Not Quite Late Night Idle Talk


Pic of the day:  Xian Museum.  A photo of the Terracotta Army.

________________________

I am so not ready for baseball season at this point.  I’ve watched maybe 2 innings of exhibition baseball so far this year.   As a matter of fact I don’t think I’ve watched much in the way of sports in a dogs age.  No hockey, no nothing, haven’t watched a single second of March madness.

So what have I watched?  When I watch anything lately I watch on my roku box.  I’ve been busy watching netflix, the TWiT network, and  nowheretv, which has a boatload of interesting things on, most notably the prelinger archives and NPR and PRI, which usually have things on that are between 2 and 5 minutes in length.

I write which keeps my eyes busy, so I guess you could say I’ve been busy watching myself write, though admittedly I haven’t done nearly enough of it for my liking.

I guess I’m too damn busy having a life, working(when I’m working,) keeping myself in shape and running around working around das rhino hacienda to watch that much of anything.

________________________

Lazy old me has been looking at the news with some level of bemusement today.  Seems a bunch of people are looking very,very,very hard at every word being spoken in the halls of justice, or what passes for that here, as if today’s words somehow hold the key to the final judgment that the court will pass on, and that it will pass that judgment on tomorrow.

Doesn’t work like that.

All the hemming and hawing about the affordable healthcare act is a bit premature.  Everyone who thinks it’s death knell is nigh or that it will come through all right or that parts will be cut but parts left untouched (if that’s possible I do knot know) will have to wait some time before things finally play out.  It’s not like the Supreme court will finish deliberating this stuff tomorrow and come up with a decision Thursday.

It’ll take a while before the court hands down it’s decision here.  It’s like that with all of it’s decisions.  Expect weeks and maybe more before the final verdict is read in open court.  And with the court being as fickle a beast as it is, don’t expect it to make the judgment you want or think is right.  And the mandate may yet survive, though justice Kennedy being the libertarian he is, and the swing vote on many matters, it may not.

_______________________

Most men think dramatically, not quantitatively, a fact that the rich would be wise to remember more than they do. We are apt to contrast the palace with the hovel, the dinner at Sherry’s with the workingman’s pail, and never ask how much or realize how little is withdrawn to make the prizes of success. (Subordinate prizes — since the only prize much cared for by the powerful is power. The prize of the general is not a bigger tent, but command.)

Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

_______________________

Whatever you do America, avoid taking flight 191! Apparently a captain on a flight for JetBlue (who else?) lost his zarking mind and started ranting like a loon about Iraq and al-qaida or some such crap.  Wasn’t flying easier and better for everyone when there was no homeland security and the pilots could get loaded and be relaxed about things?

Whatever else you do, don’t count lulzsec out just yet.  A few weeks after the story that broke about lulzsec being taken down, it seems they are back.  The group has hacked a military singles sight and the global IT company CSS.  Military singles had one hundred seventy thousand accounts exposed, and CSS had it’s entire corporate e-mail database exposed.  So much for the end of lulzsec!  Hold on to your passwords kids, it’s gonna be a bumpy night!

_______________________

Worn out.  Beat.  Tired.  That is me.  Which is surprising seeing how I didn’t work today, and slept til nearly 9:00 am.  Maybe it’s this lingering cold that has been dancing through my system for the last 2+ weeks, never really a full blown cold but never gone that’s doing me in.  I dunno.  But I just don’t want to do anything.  So it is almost lucky for me that I had no work today, and none for tomorrow.  I don’t really need motivation to work, I like working but when it’s a chore to reach for the remote, then there’s an issue.

Probably has something to do with the medicine I take, which is fairly stimulant heavy.  There’s only so much of that crap one can take over time, I guess.  Which is why even though my nose is still dripping like a leaky faucet I’ve stopped taking the medicine.  When the medicine is worse than the illness the medicine has to go, ya know?

_______________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

