Seeker


Pic of the day: Portrait of Matsuo Basho by Katsushika Hokusai

_________________________

Breaking the silence
Of an ancient pond,
A frog jumped into water –
A deep resonance.

Matsuo Basho

_________________________

I am seeking after peace of mind. I don’t know that I will find it, but I am trying.

The peace of mind I seek is more a seeking after emotional contentedness, which has been deeply upset by the death of my father.

It is a regular thing for me to do to try to find some calmer state of mind in my life.

In doing so, I have on rare occasions read haiku.  Hence the U-kiyo-e drawing by Hatsushika Hokusai.

Read a few here, and here.

I also find that reading the Tao Te Ching and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations helps.

I always carry a copy of one or the other on me whenever I travel to work, along with a copy of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.

But with a kindle in my possession, I may pick up a few books of haiku poetry.

_________________________

Viddy of the day: Matsuo Basho – How Haiku Became Popular.  No sound.  None necessary.

_________________________

I have work tomorrow, and since it is getting relatively late I have to get ready for work, make tomorrow’s lunch, get my clothes ready, etc,etc,etc.  It will be the first full day of work for me since December 23rd.  Can’t wait to get back to work.

_________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

