I Work Hard…


Rested and relaxed.  That is what I am right now.  In a world where that seems in short supply, I feel almost smug about being able to say that.

But I shouldn’t.

The rested bit comes from not having work this particular day, so while I have caught up on my sleep, it is at the expense of making money.  Money makes the world go ’round, or at the very least makes us able to live in some level of civilized manner on it while trying to make more money.

I work hard. So I can make more money. So I can buy more stuff.  So I can do more for myself.  Which makes bills pile up.  So I work harder. So I can make more money. So I can buy more stuff. So I can do more for myself. Which makes more bills pile up.  So I work harder…

Vicious cycle, but it’s the only one we have.  Sucks, don’t it?

But enough poking fun at 80’s drug PSA’s and capitalism simultaneously.

_____________________________

_____________________________

We don’t have to save the world. The world is big enough to look after itself. What we have to be concerned about is whether or not the world we live in will be capable of sustaining us in it.

Douglas Adams

_____________________________

I don’t work enough, but not for lack of energy. I want to work full time.  The place where I work now has me working as a freelancer, meaning I work when they need me, and don’t when they don’t.  Last week I worked 2 days.  This week I’m looking at 20 hours, next week 24 hours in 2 days.  It’s better than no work at all, but not by much.

The place I work at is a mixed blessing work wise.  They are doing the right thing by hiring people, and a fair amount of them. But what happens when they don’t know how to utilize the people they have?  They have enough people, but they only want a certain amount of work done.  We could do more, and be utilized more effectively, and get everyone more hours.  But they don’t do it, and that leaves a great number of people only doing marginally better off working than when they were not working, while work that has to get done continues to pile up.

What can I do?  Keep working, fix up the resume a bit, see if someone wants to hire me full time.  Nothing much else TO do.  Like many of the occupiers on wall street, I have a job, but it simply isn’t enough.  You can make fun of the people who protest all you like, but they, like me, are still on the outside looking in, and it sucks.  So why NOT stand at the doorstep of those who made the world what it is and scream for all the world to hear about how badly they fucked up?

Beats what people were doing about the way the world treated them prior to the protests.

Which was NOTHING.

_________________________________

Link-o-rama:

Philly Fed – Forecasters Predict Lower Growth and Higher Unemployment in 2012 and 2013

Bank Of America Makes Millions Charging Fees to Withdraw Unemployment Benefits

Protestors Hope to Shut Down New York’s Wall Street

_________________________________

Say all you like, at least we the disenfranchised now have a voice.  It may sound funny to some, but that sound is the sound of America trying to right itself.  You were expecting people in 3 piece suits singing opera, perhaps?

I just want a full time job.  This has been, for the world, clearly too much to ask.   This then is why I haven’t had one, and the health/dental insurance that goes along with it.

I could put in for unemployment because I only worked for 2 days last week, but I’m not sure I want to.  Still have time, and I still might.  But I might not.  I don’t want to use up money now that I might need later.

I’m no fortune teller, I don’t know what’ll happen next with my career, so I play it conservative with my spending, and with that unemployment.  If it’s all I have later, and it isn’t much, that much is for certain, I don’t want to use it all up now.

________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

