3:00 A.M. Thoughts


It’s 3 am on a Monday and I am awake, not something I normally am at 3:00am on a Monday.  Usually when working on a Monday I get up just prior to 5:00 am to go run.  Not today though, I’m working graveyard shift for one day late Monday to early Tuesday, so in order to acclimate myself to the shift, here I am awake when I should be snoozing.

__________________________

I dislike corporate greed, I think it is one of the major factors in the inability of the world to fix the problems that exist within it, and of the instability of markets.  If not for the insatiable chase for mammon, the mortgage crisis would never have come about, and as a consequence the great recession of 2007-2009 would probably never have happened, or even if it did, it’s strength and impact would have been greatly diminished.

The face of corporate greed is Hank Paulson.  He’s the #1 guy who lobbied the SEC to loosen the net income rule back in 2003, and he is by and large responsible for the underlying issues the mortgage mess made when all those sub-prime mortgages the relaxation of that rule created went bust.  I’ve written about this mess more than once, if need be I’ll rehash the story for you again at a later date.

Meaning the other guy you hang with this crime, with this sin, is Chris Cox, former head of the SEC .

___________________________

Selfishness and demagoguery take advantage of liberty. The selfish hand constantly seeks to control government, and every increase of governmental power, even to meet just needs, furnishes opportunity for abuse and stimulates the effort to bend it to improper uses.

Charles Evans Hughes, Conditions of Progress in Democratic Government

___________________________

Pic of the day:  Starry Night Over the Rhone, Vincent Van Gogh

___________________________

I’ve been reading those snippets of books, those samples that I mentioned a few days ago in the article titled “A Short List of Books”  and I have to tell you, I picked some real good ones.  Gotta tell you, Naomi Wolf makes me want to go out grab a weapon, and join an armed revolt against the ills of the world.  The Christopher Hitchens offering was, well, a bit too short, but it was….nice,  not really as strong as I was hoping.

I absolutely fell in love with the Fukayama book, the origins of political order.  It was exactly as I had hoped for, an anthropological look at how politics as we know it came to be.  Fascinating stuff.  I was a little underwhelmed by Zen in the art of Archery, kinda surprised me.

___________________________

‘Tis the good reader that makes the good book; in every book he finds passages which seem confidences or asides hidden from all else and unmistakenly meant for his ear.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Society and Solitude

__________________________

Viddy of the day:  “Ron Paul”  — A BLR Soundbite

___________________________

Don’t know what I’m happier about, The Giants pulling out a victory against the Cowboys to retake the lead in the NFC East, or the Rangers beating the CRAP out of the Florida Panthers.

Damn fine to see both victories today. Both teams really needed them.

___________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

