First Day Back


Today was my first day back working since before Christmas.  I got all of 5 hours of work in today, because they called me after 10:00am, and it takes me a minimum of 90 minutes to get in to midtown Manhattan.  I am at once grateful and annoyed.   Grateful that I got any work at all this week, when it looked like I wasn’t going to get any work at all.  Annoyed that it was such a small amount of work.

I need money to survive, and I need work to make money, and I need time in work to do that.  When I don’t get that time, I get a bit anxious about my money situation.  I’ll tell you what I had to do last week, I had to get a weeks worth of unemployment for last week because I had not worked at all last week.  This week I will get 5 hours worth of work for one days pay.  I can put in for unemployment for this week and get 3 days worth of it, 75% of the regular number.

I would just as soon work 5 days and not be able to get it, but one day this week, and what looks at this point like 2 days next week severely hampers my ability to live my life. I think the time has come to begin circulating my resume again, in hopes of getting something full time, because this freelance thing is not for people who want to be able to afford to eat and pay bills and have a life.

I will say this, I still love the line of work I am in, and I now know of several more companies that do what I want to do, and I now know more people in the business, so there is that.

Wish me luck!

___________________________

They, the conservatives, are the real outsiders, they tell us, gazing with disgust upon the ludicrous manners of the high and mighty. Or, they tell us, they are rough-and-ready proles, laughing along with us at the efforts of our social “betters” to reform and improve us. That they are often, in fact, people of privilege doing their utmost to boost the fortunes of a political party that is the traditional tool of the privileged is a contradiction that does not trouble them.

Thomas Frank

___________________________

Viddy of the day:  Unemployment Ticks Down to 8.5%

1,600,000 jobs added in 2011.  Not bad.  Not great but not bad.

Americans need the number of jobs to move higher faster this year than it did last year, we are still trying to get out of the AIG/Citigroup/Hank Paulson/George Bush recession that cost us the better part of 8 million jobs overall.  It’s been nearly 3 years and I still have not landed that full time job with benefits yet.  Just because some of us have part time jobs does not mean we are fully employed.  We need more, we need better, and we need it now.

__________________________

Since i’m writing about unemployment, I decided to look up the numbers at bls.gov.  The telling statistic is one that should be obvious.  The better your education, the less likely you are to be unemployed.  The unemployment rate for those who have less than a high school diploma is 13.8%, those who have a diploma but naught else are unemployed at a 8.7% rate, per capita, those with some college or an A.A. have it slightly better with a 7.7% rate of unemployment.

Those with a  B.A. or better are those least likely to be unemployed, with their unemployment rate sitting at a paltry 4.1%. Although I’m sure if you are one of the 4.1% (or 13.8% or any portion of those unemployed) it doesn’t feel paltry.

But those numbers themselves are somewhat skewed by the simple fact that the single highest percentage of the unemployed population happens to be those who are 16 to 19 years of age, and who are unemployed at a  23.9% rate. Kinda hard to have a high school diploma when you are 16 years of age AND begin counted as unemployed.

I must be reading something wrong here, would not surprise me, but the numbers don’t lie, do they?

Do they?

__________________________

Pic of the day: Massacre of the Innocents, by Peter Paul Rubens

___________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

