Christmas Night Late Night Idle Talk


It’s late on Christmas night.  All the lights are out except for the colorful Christmas lights which ring the living room in the one bedroom apartment that I and my wife live in.  The only sounds in the room are the clackety-clack of the keys as I type and the sound of the cuckoo clock that is ticking to itself in the corner of the room.

I caught a bit of the Yule Log today on PIX, that is New York Christmas tradition.  That thing has been on every year since I was a child, and is as much a New York institution as the Christmas Tree at Rockefeller center.  I like connecting with my past like that, or more accurately with portions of my past that I like enough to not completely shun and ignore.  To hear the original music, see the old fireplace, brings back happy memories of childhood, where a toy from Santa was the most important thing on earth.

_____________________________

Viddy of the day:  WPIX Yule Log

_____________________________

Spent most of the day with my parents.  With dad in the hospital, it would have meant, had I not been there, that mom would have spent most of her Christmas day alone.  Now I am the first to admit, that I am not the best of company.  I am not what anyone would consider the social buterfly, and frankly it is sometimes difficult with me to get so much as 10 words out of me.  But I, being a man of some minimal strength of character, decided that I did not want my mother sitting alone at home, and having only a visit to see her ill husband, and whoever came up to visit besides her be the only contact with humanity she would have on Christmas day.

We exchanged gifts.  I got her some cheap crap, and she got me some nice stuff.  Kinda how it goes with me.  I can never seem to get anyone anything nice for Christmas, I invariably never have any money to shop for the people I love, and as a consequence, I get them cheap crap.  Been like that for the better part of a decade.  One of these days I’ll have enough money to treat everyone to some actually nice stuff on Christmas.

It’s a dream.  Crazy, I know, but someone must dare to dream.

____________________________

Good news from heaven the angels bring,
Glad tidings to the earth they sing:
To us this day a child is given,
To crown us with the joy of heaven.

Martin Luther

____________________________

Pic of the day:  The Crucifixion, by Bernardo Daddi

____________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night

Leave a Reply

