One Second It’s Busy…


And all of a sudden, it’s over.

__________________________

The job is done.  Finished.  Over.  I went back and worked at the assignment I thought I had finished at the beginning of August, and it lasted until the beginning of September.  Worked a few additional weeks, busted my ass something fierce, went from being an art handler, which is where I started, to being a mover, and finally a garbage man.  The last two weeks I’ve been ripping apart the inside of the office I was working in.  There is nothing left.  The walls are bare, the shelves empty, every last bit of space that was filled is gone.

Worked hard making it so.  Liked it, hard work and toil are man’s lot, and I don’t mind doing just that.  But the work is done. I’m unemployed again.  Broke again.  The wife tells me she’s proud of me.  Don’t see why.  At the end of the day, I still haven’t had a job that has health or dental  insurance since March of 2009, still haven’t been able to land a permanent job in over 2 years.

The money will get tight, and probably pretty soon, but I’m not too worried about that.  Money is always tight around here.  Always has been, even before I lost my job at DPW almost 2½ years ago. It’s a cold dark world I inhabit as far as money is concerned, and I fully expect it to get colder and darker before things thaw out.

Work will eventually come around.  I’ll eventually land on my feet somewhere.  I’m too hard a worker, too good a worker, too dedicated to work and sweat to be ignored forever.  It is annoying as all hell that I’m out on my ass again.  I’m a little bummed about it.  It happens.  Not worried, it’s a normal part of living the life I live, I guess.

I’ve been kinda touchy and moody the last few days, and I wasn’t sure why before today.  Thought maybe it had something to do with me not running for a few days, but that wasn’t it.  My body feels better as a result, so it isn’t that.  The lack of work has hung over my head for so long that I almost forgot how heavy the burden is. Forgot that is, until it came back to me again the last few days.

Dammit.  I just want a full time permanent job.  Is that too much to ask?

___________________________

That’s it for me, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

