A Short List Of Books


A list of free samples of books I got on-line, seeing if I want to buy them for myself or not. 

Zen in the Art of Archery, by Eugen Herrigel

Give me Liberty, by Naomi Wolf

The Ajax Dilemma: Justice, Fairness and Rewards, by Paul Woodruff

The Origins of Political Order: From Pre-Human Times to The French Revolution, by Francis Fukayama

The End of America: A Letter of Warning to a Young Patriot, by Naomi Wolf

Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

Dispersing Power: Social Movements as Anti-State Forces, by Raul Zibechi

Letters to a Young Contrarian, by Christopher Hitchens

Two classics there, by Herrigel and Huxley, never read either one, and I’ve always wanted to get but for one reason or another never did, so those two are no brainers, just get the sample before I buy.  The others caught my eye because they looked and sounded like they have ideas in them that I want to explore at greater length.

Naomi Wolf has intrigued me for some time, but more because she was someone on the periphery of my consciousness, someone I had heard of, but never read, who’s ideas were unknown, but spoken well of by people I respect.  Worth a look just on that count.

The Woodruff offering looks like an offering I read by Professor Richard Sandel (I think that’s his name), and looks like an intriguing philosophical look at the process of giving rewards for work done.  A good thing for people who don’t make enough money to scrape by to have a good hard think about.

The Fukuyama offering on it’s face just grabbed me.  Is this an anthropological look at the structure of political thinking as it’s title suggests?  Good lord I hope so, and I hope it’s exhaustive, because that sounds like the book I’ve been looking for.

Being pro-OWS, a book on social movements, like the Zibechi offering, has an immediate appeal, especially with it being about a successful social movement, made me want to see what this book is about.

And who doesn’t like Christopher Hitchens?  Srsly, for all that I don’t like his stance on the Iraq war, his arguments, the ones that I have heard, are at once persuasive, intelligent, and witty, even the ones I disagree with.  Being something of a contrarian myself , a left wing liberal on right wing Conservative Staten Island, letters from that wit to any contrarian should be an intelligent entertaining read.

There were more radical books out there that I was looking at, but decided not to go further in depth with yet.  8 samples to swallow in a few short days is quite a busy schedule, and I am a busy man even at the most relaxed of moments, so I’ll get to the books on protection services, terrorism, self defense, police tactics, anti-corporatism and, of course, guitar lessons at some later date.

And yes, guitar lessons can be radical. YOU try playing some of Allan Holdsworths solos. You try to play anything by Master Segovia.  Serious.  There is nothing conservative and there is everything radical in those players.

__________________________

Pic of the day:  Alphonse Mucha;  Salome (1897)

__________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

