January 2012 Running Commentary


Once a month I clear out the content on my Running Commentary page and place it here on the main page to make room for fresh content on that page.  This is the January 2012 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

__________________________

This month:  224.48 miles.  Longest run: 13.92 miles (January 23rd) Shortest run: 5.5 miles (January 6th)  28 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.017 miles

2012 Mileage total: 224.48 miles  Longest run of the year: 13.92 miles (January 23rd) Shortest run of the year:  5.5 miles (January 6th). 28 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  8.017 miles

__________________________

This was an auspicious start to the year.  Perhaps my best January ever.  I averaged slightly over 8 miles per run, and broke well over 200 miles yet again, after never doing that before June 2011.  I actually ran with some level of speed this month as well.  Surprising, seeing how January is usually a slow down month for me, where I take my time and recharge my batteries.  Admittedly I did slow down a bit at the end of the month, but it was not that big a slow down.

I’m not happy with the amount of long runs I ran.  I could have done more in that vein to be honest.  But I was strong on the hills and overall distance and speed were pretty good, I’m pretty happy with that.

I could have exercised more.  Should have.  Didn’t.  No excuses.  Need to do more of that.

I am hoping to keep up the speed and hill running and add some longer runs in February.

__________________________

Sun., January 1st:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:28.69, a 7:31.92 m/m pace.  46 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Decided to go short on a Sunday, not a usual thing for me to do, but then again I have run over 34½ miles in the previous 3 days.  Figured I’d give myself a break this morning.  T’was a fun run, the weather was nice, there were a ton of runners yelling “Happy New Year!” at each other.  It was nice. The slight twinge in my right hamstring was not so nice.  Dammit, it’s always something, ya know? 250 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., January 2nd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:13.62, a 7:29.80 m/m pace.  35 degrees, sunny, windy. I was pushing hard out there, but surprised myself with the time.  I didn’t think I’d be able to run a sub 7:30, even if it is just sub 7:30.  I’ve been faster than expected for the last few days, and that is a happy thing.  Slight twinge in the top of both hamstrings today, dammit.  136 chin-ups.

Tues., January 3rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:50.06, a 7:26.48 m/m pace.  24 degrees, sunny, windy.  Windchill between 10 and 15 degrees.   Long johns tried to fall off my ass mid-run, so I had to stop to fix’em.  Silly funny crap, except I had issues getting the stopwatch restarted, and I lost a few seconds.  I don’t know how many, so I am leaving the time as it shows on the watch, but I may have been as much as 6 seconds slower than the time listed.

Wed., January 4th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Wife’s Birthday.

Thur., January 5th:  Ran 12.8 miles in 1:38:04, a 7:39.68 m/m pace.  34 degrees, sunny, windy.  I almost stopped due to a variety of aches, and pains on at least 3 separate occasions today.  Just one of those days I guess.  No worries though, I grinned, bore it, and kept going.  That feels good. I ran the second half a little slower than the first.  That sucks, I always try to run negative splits.  Can’t do it every time I guess.  112 chin-ups.

Fri., January 6th:  Ran 5.55 miles in 41:58.51, a 7:33.78 m/m pace.  47 degrees, clear.  Thought I was going to run long today.  I also thought I wasn’t going to be working today.  I worked, so I had to cut the run short.  Hit the hills today.  .82 miles out to the Blvd. start point, 1.92 miles out, 1.92 back and then .89 back home.  It’s been a few weeks since I hit the hills, felt good to hit them again.  275 knuckle push-ups.

Sat., January 7th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:22:22, a 7:33.39 m/m pace.  46 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Pushed pretty hard out there this morning. Hamstrings were sore early, but the soreness went away as I ran.  I got faster as I went, cut about 3 seconds per mile off of my time on the last 4.5 miles of the run.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., January 8th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:07:15, a 7:28.33 m/m pace.  40 degrees, partly sunny.  Busted my ass out there today.  I didn’t think I had sub 7:30 in me this morning, happy that I did.  Happy too, that I didn’t have much in the way of soreness in the hamstrings, which was a problem yesterday.  200 knuckle push-ups, wanted to add some chin-ups after this but never got to it.  I am a lazy bastard some days.

Mon., January 9th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:54.47, a 7:27.10 m/m pace.  34 degrees, sunny, breezy.  This has been a fairly fast start to the year so far, and today’s run was no different, except for the fact that I didn’t look at the watch and try to figure out my pace while I was running.  I felt fast the entire way today, actually had a stitch for a moment out there on the third and final park lap. No hamstring issues today, no tightness at all.  Nice.  120 chin-ups, 15 sets of 8.  Twas only a little hard at the end of the last set, think it’s time to start doing sets of 10.

Tues., January 10th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:25:51, a a7:52.56 m/m pace.  35 degrees, sunny, windy.  I decided to just take my time out there today, I saw no reason to bust my ass.  Not exactly motivated to hit it hard today, had a hard time just staying motivated enough to even go this distance.  It is going to be a long day.  No exercise.

Wed., January 11th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:14.06, a 7:38.31 m/m pace.  40 degrees, sunny.  Went at it harder today than yesterday.  Pushed because I was feeling I could.  It wasn’t a 100%, I had a helluva pain in my left side at about the 4 minute mark, it stopped me cold.  Slowed me down a bit after I got started, the pain did not go away immediately.  I was fine about 10 minutes later, but was unable to move fast enough to get to a sub 7:30 run.  Not a bad time though, considering.  120 chin-ups, 12 sets of 10.

Thur., January 12th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 55:03.82, a 7:45.32 m/m pace.  42 degrees, early rain, cloudy, very windy.  I didn’t really push that hard today, but I didn’t slack off either.  I thought about trying to push hard, but the combination of rain for the first 20 minutes of the run, and the fact that I just wasn’t feeling it today made that thought disappear.  I did think about going longer as well, but this is going to be a hard and busy day, and I decided 7.1 miles was enough mileage for the day.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Fri., January 13th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 43:40.29, a 7:46.24.  27 degrees, clear, very windy.  Winds are nearly gale force out there, gusting 35 – 40 MPH when it tops out.  In my face most of the time, felt like that anyway.  No worries, I always dress appropriately.  Twas hard running tho, more because of dad’s funeral today than anything else.  That’ll make even the easiest run difficult.  Good to be out on the road nonetheless. No exercise.

Sat., January 14th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:16.59, a 7:38.67 m/m pace.  26 degrees, sunny, windy.  I don’t know that I pushed very hard out there, and there were patches of ice out there that slowed me down to a crawl for just a few steps, but I did my best to motor out there, to give as much as I could.  I’ll take a 7:38 with the wind chill at 13 degrees.  Maybe longer tomorrow, I’ll see.  No exercise.

Sun., January 15th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:27.67, a 7:40.23 m/m pace.  18 degrees, sunny, windy.  Wind chill at 6°, made for a difficult run, and it was because of the temp and wind that I decided to keep the run short when I was thinking of going longer today.  I’ll go longer tomorrow, no worries, I’ll always find a way to get my distance running in.  I just didn’t want to freeze my face off doing it.  I’m happy about the time here.  Nice.  200 knuckle push-ups.  Not as much as I thought I’d get to, but I got started late, and sadly didn’t exercise long.

Mon., January 16th:  Ran 9.32 miles in 1:12:51.35, a 7:49.02 m/m pace.  32 degrees, breezy.  Not nearly the issue with wind that has been around the last few days.  I ran the hills around victory, started in light and ended in darkness. I definitely picked up speed as the run went on, but then again I didn’t care how fast I was going early.  Hills actually felt pretty easy today, happy about that.  120 chin-ups.

Tues., January 17th:  Ran 6.7 miles in 52:54.63, a  7:53.82 m/m pace.  47 degrees, cloudy, breezy. Ran much of this run on Forest avenue.  I just wanted to take a different path, I thought I was pushing hard on the hills.  I was, I just wasn’t very fast.  These hills are amongst the steepest on the island though.  No embarrassment running this pace on that path.  Had fun even if I was dodging dumbass most of the time.  50 Chin-ups, 125 knuckle push-ups. As much as I could do in the 15 minutes I had left to do my exercise.

Wed., January 18th:  Ran 6.6 miles in 51:06.56, a 7:44.63 m/m pace.  25 degrees, clear, windy.  Odd course tonight.  1 up and back on the 1.01 mile route(to clove and slosson), then 1 up and back on the 1.47 mile route(to clove and bement), + the .82 mile run to the hill start point.  I wanted to add some more distance to what I had initially planned as a 5.68 mile run.  Felt good, and I ran a good time for the conditions as well.  Nice.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., January 19th:  Ran 5.75 miles in 44:16.25, a 7:41.95 m/m pace.  34 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Went short tonight, just didn’t feel like piling on the distance.  Plus, it’s my brother’s birthday, I wanted to get back to call him.  I pushed about as hard as I could, and the hills kicked my ass.  Twas fun!  No exercise.

Fri., January 20th:  NO RUN NO EXERCISE.  Unintentional day off, ended up going to my mother’s place for dinner with my brothers and thier wives and kids.  Never had time to run or workout.

Sat., January 21st:  Ran 10.12 miles in 1:22:47.37, an 8:10:84 m/m pace.  22 degrees, sleet, snow, wind.  It was snowing most of the run today, and it changed over to sleet towards the end of the run, despite cold temperatures.  I pushed hard, but snow, wind, and a bum knee, which flared up on the first lap, kept the speed down.  No worries, I’m pretty happy with an 8:10 in a snowstorm.

Sun., January 22nd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  I needed an extra day off, so I took one here.

Mon., January 23rd:  Ran 13.92 miles in 1:49:12.82, a 7:50.74 m/m pace.  49 degrees, rain/drizzle, windy.  I did not really push hard until around lap 5, I was on auto-pilot until then. On lap 5 I saw some kid running some blazing times, and was frankly inspired.  Turned on the afterburners after that, and took what was an 8:00 m/m+ pace run, and managed to get it to almost a sub 7:50.  Felt good to run that fast to end the run, and it was during the heaviest rain of the run, too.  Nice.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., January 24th:  Ran 10.12 miles in 1:17:07.95, a 7:37.30 m/m pace.  48 degrees, sunny, windy.  Ran hard today, about as hard as I could out there today.  It is easier to run all out when conditions agree with you.  Bad news: I felt the right hamstring twinge on me a little bit.  Good news:  My left ankle, which has been a bit sore for a while, showed no signs of soreness today.  Speed was easy to come by today, and that’s a happy thing.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., January 25th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:49.03, a 7:37.12 m/m pace.  38 degrees, clear, breezy.   Not too bad, I pushed everywhere, not 100%, but as hard as I felt capable at that given time.  I was kind of slow to begin with but as the run went on I got faster.  The temp surprised me, I thought it was warmer than that, felt that way.  That feeling made the run pretty easy.  Enjoyed the hills today.  100 chin-ups.

Thur., January 26th:  Ran 7.66 miles in 1:00:46, a 7:55.97 m/m pace.  38 degrees, rain.  I ran on auto-pilot for most of this run, never really busted my ass, except for the last 3/10ths of a mile.  It didn’t feel like 38 out there, felt warmer.  I honestly thought I was faster than this, but I’m happy with the time.  First day with negligible winds in a while, which was nice.  100 chin-ups.

Fri., January 27th:  Ran 7.66 miles in 59:26.46, a 7:45.59 m/m pace.  43 degrees, foggy.  Same run as yesterday, but I pushed harder out there this morning.  I actually hit the first turn around slower than I did yesterday, but every other spot I hit faster than yesterday.  Kinda pissed me off that I was actually slower on that first turnaround, which fueled the rest of the run.  Had fun busting my ass out there this morning.  No Exercise.

Sat., January 28th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 59:45.14, a 7:59.59 m/m pace.  38 degrees, sunny.  Early morning run.  Woke up too early, didn’t have enough coffee, the backs of both of my feet have blisters on them, everything just hurts.  I had nothing today.  I was going to go longer, but cut the run short.  Woke up early because the landlord is coming over, a pipe under my sink let go.  Dammit.  No exercise.

Sun., January 29th:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:22:55.14, a 7:36.43 m/m pace.  40 degrees, sunny, windy.  Pushed about as hard as I could out there today.  I was going to go longer, but i just did not have the time to do it.  Possible dinner at moms + definite work to do here = not enough time to run how I please.  No pain or soreness today, which is nice.  250 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., January 30th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 44:12.98, a 7:52.06 m/m pace.  35 degrees, cloudy.  Took my time for this post work hill run.  Kept my stride rate high, but didn’t push for speed otherwise.  I had a headache for a fair chunk of my day, and was not 100% out on the path, felt no need to try to push all out this night.  Some other night, perhaps.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Tues., January 31st:  Ran 5.82 miles in 43:41.84, a 7:30.48 m/m pace.  53 degrees, clear.  Pushed hard today, and it was easy thanks to the phenomenal weather.  Couldn’t ask for better run weather in January, or any other time to be honest.  I probably could have gone longer, but i’m a little tired and beat up at this point, giving myself a bit of slack here is a necessary thing.  120 chin-ups.

_____________________________

Leave a Reply

