A Bridge Too Far


Viddy of the day:  Peaceful female protestors penned in the street and maced! -#occupy wall street

These kids got maced for no good reason, they weren’t doing anything.

I’m telling you some of the viddys that I am seeing surfacing at these protests look very much like the cops are creating disorder and trying to arrest enough protestors, piecemeal, one by one, bit by bit, in an attempt to erode their will to resist.

For those who have been watching the same viddies as I have been, and the one above is only one of a plethora of them, the protestors will to stand their ground has, if anything been strengthened by the  Gestapo tactics of the NYPD here.

Normally I am pretty well pro-cop, the police have a function in society and in that role they serve us well, but this is a bridge too far.  No one was being harmed before the cops began strong arming these protestors.

No one, until the cops decided to harm them.

How exactly, Mr. Mayor is pepper spraying 20 something girls, and arresting kids one at a time until they all run away in fear of those who are meant to protect them while they do nothing wrong,  gathered peacefully, serving and protecting the people of our great city?

Commissioner Kelly, back off your dogs.  You are a public servant.  Serve the public, not your own vision of order.

______________________________

Where justice is denied, where poverty is enforced, where ignorance prevails, and where any one class is made to feel that society is an organized conspiracy to oppress, rob and degrade them, neither persons nor property will be safe.

Frederick Douglass

______________________________

It bothers me that I am not employed.  Well, ya I signed a letter of intent to work as a freelancer (a casual by a different name) for a company I will not name in this space, but until such time as they tell me I am on board and I can come in to begin working, I am not working.  So for another day I sit at home, not being productive, not earning any money.  I have unemployment coming in, but I’d much rather not use the handout.  I’d much rather have a job, earn my keep.  There is money coming in, but this is unemployment, it is not a lot, not enough to live on.

I find I have to borrow money on occasion, find that I have to curtail even the most basic of purchases, and have to pay bills late on occasion.  I’d love to pay my bills on time, I really would.  The one thing I don’t want to be is a deadbeat.  I’m a man, not a leech, and it angers and annoys me that I have to be one, annoys the hell out of me.  It also has me beginning to get used to things I should not.  Like not being busy working.  Skills erode, deteriorate over time, and the more I sit and don’t do the job that my hands were meant to do, the less able I will be when I finally get back to working.

And that is no damn good, for me or for anyone I have to work with.

I just want to work, and waiting is becoming more and more difficult as time goes on.

_____________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

