Mid February Late Night Idle Talk


Pic of the day:  The Ambassadors, By Hans Holbein the younger

_____________________________

Made up my mind to begin writing here early in the afternoon, right after I wrote more for my story of the month, but I took my time. I was busy doing nothing, and enjoying doing nothing, and happy at feeling rested for the first time in I couldn’t tell you how long.  Felt good.  I was eating like a damned pig, and enjoying it. I don’t think I have had an hour today where I wasn’t stuffing my ugly pie hole with some type of pie or some such.  Maybe not the healthiest thing I could do, but I was feeling the need for a dirt day, so I took it.

– – – – – – – – – –

I have not run since Friday afternoon because of tightness in my left hamstring.  My wife told me there was a knot in the muscle.  I didn’t believe her until I felt the damn thing myself.  It has me on my butt and not running until it heals up.  I am hoping that it heals so that I can run tomorrow.  I don’t mind days off, but days off when I had plans to run irritate me to no end.  I haven’t exercised in nearly 2 weeks.  Feels odd having time off like that.

– – – – – – – – – –

The Christmas lights are still up, but they’ll be coming down soon.  Every year I take them down earlier and earlier.  Used to be that I took them down after St. Patrick’s day, now I’m getting ready to take them down around hallmark and your florist need money day Valentines day.  I must be getting old.  That sucks.

– – – – – – – – – –

I have a fantasy baseball team, two in fact in two different leagues.  I have fantasy baseball teams because real ones are expensive.

– – – – – – – – – –

One of those teams drafted yesterday.  I didn’t do great, but I wasn’t bad either.  First 6 picks, and I drafted 9th in a 12 team league were Joey Votto, Justin Verlander, Alex Gordon, and Mariano Rivera, Alex Rodriguez and James Shields.

I moved up and grabbed Alex Gordon probably two rounds early, for two reasons.  One I think the kid has tons of upside potential, and two, the best outfielders were gone, and I needed something, and he was about the best outfielder out there in round three.  I missed a major run on outfielders that happened after my second round pick, and before the Gordon pick.

I just wanted Mariano, Votto was the best out there at the 9 pick, and how could I pass up Verlander at 16?  A-Rod fell far and I needed some kind of power in my line up, and if he can stay healthy. he’ll be a boost to the Yankees and my roster.  The kid Shields will do well again this year.

It’s fun drafting fantasy baseball teams.

___________________________

You get ideas from daydreaming. You get ideas from being bored. You get ideas all the time. The only difference between writers and other people is we notice when we’re doing it.

Neil Gaiman

___________________________

I had been putting off, subconsciously perhaps, doing writing on my story of the month, which still does not have a name, for a few reasons. One was I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go with it, and there were so many possible different directions that I could go in.  It starts out as a story about a guy who is just having a bad day.

A really bad day, which in fact starts out the night before, when he gets drunk and punched in the face and nearly knocked out cold. Which makes a mess of a great many things.

The second reason I was putting off writing this is pretty simple.  This started off as a very unstructured story, and I did not want it to turn into me venting about different things that have gone on in my life, consciously or not.

The character, Bobby, has something of a drinking problem.  Just like I used to.

I was planning on creating job issues that get him in serious trouble.  I’ve been fired and gone through hell on that front, just like lots of other people.

And dammit I did not want this turning into me just venting my spleen, or some odd form of psychological retribution against all the wrongs that have happened in my life.  But then I had another thought.  What if it turns out that that makes a really good story? What if it happens that really good things, story wise, occur when you add some level of drama to an already occurring life and events in it, past or present?

So I decided to go for it.   I picked the story back up at around 11:30 am.

I wrote for about 3 solid hours, maybe a little longer.  Just short of 4,000 words later I had written two more chapters worth of stuff.  And yes, the chapters are relatively short, this being a short story and not a 125,000+ word novel.

I had Bobby accidentally take sleeping pills instead of painkillers to get rid of a hangover, with less than pleasant effects (which I am not done with) had kids mess with him while he was damn near comatose on a bus, had him go to work, screw up while there and get fired.

I even named the boss Mike, modeled him after some darker vision and version of myself, and fired Bobby for stuff he could have just as easily let go.

I’m just at the point where Bobby has walked out after being canned.  I’m not sure what I am going to do with or to him at this point, but I am thinking of deepening the character, show him run into an old flame, show an obsession with guns  and politics perhaps, or a drug connection of some type with horrible consequences for some poor slob, maybe him, maybe someone else.  Something major like that, something meaty that I can work into a story.

Dammit this is fun!

________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

