Working On It


I have been bouncing around jobs for over 3 years.  OK, i have had fairly steady employment for the last 5 months, sporadic but steady.  2 days a week here, 5 days there, 3 here, 2 there, et cetera…

It was and is not the easiest thing in the world to do to want to work, have a job, but not have enough work to suit your needs.  It can be excruciating to look at your bank balance and know that despite the fact that you are doing everything you can, there might simply not be enough to make ends meet.  There have been months where that has been a real issue, where I ended up after paying the rent with $8 in the bank, and I wasn’t even sure I would have that much.

So I work whenever I can.  Whenever the place I work at asks, I say yes, no matter where, no matter when or on how short notice.  I am far from the only person there like that, there are, between temps and freelance employees some 40 – 45 of us.  Some are younger people who drift and work at several places at once, and can only give some time, some who are just passing through, work for a time and then are gone like the wind.  But there are a core of us who are dedicated, who work every time we are asked.

And it looks like this is going to be coming to an end soon.  I have been hearing whispers from people who are in a position to know that the company is ready, and is in fact supposed to hire permanent art handlers, between 6 and 9 depending on the person who is speaking.  Usually that kind of scuttlebutt has some level of truth to it.  And now come this.  A meeting is taking place this week, between all the temps and freelance art handlers, and our boss.  At the end of the week.

When they do the hiring, from what I am led to believe, that will mean the bulk of the rest of the temps and freelance employees will be let go.  I don’t know how true that is, but time will tell.

I have also heard that I am high on the list of people they want to make permanent.  Could that just be someone trying to make me feel like I’m doing good, doing well enough to make it, to give a little hope and confidence to?  Ya, it could be.  But I am hoping that there is more to it than that.  I have heard other names on the list as well.  And I have to be honest, I am a hard working, fast learning employee, but some of these people, steeped much deeper in the art world than I am, have a distinct advantage over me.

I want the job.  I am not the only one.  All I can do is work my hardest and give my best smartest effort and hope it’s enough.

I feel confident.  Wish me luck.

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night

Leave a Reply

