.  Ran averaging 7:30′s on the downhills and 8:10′s or so on the uphills.  Nice morning for a run, enjoyed it out there.  No exercise, I worked for 13 hours, got home at midnight, didn’t have time to exercise.

Sat., Mar 24th:  Ran 8.22 miles in 1:02:13.13, a 7:34.15 m/m pace.  53 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Had fun out there today, really pushed hard in the park, sub 7:30 in the park, the hills being more difficult were a bit slower; 7:50 or so.  Kept it as quick as I could, even when my left knee started to bother me, and my hamstrings got sore during the run. I almost stopped to massage the knee, but decided against, and was able to keep moving quick.  Nice.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., Mar 25th:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:42:36.22, a 7:42.87 m/m pace.  46 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Almost identical to last weeks long run, 20 seconds faster.  Felt pretty good out there, though the hammies did tighten up on me a bit towards the end of the run.  I got quicker, albeit very slightly as the run went on.  Ran a 7:45.8 pace for first 4 laps, a 7:38.6 for the last 3.  Not too bad, I guess. 225 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., Mar 26th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 43:44.64, a 7:47.01 m/m pace.  48 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Not too bad a pace for an early morning pre-work run. Hit the first turnaround all sorts of slow, but the rest of the run I made pretty good time on.  It’s always the start of these morning runs that are hella slow, seems like that anyway. Felt good to get in an early morning sweat, I like morning hills for some reason. No exercise.

Tues., Mar 27th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:11:19.92, a 7:30.51 m/m pace.  48 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Pushed about as hard as I could out there, and went longer than I originally planned on going.  Kept my feet fast for the whole run, and stretched my stride about as long as I was capable of today.  No hamstring issues today, they didn’t tighten up during the run, which is really nice.

Wed., Mar., 28th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 57:05.46, a 7:30.71 m/m pace.  65 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Didn’t look at the watch all run, didn’t think about my time or about how fast I was going until the second half of the final lap.  Busted my ass to get ahead of and then stay ahead of some guy who was initially ahead of me.  Had fun out there just running for fun, ignoring the stopwatch.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., Mar 29th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:42.12, a 7:47.85 m/m pace.  53 degrees, cloudy, windy. Wind and tight hamstrings made this one seem hard, but I didn’t push the pace that hard here.   For most of the run I went at a comfortable pace with short fast strides, but nothing difficult.  During part of lap 5 and the end of lap 6 I did push a bit, but that was about it.  Thirty mph winds made for hard running coming down the second half of each lap.  No exercise.

Fri., Mar 30th: Ran 5.7 miles in 42:01.27, a 7:22.32 m/m pace.  52 degrees, sunny, windy. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to go today.  Left ankle was sore as hell to start with today, almost stopped me before I started.   Kept going, and as soon as the ankle pain dissipated I turn on the afterburners and left everything out on the paths.  Felt good to fly out there today. 7:16 pace for the last 2 laps after the hobbled start.  Nice.

Sat., Mar 31st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Busy day, could not get to it.

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

