February 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page.  This is the February 2012 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

__________________________

This month: 111.6 miles.  Longest run: 10.9 miles (February 25th and 29th) Shortest run: 3.8 miles (February 19th)  17 runs in 29 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 6.564 miles

2012 Mileage total: 336.08 miles  Longest run of the year: 13.92 miles (January 23rd) Shortest run of the year:  3.8 miles (February 6th).  45 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  7.468 miles

__________________________

It all fell apart for me this month.  I took a few days off early because I needed to recharge the batteries.  It really felt good to take those days off, I needed the rest.  But when I started back up my hamstrings which were bad before, through disuse apparently got worse, and really tightened up on me.  The pain got so bad I had to shut it down a second time, for eight days.  I didn’t think I came back running too fast or too long, as a matter of fact, looking at the times I ran I was taking my time, and the distances weren’t great.

Maybe I should have taken a few days more than just those initial four.

Be that as it may, after that setback when I started up, I was rested and healed up enough.  It made the runs for the rest of the month good runs.  I ran a few semi-long runs, two 10+ miler, and I averaged 9 miles a day in the last 5 days of the month, after averaging 5.55 for the first 12 runs, i.e. until the 24th.

It might not have been my best month, but it did end on a high note.  I’m gonna hang my hat on that.

__________________________

February 1st:  Ran 6.26 miles in 47:04.12, a 7:31.13 m/m pace.  54 degrees, clear, breezy.  This was going to be an identical run to yesterdays run, but I added a little bit to the end of one lap, .22 miles, just to do it.  I was feeling fast most of the night out there.  Not surprising though, mid 50′s anytime is great running weather, and it’s especially beautiful for the first of February.  110 chin-ups.

February 2nd:  Ran 5,82 miles in 43:36.28, a 7:29.53 m/m pace.  37 degrees, clear, windy.  Ran pretty damn fast today on the hills.  Minor issue with a callous on the outside bottom of my left foot.  I’ll sand it tonight. Kept my feet fast and my strides as long as possible.  Good speed out there.  No exercise.

February 3rd:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 4th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 5th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 6th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 7th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 40:28.78, a 7:47.07 m/m pace.  46 degrees, sunny, windy.  First time out on the paths since Thursday, and to be honest I was a bit hesitant to go out today.  It took a while to convince myself to go out, but I was happy I did once I did.  Not the overjoyed feeling I’ve had after injury layoffs though.  More the feeling of happy familiarity that was missing when I wasn’t running.  Not sure how to take that.  I was expecting to feel more jubilant to be back on the road again.

February 8th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 46:27.65, a 7:58.97 m/m pace.  31 degrees, sleet.  Slow going today, but I wasn’t trying to go fast.  Left hamstring tightened up on me today as well.  It would happen on a day when I’m not trying to push hard, go fig.  It was snowing before the run, but it became a light sleet just before the run and stayed that way for the entirety of the run.  Feh and other such statements.

February 9th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 47:39.27, an 8:11.28 m/m pace.  36 degrees, clear, windy.  This run hurt.  I ran with a headache and a strained left hamstring, both of which kicked my butt on the hills today.  I wanted to run today, even with both of those going on because I had takes those 4 days off earlier.  No fun on the hills this night.  Hopefully it’ll be better tomorrow, hopefully the hammy will be better, or at least well enough to run longer.  It’d be nice.

February 10th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 45:43.04, an 8:01.23 m/m pace.  44 degrees, sunny, breezy.  My left hamstring felt fine all day today.  I was planning on and looking forward to going long today, I was thinking minimum 7 laps(13.3 miles) in the park.  I walked down to the park, and thought maybe I’ll take my time.  I took the first step to run and the hammy was immediately in pain.  I tried to push through, made it through 2 and a half laps, and it got worse.  I half limped to the end of lap 3 and had to stop.  I am at this point hoping it is a short layoff, 3 days or so, but longer would not surprise me.  Dammit.

February 11th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE. From the 11th to the 18th, off due to hamstring and calf strains.

February 12th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 13th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 14th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 15th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 16th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 17th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 18th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

February 19th:  Ran 3.8 miles in 31: 02.08, an 8:10.02 m/m pace.  40 degrees, sunny, breezy.  It’s good to be back.  I was initially thinking of going 5.7 miles here, but decided to cut it short, not wanting to overdo it and re-injure anything.  I didn’t realize how much I had missed the road until I was coming back from running.  Soreness and a great many other issues had drained the joy of running from me, but it is back.  Felt great being back on the paths again.

February 20th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 44:53.39, a 7:52.52 m/m pace.  42 degrees, sunny, windy.  I’m happy with the pace today.  Happy about it because I was sub 8 on my first 1.9 mile lap, and finished at 7:52.  Didn’t think I’d be sub 8 two days in after having more than a week off, and 12 days off in February.  No soreness to speak of, slight tightness, but that is more a product of just being a runner, not a product of an impending injury.

February 21st:  Ran 5.62 miles in 45:14.46, an 8:03.00 m/m pace.  44 degrees, mostly clear.  Had a headache, which made the run a great deal more difficult.  Busted my ass, or as close to it as I could get out there tonight.  This was as much as I had, and dammit I am not happy about it.  Gonna have to hit some serious distance, and soon.  Or hills every damn day.  Something like that.

February 22nd:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:29.19, a 7:33.59 m/m pace.  50 degrees, clear, breezy.  No headache, no problem.  I ran with something of a chip on my shoulder tonight.  Went out hard, trying to prove to myself that yesterday’s slow time was an aberration.  And frankly I think that it was, and that after 4 days back on the path that I am rounding back into form.  12 days off this month took more out of me than I thought it would.  Happy to be rounding back into shape.

February 23rd:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:35.39, a 7:34.69 m/m pace.  48 degrees, cloudy.I wanted to push hard again today, to prove to myself that yesterday was no fluke.  Similar conditions, similar time, felt pretty good.  I was slower early than I was yesterday, but both days second halves were quick. Had fun out there, even if my feet are a bit sore.  Had fun out there.

February 24th: Ran 5.62 miles in 44:26.60, a 7:54.48 m/m pace.  42 degrees, cloudy.  Left anterior compartment was sore and gave me a hard time during the run, Made it hard to move quick.  I actually hit the ½ way point 6 seconds slower than I did on the 21st, so I pushed on the second half & ran the second half in 26 seconds faster than the first half.  Not bad considering the Left A.C. issue there.  Good run.

February 25th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:23:07.64, a 7:37.58 m/m pace.  38 degrees, very windy, cloudy, snow flurries.  Didn’t think it was cold enough for snow, but it snowed out there.  Wind gusts over 40 mph with sustained winds over 20 miles per hour made this a hard long run, especially with it being my first long run since January 29th.  Happy that I could hit this pace.  The wind was in my face most of the run, this was no wind aided pace.  Had fun running long today.

February 26th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:38.47, a 7:33.30 m/m pace.  41 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Could have gone longer but I was fighting a headache and a lack of sleep all day, and decided against going long.  Pushed hard out there today, it felt good gunning it out there, this one felt quick, and that made the run really enjoyable.  Feels good stringing together 8 runs in a row after missing 12 days this month.

February 27th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:09:42.24, a 7:44.69 m/m pace.  46 degrees, sunny, windy.  I pushed hard in spots out there, not the whole way, took it easy on the second lap, and part of the third.  Slowed down my stride rate (unintentionally to begin with,) but once I realized it I kept it there until I felt ready to push again.  Had a stitch at one point, but it went away fairly quickly.  Had fun out there.

February 28th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:19.83, a 7:22.22 m/m pace.  48 degrees, sunny, breezy.  I busted my ass out there today, gave as much as I had out there today.  I was fast from the start, and turned it up in the park.  Toenail on my right foot cut into one of my other toes, and I ended up with bloody sock as a consequence.  No big deal though.  Over 100 miles on the month, I wasn’t sure I’d get there, happy to do it.  Wanted 200, but 12 days off this month scuttled that.

February 29th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:27:53.12, an 8:03.77 m/m pace.  39 degrees, windy, heavy rain.  It was coming down in buckets during the day’s run.  The wind was harsh, and there were times I thought there was sleet out there.  Wind & rain, and soaked clothing slowed me down a bit out there.  The biggest factor though was making a conscious decision to not push as hard today as I did yesterday.

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night!

Leave a Reply

