October 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the October 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

_______________________________

Sat., October 1st:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:58.16, a 7:27.62 m/m pace.  59 degrees, cloudy. Great day for a run, after several weeks of nearly 80 degrees and terminally humid, it’s nice to have actual autumnal weather to run in. Busted my ass out there most of the way, started a bit slow out there though.  If i had time I’d have gone longer.  150 Knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.  Short workout for a lazy day.

Sun., October 2nd:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:41:28, a 7:37.74 m/m pace.  58 degrees, sunny.  It was 53 when I started.  Great running weather.  One of the best run days of the year, and I ran a PR for this distance today as a result.  Nice.  There was mud and puddles everywhere, but that mattered not at all.  Nothing sore, no pain to speak of.  Double nice.  300 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., October 3rd:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Tues., October 4th:  Ran 7.7 Miles in 59:44.40, a 7:45.50 m/m pace.  59 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Night run after work.  Ran the Royal Oak/ Rice ave. hill to Martling and clove 3 x + the run to Royal oak and back.  I forgot how much fun night hill running can be.  Perfect run conditions as well, 59, not too windy, almost no one around, truly beautiful.  Might run early tomorrow, same path, same distance, I’ll see.  125 knuckle push-ups, 40 chin-ups.  That’s as much as I could get in in the few minutes I had to exercise.

Wed., October 5th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 1:00:02, a 7:47.79 m/m pace.  57 degrees, breezy.  Beautiful pre-dawn run.  I was going kind of slow early on, really had to pick up the pace the last 3 miles or so to even try to get to a time under 1:01, thought I’d be closer to a 1:02 if I didn’t pick it up.  Almost did it in under an hour.  Nice.  Hill running when the coffee has yet to kick in is not easy.  lulz.  Had fun out there.

Thur., October 6th:  Ran 6.38 miles in 50:22.48, a 7:53.74 m/m pace.  44 degrees, nice.  Beautifully brisk morning run today.  Shorter and slower than yesterday, but I ran different hills today, this time the hills on Clove and on victory up to Albert.  Harder hills to run.  Didn’t push hard today, knowing I’ve got a long haul ahead of me today.  Exercise will continue when I can get time to do it.

Fri., October 7th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 59:26.89, a 7:43.23 m/m pace.  49 degrees, nice. I pushed pretty hard out there this morning.  I’m 40 seconds faster on the downhill vs. the uphill, and the hill is 1.01 miles long.  That is annoying, because I run just as hard going up hill, but still lose that much speed.  Ah well, I’ll find some uphill speed eventually, I hope.  Still, it’s a decent time for 7+ miles on the hills overall.

Sat., October 8th:  Ran 12.02 miles in 1:32:15, a 7:40.48 m/m pace.  52 degrees, clear.  5 park laps + the 1.26 mile run to the park and back.  Beautiful day for a run.  Felt fast today, so I pushed pretty hard the whole way.  Initially thought about going 6 laps, but I have things to do this morning, so I cut the run short to get them done. BTW, today I passed last years mileage total.  Last year was my longest run year ever.  Only 15.56 miles until  I reach 1,500 miles on the year.  Nice.  Go me!

Sun., October 9th:  Ran 6.78 miles in 53:37.96, a 7:54.62 m/m pace.  55 degrees, clear.  Another pre-dawn run on the hills.  Thought I was faster than this, but the time isn’t too bad, I guess, maybe.  I thought I was going relatively fast out there, but apparently not.  No worries though, can’t all be fast ones.  No pain, no soreness.  Nice.

Mon., October 10th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 1:00:28, a 7:51.16 m/m pace.  59 degrees, clear, breezy.  I pushed just as hard as the last few times I ran this course, just didn’t run it as fast.  Go fig.  I’ve been pushing myself extra hard, between lack of sleep, pre-dawn hill running, and a new work schedule, and I am a little worn out.  I can run this faster though.  No pain, so soreness.  Nice.

Tues., October 11th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 42:02.20, a 7:28.79 m/m pace.  65 degrees, clear.  Great run on a great night to run.  This one meant a lot to me, this is the run where I went over 1,500 miles on the year.  I ran fast as well today.  Pushed hard out the door, went for it, knowing I was going short.  Felt good just knowing I was hitting a milestone today, that pushed me faster.  Good run.

Wed., October 12th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 58:40.90, a 7:37.26 m/m pace.  58 degrees, windy, drizzle.  Tried to push fast today after a long day at work on the hills and it went pretty well, I think.  Hit the hills hard, picked up the pace after each uphill, hitting the uphill on the third go-round at around a 7:45 pace.  Usually I run a bit slower on the uphill, so I’m happy with that.  I’m going to start exercising again soon.

Thur., October 13th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 59:38.37, a 7:44.72 m/m pace.  63 degrees, drizzle, light rain, fog.  I couldn’t push as hard today as I did yesterday, I was running with a headache, made it harder to push for speed.  I did manage to pick up the pace the last 2½ miles or so of the run, as the headache dissipated a bit as the run went on.  Good run.

Fri., October 14th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Worked late.

Sat., October 15th:  Ran 12.8 miles in 1:39:33, a 7:46.64 m/m pace.  54 degrees, sunny, windy.  Felt less than great out there today early, but I got better as the run went on.  Lap 2 was bad, stomach was bothering me, and I felt out of sorts.  It affected my time early, but as I got better from about the 4.5 mile lap point on, my speed picked up.  Had fun out there, running as dawn broke on a Saturday morning, being the only person there.  It was really nice to have that time to myself.  Good run.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., October 16th:  Ran 14.18 miles in 1:51.50, a 7:53.20 m/m pace.  62 degrees, sunny, windy.  Initially I was going to do 8 laps in the park, had to cancel that after I saw a bazillion people ready to begin a charity walk as I was going to begin my run.  Too many people to fight for space for my liking, so I hit the hills instead.  I ran about the hardest hill run I have ever run in my life, hitting the Richmond terrace to forest avenue hill no less than 8 times.  My left quad is sore as hell right now, hopefully it heals up before I run tomorrow night.  64 chin-ups.

Mon., October 17th:  Ran 5.82 miles in 45:01.22, a 7:44.12 m/m pace.  58 degrees, breezy.  I wasn’t sure that I was going to be able to run today, such was the pain and difficulty that I had from the injury in my left quad.  I was limping literally until I went to run, though the pain disappeared about an hour prior.  I went short just to play safe.   The quad hurt for a minute on the final downhill on the way home,  it was fine otherwise.  Longer tomorrow methinks. 150 knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.

Tues., October 18th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 59:01.68, a 7:39.95 m/m pace.  59 degrees, nice.  I wanted to run fast today, just push and see what I had in the tank.  I had more there than I knew I had, felt good about the today’s time.  Nice temps along with no wind or other weather issues made this a great evening to run.  If I didn’t have things to do after the run I would have run longer.  Had fun out there. 150 knuckle push-ups, 48 chin-ups.

Wed., October 19th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.  Worked late.

Thur., October 20th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 59:41.19, a 7:45.08 m/m pace.  55 degrees, nice. Started off slow and got faster as I went, I was going about as fast as I could by the time I got to the end of the run.  Hit the half way point running around a 7:57, had to bust my ass to get the time I finished with.  That felt pretty good. No soreness to speak of, the issue with my left quad from Sunday has completely gone away.  Nice.  200 Knuckle push-ups.

Fri., October 21st:  Ran 5.82 miles in 42:58.13, a 7:22.97 m/m pace.  52 degrees, clear. A great night for a run, albeit a quick one.  Tonight is the anniversary of the night I first met my wife, an anniversary we still celebrate every year.  I wanted to run but also wanted to take my wife out to dinner, so I ran shorter than I normally would have.  Great run, great night.  No exercise.

Sat., October 22nd:  Ran 12.8 miles in 1:37:15, a 7:35.85 pace.  54 degrees, sunny, breezy.  Great day for a run, absolutely gorgeous out.  Started out at 50 degrees, went up to 54, prime run weather, optimal conditions for picking up the pace.  I didn’t feel fast out the door, and I was on auto-pilot out there, so I could have run this faster, but 7:36 for a near ½ marathon isn’t anything to sneeze at.  This is a top 10, best run for the year.  Nice.  No exercise.

Sun., October 23rd:  Ran 12.8 miles in 1:34:28, a 7:22.81 m/m pace.  57 degrees, sunny.  I wasn’t fast out the door,but I got quick… err… quick.  I started hitting spots faster than usual before I hit mile marker one, and kept hitting them with speed.  I knew I was going at a hellacious clip, but didn’t realize I was going quite this fast.  Nice.  Sub 7:25 at this distance is, if not a PR, then it’s damn close to one.  I think I might have lost speed on my last lap though, which sucks.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., October 24th:  Ran 5.62 miles in 41:25.42, a 7:22.24 m/m pace.  56 degrees, clear.  Fast runs, fast for me anyhow, 4 days in a row.  Nice.  Sub 7:25 3 of the last 4 days when I haven’t been able to do that all year, and have one of them be a long run is just beautiful.  To hit the 4th fast run in a row on the night I hit 1600 miles on the year is absolutely fantastic.  This has been a great year for running for me so far, hope it stays that way.  64 chin-ups.

Tues., October 25th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 58:06.90, a 7:32.84 m/m pace.  56 degrees, clear.  Nice night for a run.  Crisp, clear beautiful night, almost no wind to speak of, quiet for the most part.  I was fast early, not super fast but I was running at a decent clip, pushed hard and ran the second half of the run 30 seconds faster than the first.  I had fun out there tonight.  Good run.  225 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., October 26th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.   Worked overtime.

Thur., October 27th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 59:24.23, a 7:42.88 m/m pace.  56 degrees, cloudy, drizzle.  Not too bad a morning for a pre-dawn run.  These morning runs are always slower than their nighttime counterparts, but I bust my ass just the same.  Less people and traffic as well, so it’s less of a hassle, even if it is a bitch getting up before 5 am to do it.  175 knuckle push-ups, 56 chin-ups.

Fri., October 28th:  Ran 7.7 miles in 1:00:18, a 7:49.87 m/m pace.  36 degrees, windy.  Hard early morning run with the 20 degree temperature drop.  Fun though, first real cold one of the season is always brisk and enjoyable, and this one was no different.  I felt slow, like I was sloughing through mud, couldn’t get them moving as fast I would have liked.  But that’s OK.  Still got my 7+ done today, and that’s the important thing.

Sat., October 29th:  Ran 13.42 miles in 1:46:02, a 7:54.06 m/m pace.  38 degrees, windy, rain.  Initially schedules to be a 12.8 mile run, which became a 10.9 run at 1:26:19 (a 7:55.13m/m pace) with a 2.52 mile run attached to the end of it, after the fact.  Added that 2.52 because I didn’t like the fact that the run had been cut short because there was no open bathroom at the park, and frankly felt cheated, that my full run had been taken away.  Felt great for that last bit of the run, 10 pounds lighter.  lulz.

Sun., October 30th:  Ran 4.42 miles in 34:07.15, a 7:43.15 m/m pace.  43 degrees, sunny, windy.  1pm run on a  Sunday, the day after a snowstorm.  Large tree branches, and some whole trees with power lines attached were down all over the place.  I stopped counting after I got to 2 dozen, and that was before I got to the park at the 1.26 mile marker.  Downed trees were the reason I cut the run short, I was hoping to go longer, but there was just too much stuff in the way.  200 knuckle push-ups, 64 chin-ups.

Mon., October 31st:  Ran 6.14 miles in 50:05.01, an 8:09.41m/m pace.  31 degrees, clear.  This was a cold morning run, spent running around the broken remnants of trees, ice and snow all over the run path.  It was a slow but happy one today, a winter run on a fall morning.  I expected to be faster than this, and I expect to get faster as the week goes on.  It will get warmer as the week goes on, and the ice and trees will disappear, so the times should get better.  250 knuckle push-ups.

_______________________________

This month:  229.72 miles.  Longest run: 14.18 miles (October 16th) Shortest run: 4.42 miles (October 30th)  27 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.508 miles

Year to date: 1652.26 miles  Longest so far 20.9 miles (September 18th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 228 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  7.246 miles

_______________________________

This was an amazing run month for me.  Despite working full time, and having to take several days off of running to work late, I still managed to run well over 200 miles.  Did it by running early and late, lots of night running, a large number of 7+ milers after work, and a number before work as well.  And trust me when I say that running over 7 and a half miles 30 minutes after waking up is not the easiest thing in the world to do.  It’s my best effort at something I love doing, and that makes it worth.

With any luck, I’ll be able to keep up this kind of distance running throughout the winter.  Hoping to be able to keep the monthly distance at or around 200 miles per month through November and December.  Should be fun trying.

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America. G’night.

Leave a Reply

