Beginnings and Endings


The month of January is named after the Roman god Janus, the god of beginnings and endings. Wikipedia calls it beginnings and transitions, but I don’t recall the word “transitions” from my childhood.

___________________________

Beginnings and endings, that is what this month has been about. The beginning of the political primary season, and the end of several important political campaigns, culminating in what may be the end of Mitt Romney’s biggest challenger in Newt Gingrich with a punishing loss at the hands of Romney in Florida by 15 percent as of 9:15 pm here on the final day of the month.

This month has also seen the beginning of what I am hoping is a fruitful writing career. I know it is insanely premature to call it the beginning of a career when I am barely 8,000 words into my first true story. In my defense though, I have been writing for several years and written probably over a million words over that time. I think I can begin to dream a little bit about at least some kind of financial gain from my writing here at this point. And if I am going to dream, I’m going to dream big, dammit.

Also this is the beginning of what looks to be a good year work-wise. I have a feeling that things are going to go well where I am working, and, having spoken to several people there it looks good for me. At least it does at the moment. Ask me tomorrow and I may feel different. Such is the life of a freelancer. I am hoping for the freelance art handler phase of my life to end, and the art handler phase to begin. And even if that doesn’t work out, I have a back-up plan, just in case.

This may be my best run year ever, and this month, this beginning augers well for me there. In my last few January’s, I haven’t been far over 100 miles for the month. I’ve usually found excuses to not run, and usually taken quite a few days off. Not this month. The weather was nice for New York in winter, very little snow and warm temperatures, and as a consequence I ran nearly 225 miles (over 360 kilometers) this month. If I keep up this kind of pace, I can easily beat last years best ever total mileage for the year by hundreds of miles. I ran 2151 miles last year(over 3400km), and I can probably run several hundred more miles on top of that if I do this right and avoid injury.

____________________________

Pic of the day: Janus

____________________________

That is what we are supposed to do when we are at our best — make it all up — but make it up so truly that later it will happen that way.

Forget your personal tragedy. We are all bitched from the start and you especially have to be hurt like hell before you can write seriously. But when you get the damned hurt use it — don’t cheat with it.

Ernest Hemingway

_____________________________

Endings are important as well. My father passed away this month, 3 weeks ago to be exact. Tis a hard thing for me to handle, because he was relatively young, only 67. He never got to enjoy retirement. My mother never got to enjoy retirement with him. We’re both Giants fans. We were supposed to be watching the Super bowl together, watching the Giants beat the Patriots. Well, we WILL be watching together, he’s just in heaven doing it while I’m in New York.

Heaven is too damn far away for me for my liking in this instance. I’ll eat extra chip and dip and pizza for ya during the big game, dad. Love ya.

______________________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

