September 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the September 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

______________________________

Thur.September 1st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Fri., September 2nd:  Ran 5.7 miles in 45:10.22, a 7:55.47 m/m pace.  78 degrees, sunny.  It was a spectacular day for a run today.  After 7 days off, i made sure that I was not going to go out and hurt myself by either going too fast or too long on my first run back from the break.  I stopped twice during this run, just to ensure I wasn’t pushing to hard, to give myself a break.  Ran those laps in 15:08, 15:17, and 14:45 respectively.  A few more short runs before I start adding serious distance, methinks.   200 (8×25) knuckle push-ups, 42 (6×8) chin-ups .

Sat., September 3rd:  Ran 6.29 miles in 48:47.95, a 7:45.49 m/m pace.  72 degrees, sunny.  Nice morning for a run, which was initially planned for the park, but there’s a big race in and around the park, the Celic as I recall, and the police had things cordoned off, so I ran random hills, including the two big ones, the pepper martin hill on forest, and victory from labau to Lil clove road.  Surprised at 7:45 here, thought I’d be running at least 15 seconds a mile slower than this today.  Pretty happy about that.   200 (8×25)knuckle push-ups, 56 (7×8) chin-ups.

Sun., September 4th:  Ran 8.32 miles in 1:04:52, a 7:47.78 m/m pace.  86 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Hit the hills today.  Hard.  They beat my ass.  This was random hills, I would have hit the park but they still haven’t gotten that last tree out of the way, so I said hell with the park, I’ll run around the neighborhood.  Hitting hills in the heat and humidity on my third run back after a week long break was very difficult.  Damn that was fun!  175 KPU burpees, 49 chin-ups.

Mon., September 5th:  Ran 9.82 miles in 1:16:54, a 7:49:85 m/m pace.  82 degrees, cloudy, humid.  I was going to go 6 laps in the park, but there was work going on that blocked a large portion of path there, trucks clearing trees, didn’t like running under a crane tenuously holding a log that weighs 50x more than I do over my head.  Managed one lap, and went hill running afterwards.  Just short of 8 miles out on the hills +that one park lap. 300 Knuckle push-ups.

Tues., September 6th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:10:03, a 7:47.00 m/m pace.  60 degrees, heavy rain, breezy.  4 laps in the park + the run up and back.  Felt good to get back to running in the park, and even better to be running in this weather.  Rain doesn’t bother, neither does a 10mph wind. I could run in 60 degrees and cloudy every day and be the happiest runner on earth.  And I had the park almost to myself.  It was great.  One of the ten best runs of the year, this one was.  104 (13 sets x 8 reps) chin-ups.

Wed., September 7th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:12:26, a 7:37.47 m/m pace.  68 degrees, rain, heavy at times, wind. 5 laps in the park.  Pushed pretty hard in the rain and wind, and got faster as the run went on, despite the running shoes being heavily soaked, adding a pound or 4  to them. Had the park to myself basically.  That was nice.  Toes on my left foot are sore, have been for a few days.  No worries otherwise. 200 (8×25) knuckle push-ups, 64 (8×8) chin-ups.

Thur., September 8th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:29.85, a 7:32.09 m/m pace.  68 degrees, cloudy, breezy.  Pushed pretty hard out the door and all the way around today.  The trail shoes today made the running more difficult.  They are an old pair, and heavier than anything I run in now.  No rain, so more people were out and about today.  Twas fine though.  Almost all were runners.   No pain in the toes on the left foot today.  Nice.

Fri., September 9th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:51.04, a 7:26.62 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny, humid, breezy.  If I pushed hard yesterday, I busted my ass today.  A very fast runner in the park inspired me to greater than normal exertion today.  I did not want to get caught and passed, and I didn’t.  Nice.   I am wiped out right now.  Double nice.  No pain in my toes and I was able to run in my regular run shoes after three days of mudder running.  Triple and quadruple nice.  100 knuckle push-up/ceiling kick burpees.  That’s some fun there!

Sat., September 10th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:22.14, a 7:31.00 m/m pace.  73 degrees, sunny.  Great morning for a run. I went out not thinking about speed, in large part because my hammies are tight, so a 7:31, while not fast per se, is something of a surprise, faster than I thought I would be.  Nice times overall for all three 7.1 milers over the last 3 days.  Longer and slower tomorrow, methinks.  200 (8×25) Knuckle Push-ups, 72 (9×8) chin-ups.

Sun., September 11th:  Ran 15.2 miles in 1:59:50, a 7:53.02 m/m pace.  66 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Longest run of the year.  I was tempted to go longer, but my right hamstring stiffened on me a bit, so I ended the run at 8 laps in the park.   I was actually quick out there in spots, and faster at the end of the run than I was at the beginning of the run.  Nice.  Negative splits are always fun.  325 knuckle push-ups.

Mon., September 12th: Ran 5.7 miles in 43:22.40, a 7:36.56 m/m pace.  77 degrees, sunny.  2 stops in 3 laps, run scheduled for 4 laps.  My left knee started to bother me near the end of lap 1.  I stopped for a minute, started back up and ran a slow lap, slowness caused by knee pain.  That lap I limped through.  I stopped at the end of lap 2, sat down and rubbed the knee and rested it for a few minutes.  Felt better, and ran a 3rd lap, the knee gave me no problem that lap, but I didn’t want to push, so I ended the run there.  Fast (7:23 m/m) on the 3rd lap.  Go fig.

Tues., September 13th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 59:24.49, a 7:49.01 m/m pace.  80 degrees, sunny,windy.  Stopped twice.  Second stop I walked home, took NSAID’s, relaxed a few minutes, and went back out and ran 3.8 more miles.  The left knee is becoming a serious issue,  a VERY serious issue.  One more time like this, and I’m taking a few days off to heal up.  This is the first time ever where the thing has acted up on me 2 days in a row.  Only good thing was that I was pain free for the second run.  NSAID’s are good for that though, don’t want to do them every damn day just to run.  175 (7×25) knuckle push-ups, 56 (7×8)chin-ups.

Wed., September 14th: Ran 9.5 miles in 1:16:33, an 8:03:47 m/m pace.  83 degrees, sunny.  Took it slow today. I went slow and told myself on each lap that this lap might be my last of the day.  The knee, unstable as it was the last 2 days, had me thinking I might need to take time off and give it a rest cure.  But I wanted to give it one more try, see how it was.  I was honestly surprised that I could get 5 laps out today, after the amount of pain I was in the last 2 days.  There is hope that the knee issue is behind me, time will tell.  Longer and just as slow tomorrow, possibly.  175 KPU burpees.

Thur., September 15th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:31:22, an 8:00.88 m/m pace.  66 degrees, cloudy, some rain.  Took it slow for about the first 5 ¼ laps.  Then some kid tried to run past me, and it was on.  Didn’t let him pass, and pushed as hard as I could the rest of the way.  After running the first 5 laps in an 8: 07, I ran that final lap in a 7:31.6.  Great test for the left knee, which didn’t bother me at all.  Nice.  Beautiful weather out there today.  Fall is almost here, baybee!

Fri., September 16th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 55:06.50, a 7:15.06 m/m pace.  63 degrees, partly cloudy.  After a few days of slow runs, picking up the pace felt good out there today.  Particularly with the weather like this. 63 degrees, but it was cooler than that in the shade and the park has a lot of shade.  It was beautiful out there.  Kind of weather I could run in all day, if my legs could hold up that long.  No knee issues made this an especially great run.  104 (13×8) chin-ups.

Sat., September 17th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:54.00, a 7:28.84 m/m pace.  58 degrees, partly cloudy.  Great morning for a run, kept it short because I have things to do.   I’ve run over 62 miles this week, which is (I believe) a personal record, or close to it, distance wise for a 7 day span.  Nice.  Pushed hard, but not too hard this morning, the hammies were a bit tight early, didn’t want to push them too much and tweak the damn things.  325 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., September 18th:  Ran 20.9 miles in 2:46:36, a 7:58.27 m/m pace.  62 degrees, partly cloudy, windy.  My personal longest run ever.  Previous longest run was 19 miles, which I ran 2 years ago.  11 laps in the park, which I thought was going to be more difficult due to foot traffic, but there were less people out on a gorgeous day than I thought would be out.  Sore, but not too sore. At least right now I am, we’ll see if that stays that way.

Mon., September 19th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 43:25.52, a 7:37.11 m/m pace.  66 degrees, cloudy, windy.  Took my time early, this was after all a recovery run.  I got the itch to run fast though, and hit the afterburners on the third lap, or as much as I was capable of in that area.  Think I ran about a 7:25 on that last lap.  Sumthin like that.  Didn’t want to overdo it today.  Didn’t.  Nice.  Outside of right heel is a little sore from yesterday, it warrants monitoring.  175 (7×25) knuckle push-ups, 56 (7×8) chin-ups.

Tues., September 20th:  Ran 8.22 miles in 1:04:01, a 7:47.27 m/m pace.  63 degrees, light rain/drizzle, wind.  I didn’t push too hard today, didn’t want to push in the rain this soon after Sunday’s run.  No pain or soreness in the heel.  Nice.  Rain had the park nearly empty, felt good to fly solo out there.  Had fun.  250 (10×25) knuckle push-ups.

Wed., September 21st: Ran 7.6 miles in 57:58.82, a 7:37.74 pace.   71 degrees, cloudy, windy, humid.  I pushed a little harder today than the last 2 days, felt more comfortable trying to put a faster effort together today. Kind of unhappy with my time, given the effort.  Thought I was faster than this.  However, there is no soreness or muscular pain to speak of, which is a happy thing.

Thur., September 22nd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:42, a 7:46.84 m/m pace.  75 degrees, wind, cloudy, humid.  Took my time early, picked it up late.  First 2 laps I ran at a 7:56.05 pace, middle 2 laps in a 7:51.31, and the last 2 in a 7:34.73.  Not too shabby a finish, I say.  I wasn’t going to run fast at all today, but my legs decided otherwise. No pain at all.  Nice.

Fri., September 23rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 55:19.64, a 7:47.55 m/m pace.  70 degrees, rain, heavy at times, windy.  Fun run in the rain today.  I was in awe, I couldn’t believe how high the water at the lake and the creek got today, nearly spilled over the rim of the creek and the lake and ran through the run path.  Rain and wind slowed me down a touch, not too much though.  I’m a smilin, muddy mess right now.  Great run.

Sat., September 24th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:26.42, a 7:31.60 m/m pace.  75 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Over 200 miles this month(second 200+ miler this year!).  That’s a happy thing.  Over 68 miles this week, a personal best.  That’s two happy things.  I was able to chop nearly 16 seconds per mile off of yesterday’s time.  That is the happy hat trick.  Had fun flying around the park today. Longer and slower tomorrow, methinks.250 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., September 25th:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:43:29, a 7:46.84 m/m pace.  80 degrees, cloudy, humid.  I was actually moving pretty quick early, but slowed down as the run went on, until the last of the 7 park laps.  It feels like I have a strained lower abdominal muscle, and it affected the run today.  First felt it twinge a week ago on the 20.9 miler, and it’s kept me from exercising most of the last week.  It doesn’t mean I’m gonna stop running, just means I have to be careful, not stress the area too much.

Mon., September 26th: Ran 7.6 miles in 56:52.07, a 7:28.95 m/m pace.  78 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Pushed hard out there today, took my foot off of the gas for a minute or two during the last lap because my strained lower abs were bothering me a bit, otherwise I pushed.  I would have preferred more speed, I know I can run this distance faster in cooler conditions, but this is as much as I had at this point, and that is just fine.

Tues., September 27th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 59:08.03, a 7:46.84 m/m pace. 75 degrees, cloudy, humid.  The temperatures dropped as the run went on, it was warmer than 75 as the run began, and cooled significantly as the run went on, temperature drop of at least 7 degrees out there as the run went on.  Took my time, didn’t care about the weather, or about my time, I just ran to enjoy myself.  Had fun out there as well.

Wed., September 28th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 44:25.34, a 7:47.60 m/m pace.  68 degrees, cloudy, humid.  It will someday NOT be cloudy and humid.  When? I dunno.  Srsly, my right hammy was bothering me from before starting out today’s run, so I cut down the distance on this run.  Best news is that the stomach muscles are no longer sore, exercising can now continue.  150 knuckle pus-ups, 48 chin-ups. Felt good to break a sweat exercising again.

Thur., September 29th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28.14, a 7:44.38 m/m pace.  72 degrees, cloudy, drizzle.  Took it kind of slow early on, but started to pick up the pace after the second lap, and by the time lap 6 came around I was running pretty quick, not top speed mind you, but fast for the end of an 11+ miles run.  My right hamstring was a little sore, but not as bad as yesterday, got better as the run went on.  Ran in mudders, but it wasn’t necessary, could have used regular runners today.  300 knuckle push-ups.

Fri., September 30th: Ran 7.6 miles in 56:08.96, a 7:23.28 m/m pace.  76 degrees, sunny.  First non-humid day in over a week, took advantage and pushed harder than usual today.  Not 100%, but pretty close.  I could have gone longer, but not at this speed, I could have gone faster, but not at this distance.  This is all I could give here today, and I’m happy about how I ran.  No soreness to speak of, which is nice.  150 KPU burpees.

___________________________________

This month:  253.35 miles.  Longest run: 20.9 miles (September 18th) Shortest run: 5.2 miles (September 17th)  29 runs in 30 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.736 miles

Year to date: 1422.54 miles  Longest so far 20.9 miles (September 18th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 201 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  7.077 miles

_________________________________

My best run month ever. Over 250 miles for the first time ever in one month.  One day off at the beginning of the month, which turned out to be the only day off of the month.  Long runs, plenty of them, including my longest run ever, just shy of 21 miles on the 18th.  No injuries that kept me from running, though I  had a serious issue with my left knee getting loose on me in the middle of the month that forced me to shorten and alter the runs on the 12th and 13th.   I was fast enough in spots where I felt good about my ability to burn, but played it smart enough where I didn’t use that speed injudiciously, i.e. on the longer runs, where excess speed would have been counterproductive.

I won’t be able to get distance like this for a while. I begin working another job, this one hopefully one I can land permanently at, so I will not have the time to dedicate that kind of distance to, but so long as I am healthy, I will try to run every day that I can to match, if not the distance, then at least the intensity of this, my single best run month ever.

_________________________________

That’s it from here, America.  More later, If I can.

Leave a Reply

