August 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the August 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

_____________________________________

Mon.,  August 1st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE

Tues., August 2nd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE

Wed., August 3rd: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE

Thur., August 4th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:29:30, a 7: 51:05 m/m pace.  81 degrees, mostly sunny.  After 3 days off due to a hectic work schedule, it felt good to get out on the road and get some miles in.   Being as sore as I am after the heavy work of the last 3 days, I was not sure how long I was going to be able to go.  Put a top end of 6 laps in the park at the possible distance I was going to go.  I went 6, and felt like I could go more.  Ran the first ½ in 45:10, and the second ½ 50 seconds faster.  Nice.

Fri., August 5th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:52, a 7:47.80 m/m pace.  85 degrees, sunny.  First back to back 10+ milers of the year.  Told myself to just run as far as I could today, and not worry about either time or distance. And with that I was able to go as long as yesterday, and faster to boot.  Nice.  Last year I hit the 1,000 mile mark on September 6th.  I hit the 1,000 mile mark on the year for this year today.  Most excellent.

Sat., August 6th:  Ran 9 miles in 1:08:35, a 7:37.22 m/m pace.  79 degrees, sunny.  I tweaked my left foot slightly near the end of lap 1 of a 4 lap run.  Stopped for a minute to shake it out, ran on it for a few minutes, the pain worked itself out, it was fine by the end of lap 2.  Time is faster than I had planned on going.  I told myself to take it slow and not sweat speed.  I didn’t but then again… 10 seconds per mile faster than yesterday after 2 10+ milers in a row on a 9 mile run with an injury stop isn’t exactly taking it easy.  Good run.

Sun., August 7th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:04.74, a 7:37.99 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny, humid.  Pushed hard in the humidity today. Slept more than usual last night and I still felt “blah” out there.  Might have something to do with the weather, or sitting in air-conditioning too much.  Dunno.  I was still relatively quick.  I could not have gone longer though, not at the effort level I was pushing at.    I had fun out there.  200 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Mon., August 8th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:13:23, a 7:43.47 m/m pace.  89 degrees, sunny.   I took my time in spots here, and busted my ass in others.  Lap 2 was slow, ran it in 14:58 (7:52.63 pace), ran the last lap the fastest, 21 seconds a mile faster(a 7:31.57 pace) than lap 2.  Nice.  Left ankle bothered me a bit during the run, but it was transitory pain, left as quickly as it showed up.  No other issues.  I wasn’t sure how long I’d be able to go, happy that I got 5 laps in.  150 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Tues., August 9th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 55:39.07, a 7:19.35 m/m pace.  82 degrees, sunny.  Busted my ass the whole way, and sprinted the final 200 yards to boot!  Nice.  No pain to speak of.  Ran down to the park today, untimed.  That warm up helped me move this quick.  Felt good to move this fast.  150 knuckle push-ups, 60 chin-ups.

Wed., August 10th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 41:48.37, a 7:20.06 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny.  I was going to go long today.  Thought that would be a good way to ring in my 44th birthday.  Then I ran my first lap faster than I expected to run it.  I said the hell with it, I’m not going long, I’m gonna try to run fast.  Ran 2 more laps and called it a day.  If I can relax like that and say f*** it one day, it is today.  So I did.  150 standard (KPU) burpees.

Thur., August 11th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:12:58, a 7:40.84 m/m pace.  78 degrees, sunny.  Took my time out there today, after 2 relatively fast days.  Felt good to take the foot off of the gas.  Hammies were a bit tight as I started, but loosened up as the run went on.  They’re fine now.  Temps under 80 degrees made this easy running weather. Lose 10 more degrees, and I’ll start going ùber long (should I have the time to.)  Good Run.  No exercise, back pain kept me from it.

Fri., August 12th:  Ran 10.68 miles in 1:22:17, a 7:42.26 m/m pace.  80 degrees, sunny.  Ran all over the place today,  all over the old neighborhood.  Nice day for it.  Had pain and soreness in my left anterior compartment, but like all minor running pain, it went away after a few minutes, maybe a mile or so.  Hills weren’t too bad.  I could have gone longer.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Sat., August 13th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 52:54.24, a 7:27.07 m/m pace.  77 degrees, partly cloudy.  Initially I was just going to run at an easy pace, but it was nice out, and I sped up as I went on.  By the time I got to my last of 3 park laps, I was motoring.  Couldn’t quite catch up to Tuesday’s pace, but this isn’t a bad time.  No pain, which is nice.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Sun., August 14th:  Ran 11.94 miles in 1:33.33, a 7:50.10 m/m pace.  69 degrees, rain, heavy at times.  This started out being a park run, but the park is a mess from the rain and wind, so I only did 1 lap there (+the run there and back, 4.42 miles total)  Ran home, then past “home sweet apartment” and ran some random hills.  Home to Victory to Manor to Forest to Bement to Lafayette to the Terrace and back.  3.76 miles each way.  What I wanted today was 1½ hours of run time, weather be damned, and I got it.  200 standard (KPU) burpees.

Mon., August 15th:  Ran 8.22 miles in 1:04:00, a 7:47.15 m/m pace.  73 degrees, light rain/ drizzle.  3 park laps +1.26 mile run to and from the park.  The park was in better shape today then it was yesterday, though the paths were still a mess.  Wore the mudders for a second straight day.  Calves are a mite bit sore, all else is fine.  100 knuckle push-ups, 100 beginner (KPU) burpees .

Tues., August 16th:  Ran 9.2 miles in 1:09:39, a 7:34.24 m/m pace.  71 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Happy hill run in the old neighborhood today.  I wasn’t planning on going quite this long, I just did.  Ran fast when and where I could, and I didn’t think I was moving at a 7:35 pace, thought I was a fair bit slower.  I hit the 1,000 mile mark on the year 11 days ago, I hit the 1,100 mile mark today.  I hit 1,100 miles last year on October 13th.  Nice.

Wed., August 17th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 57:56.06, a 7:37.37 m/m pace.  81 degrees, mostly sunny.  Right hamstring is a wee bit sore, overuse I think, just pushing too hard, or more aptly put, going too long too many times without a break.  Waking up sore everyday.  I think the time has come to put the brakes, at least somewhat, on the 7+ milers.  I’ve only had one sub 7 mile run so far this month, and I’m 2 ¼ miles per run over my average for the year so far this month.  That is too much too soon.  A day or two with shorter runs could do me good.

Thur., August 18th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:22.52, a 7:22.79 m/m pace.  77 degrees, partly sunny, humid.  Hamstring is feeling fine, like nothing was wrong with it.  Not sore waking up this morning, which was a nice change of pace for me.  Quick pace today for the short run, I didn’t run all out, but I was pretty close to it, overall hard effort.   Good run.

Fri., August 19th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:09.20, a 7:20.23 m/m pace.  77 degrees, humid, cloudy, rain as run ended.  I did what I could to get a run in before the seemingly nightly thunderstorms came in.  Got done as the first of the major lightning strikes hit the area.  Short runs are fun, they make it easy to go for speed, I tried to open up my stride, though the results were not uber fast, they’re better than some of the times, i’ve run this month.  I think I did well.

Sat., August 20th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:47.59, a 7:34.59 m/m pace.  69 degrees, sunny.  Beautiful morning for a run.  I was feeling all sorts of out of sorts early, sore, tired, stiff, achy, which had me moving slow out of the gate, but I managed to pick it up a bit and get myself in gear somewhat as the run went on. I was busting my ass by the time the end of the 3 park laps came around, and hit the hill home hard.  Good run. 150 knuckle push-ups(6×25), 42 chin-ups(6×7).

Sun., August 21st:  Ran 10.9 miles in 1:24:31, a 7:45.23 m/m pace.  77 degrees, partly cloudy, humid.  Started out slow, picked up the pace as I went along, nothing uber fast at any point, but I was moving at a good clip at the end of the 5 park laps.  Could have gone longer.  I have work tomorrow, so I decided to stop at 5 laps rather than go 6 or 7.  Had fun with the early Sunday morning run.  300 knuckle push-ups (12×25) .

Mon., August 22nd:  Ran 6.32 miles in 45:27.94, a 7:11.63 m/m pace.  73 degrees, partly cloudy.  Busted my ass the entire way.  Park was packed, nearly ran one guy over who literally jumped in front of me.  Idiot.  No other issues.  No soreness or pain to speak of, which is nice.  I was surprised I had this much in the tank, but it was really nice out, and that made speed all the more easier.  150 knuckle push-ups, 42 chin-ups.

Tues., August 23rd:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:26:59, a 7:37.80 m/m pace.  73 degrees, sunny.  Took my time early, really picked up the pace for the last 2 laps.  Ran the first 4 laps at a 7:45 pace, the last 2 at just under a 7:23 pace. I’m kinda surprised I could hit that pace after running for over seven and a half miles, and after the speed-work yesterday.  Fun running out there today.  100 ceiling kick burpees.

Wed., August 24th:  Ran 5.9 miles in 43:23.83, a 7:21.32 m/m pace.  73 degrees, party cloudy, windy.  A slightly different path to the park today for today’s post work run.  Normal path is .7 miles, this one is 1.05 miles, mostly hill run.  I felt fast, and it feels good to run in low 70’s and windy, beats hell out of 90’s and humid.  Fun run tonight.  150 knuckle push-ups, 42 chin-ups.

Thur., August 25th: Ran 5.2 miles in 39:55.59, a 7:40.69 m/m pace.  76 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Slow at the outset, got motoring after I hit the ½ way point.  I felt out of sorts when I began, which is why I was slow, started to feel better as I went, which is why I sped up, pretty simple, that is. I could have gone longer, but I started late, and wanted to get done and eat dinner. No exercise tonight.

Fri., August 26th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Sat., August 27th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Sun., August 28th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Mon., August 29th:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Tues., August 30th: NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Wed., August 31st:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE. (These days off are a result of the combination of Hurricane Irene and its aftermath and being busy at my temp job)

___________________________________

This month:  183.66  miles.  Longest run: 11.94 miles (August 14th) Shortest runs: 5.2 miles (August 18th, 19th, and 25th)  22 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 8.348 miles

Year to date: 1169.19 miles  Longest so far 14.7 miles (May15th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 172 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  6.797  miles

_________________________________

When I ran this month, I was spectacular out there.  The month of August had the longest average run distance I have ever had during any month that I have ever run.  I would complain about the time off at the end of the month, bemoan the cruelty of being at the mercy of the elements, but to be honest, I needed a break.  I was sore all over, just plain beat, woke up sore and in pain, had trouble bending down to pick stuff up.  That went away after a few days off.  Mind you I would not have minded having one or two more run days, but the extra rest felt good.

I did 100 miles in 11 days at one point this month.  That was GREAT.  The running was excellent this month.  Here’s to September being even better!

_________________________________

That’s it from here for the moment, America.  Later.

2 thoughts on “August 2011 Running Commentary

  1. Hey Mike!

    I notice you do knuckle pushups.. I’ve heard that these can lead to arthritis but Im thinking its all bull… is there any truth to this? And how come you prefer them over regular ones? Thanks!

    Sarah

  2. I find Knuckle Push-Ups (KPU’s) easier to do than regular push-ups, because I’ve noticed my hands can sometimes get pins and needles when doing regular pushups in large quantities.

    I did regular ones before I started doing KPU’s, but the pins and needles issue during the exercise went away when I began doing KPU’s.

    As for arthritis I can’t speak to it, My hands are fine. I play guitar every day and I’ve noticed no issue with arthritis affecting my playing, and I’ve been doing the KPU’s for a fairly long time.

    Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

