July 2011 Running Commentary


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the July 2011 Running Commentary.  Enjoy!

______________________________

Fri., July 1st:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:14:11, a 7:48.52 m/m pace.  81 degrees, sunny.  I was not sure how long I was going to go today when I left.  My hamstrings are a bit sore from busting my ass yesterday, but not too bad, just enough to keep me from going uber long, which I wanted to do.   So I just went as long as my legs would let me.  Annoyed that my legs didn’t have at least 10 miles in them though.  Still a good run.

Sat., July 2nd:  NO RUN, NO EXERCISE.

Sun., July 3rd:  Ran 9.56 miles in 1:15:18, a 7:52.59 m/m pace.  72 degrees, heavy rain.  I was going to go longer today, had planned on it, but rain soaked footwear (and everything-else-wear) got soaked, and I decided against a very long run.  I was unable to get any real speed going, and after about 8 miles, had a sore point at the base of the anterior compartment on my left leg.  It went away, so I’m not concerned.  1.96 miles of new path on the hills from the park today.

Mon., July 4th:  Ran 2.85 miles in 21:29:86, a 7:32.58 m/m pace.  90 degrees, sunny. Injury shortened run.  I was planning on either 5.7 or 7.6 miles today, but my left knee had other plans.  Got loose soon after the end of lap one, and I ran with a limp, on and off for the next ½ lap, with 2 separate stops because I could not continue without the break.  Knee does this every once in a while.  It should be fine tomorrow.

Tues. July 5th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 58:29.64, a 7:41.79 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny.  Opened up my stride in places today, but not everywhere. Ran fast when and where I felt able to.  Didn’t want to go too hard after tweaking my left knee yesterday.  Enjoyed the shade, when I could get to it,  and had fun out there running in the warm summer sun. 200 push-ups, It’s a start, not a strong one, but it’s a start.

Wed., July 6th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:30:15, a 7:55.00 m/m pace.  91 degrees, partly sunny, humid.   Distance and heat made any running hard running today. I went out not knowing how long I was going to go, but wanting to go long.  Feet were sore after about 10 miles, and I started to feel my left hamstring tighten on me a bit before I finished, so I picked the right distance for the day.  Longer would have been counter-productive, methinks.  50 chin-ups, beginner crap, part II.

Thur., July 7th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 41:42.81, a 7:19.09 m/m pace.  92 degrees, partly sunny.  This was as close as I could get to a full speed run, busted it nearly 100%.  Foot speed topped out, I could not have run faster, not at this distance in this heat.  After a few days of slower runs (not counting the abbreviated run on the 4th,) it felt good to just let fly.  No exercise… I’m getting lazy dammit.

Fri., July 8th:  Ran 7.6 miles in 59:02.04, a 7:46.05 m/m pace.  84 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Started slow, and slowly picked up the pace, never hit yesterday’s pace.  I was not trying to go fast early today. I did end up putting in a pretty solid effort, and was going significantly faster at the end than at the beginning.  Reminiscent of April’s running, my left knee was on FIRE out there for a minute on the final lap, hurt like hell.  And just as fast as it showed up, the pain disappeared.  Go fig.  150 push-ups, 50 chin-ups.

Sat., July 9th:  Ran 5.7 miles in 41:19.61, a 7:15.02 m/m pace.  79 degrees, sunny.  I pushed hard out there but, with lower temps and less humidity, this was a much easier run.   I was going to go longer but shortened so I could get things done around here.  Beautiful July morning run.  100 knuckle push-ups, 75 beginner knuckle push-up burpees, 50 chin-ups.  I was going to do just burpees and chins, but after 3 sets of burpees my hammies cramped on me, stopped me from doing more.  Dammit.

Sun., July 10th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:28:27, a 7:45.52 m/m pace.  83 degrees, sunny.  Didn’t push hard. didn’t slack, just went with what felt like a natural pace. I actually could have gone longer, but with actual work on the horizon tomorrow, I decided 11.4 was about as long as I should go.  I did not think I was this quick out there, thought I was pushing an 8:00 flat or somewhere near there.  200 beginner knuckle push-up burpeesI’m not in shape, these things beat my ass!

Mon., July 11th:  Ran 5.84 miles in 43:33.37, a 7:27.49 m/m pace.  88 degrees, cloudy, humid.  Hit the hills hard today, ran quick most of the way today.  Hamstrings were sore, but I still managed to stretch my stride out there.  Different run today, 1.97 miles to the park, one lap in the park, and 1.97 back.  Evening run after work for the first time in 2 months felt good.

Tues., July 12th: Ran 6.32 miles in 47:15.58, a 7:28.66 m/m pace.  93 degrees, partly cloudy.  Hot late day run.  Ran 1.26 miles to the park, 2 laps in the park, and 1.26 miles back home.  I didn’t push hard until I got to the park, then turned on the afterburners and ran as hard as I could from then on.  Amazingly hot for a run that ended near sunset.  100 knuckle push-ups, 50 chin-ups, 21 minutes.  Not too bad, didn’t break as much of a sweat as I thought I would.

Wed., July 13th:  NO RUN, NO WORKOUT.  Busy.  Dammit.

Thur., July 14th:  Ran 6.32 miles in 46:39.00, a 7:22.88 m/m pace.  70 degrees, mostly cloudy.  23 degrees cooler, with a day off between, made this run, 35 seconds faster than the previous run at the same distance, seem like an easier run.  Tweaked my left pinky toe again.  Dammit.  I still had fun out there.  75 chin-ups.

Fri., July 15th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:29:05, a 7:48.86 m/m pace.  85 degrees, partly sunny.  I didn’t push hard today, at least I didn’t early on, I was moving faster when I finished than when I started.  The faster running just felt right, never tried to run faster, I just did.  It might not have been a lot faster, but it was noticeable.  Had fun out there, and could have gone longer, I felt that good.  Nice.

Sat., July 16th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:26.20, a 7:40.02 m/m pace.  82 degrees, sunny.  I just did not have it this morning, I felt sluggish for most of the run, and really never got going.  I tried to run fast, but it didn’t really work.  Can’t be gems every day, I guess.  Still a good day to run, the weather was nice enough for a mid July run. 150 knuckle push-ups, 50 chin-ups. Increased the amount per set I did on the chin-ups, doubled it.  5 per set was too easy.  10 makes me grunt and strain.

Sun., July 17th:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:43:44, a 7:47.97 m/m pace.  87 degrees, sunny.  8 seconds per mile slower than yesterday, and I feel better about today’s run than yesterday’s.  I could have gone longer, wanted to save something for exercise later on and work tomorrow.  Park was not as packed as I thought it would be, made for easy running.  Fun run in the sun today.  200 knuckle push-ups, 50 chin-ups. 8 sets each, 25 per set on KPU’s, 7 per (8 on final set) on chins.

Mon., July 18th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:48.01, a 7:39.23 m/m pace.  93 degrees, humid.  Hard run in the late day sun.  Felt good to get out and run today after a hard day’s work.  I probably could have gone faster… on another day, not today.  Hot and humid made the running difficult, still managed a not quite half bad time even with it.  30 chin-ups, all i had time for, and did them just before bed.

Tues., July, 19th:  Ran 6.32 miles in 47:21.32, a 7:29.57 m/m pace.  85 degrees, humid.  Hit the hills hard out the door, and kept it up the whole way.  Surprised I had the energy to do this, work whupped my ass, I had nothing left when I left work, makes this run seem like an accomplishment.    It felt hotter than 85 degrees out there, but I am used to running in the heat, so 85 isn’t a big deal.

Wed., July 20th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 38:08.95, a 7:20.18 m/m pace.  79 degrees, humid, hazy.  It felt hotter’n yesterday.  Busted my ass out there, this was about as much as I had in the tank today.  Toes on my left foot are sore, wonder why.  lulz.  I now have 4 black toes on my left foot.  Need new shoes I guess.  Might splurge and spend $40 on new shoes or sumthin in the next week or two, if I can.  Next few days are gonna be super hot, might end up cutting my distance down because of it, I’ll see how it is.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., July 21st:  Ran 6.32 miles in 48:44.80, a 7:42.78 m/m pace.  95 degrees, humid.  Hot as hell out there.  Hardest run in a while, just because of the weather.  Toes were sore, but not as bad as yesterday.  No other issues.  Going shorter tomorrow, as it will be hotter tomorrow than it was today.  275 knuckle push-ups.  Lost count, I think it was 275, might be 250, might be 300, not sure, so I split the difference.  Works for me.

Fri., July 22nd:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:16.14, a 7:33.10 m/m pace.  102 degrees.  Hot, hot, hot.  Ran today in this heat just to be able to say I ran on the hottest day in New York in my lifetime, which knowing the weather will last until tomorrow.  It was actually not as bad as I thought it was going to be, maybe because I nearly had the park to myself.  That always makes running easy.  I really enjoyed this one, even if it was short due to the heat.  100 knuckle push-ups, 50 burpees.

Sat., July 23rd:  Ran 7.1 miles in 54:31.95, a 7:40.83 m/m pace.  92 degrees, humid, mostly sunny. This was as much as I had out there this morning.  Hamstrings felt a bit sore, not too bad but noticeable; ankle was sore early, but that dissipated quickly as I got going.  Good run. 50 ceiling kick burpees, 125 knuckle push-ups, 35 chin-ups(7 per set) .

Sun., July 24th:  Ran 11.4 miles in 1:29:23, a 7:50.44 m/m pace.  91 degrees, humid, cloudy.  Had to stop once, this run, and this weather beat the hell out of me.  At the end I was thinking I could go longer, but decided against, I want to save something for exercise later, and work tomorrow.  Had the weather been better I probably would have gone longer.  Knee, toes, hamstrings, all fine.  Tough but good run.

Mon., July 25th:  Ran 6.32 miles in 47:38.95, a 7:32.36 m/m pace.  73 degrees, cloudy, humid, rain early.  I ran pretty hard today.  Hit the hill on the way back home hardest, felt good to hit that steep hill on Victory Blvd. from the park to Royal Oak as fast as I did.  No pain to speak of today. Nice.   Best weather I’ve seen since early July.  Double nice.

Tues., July 26th: Ran 6.32 miles in 46:06.46, a 7:17.73 m/m pace.  81 degrees, cloudy, humid, rain early.  If I ran hard yesterday, I busted my ass today.    I began by just keeping my stride rate high, and as the run went on, I started stretching my stride length, and got quick.  Then some kid tried to pass me, but I wasn’t having it, 3 times he got close, tried to pass, 3 times I pushed harder and kept him in my rear-view.  That felt good.  200 knuckle push-ups.

Wed., July 27th:  Ran 5.2 miles in 39:31.25, a 7:36.00 m/m pace.  83 degrees, partly cloudy.  Nice evening for a run.  I took my time out there, mostly.  I did pick up the pace on the second lap after a leisurely first lap, it just felt right to try to move a little faster there, that’s usually how that happens though.  Gnats around the first lake are getting out of control, I’m getting sick of having to run through swarms of the damn things.  Otherwise twas a good run. 150 knuckle push-ups.

Thur., July 28th:  Ran 6.32 miles in 49:03.48, a 7:45.74 m/m pace.  84 degrees, partly cloudy.  Took my foot off of the gas today.  I’m a bit tired from work the last few days, and a bit of a slowdown seemed in order.  I have a sore toe on my right foot, to go along with the 4 black toes on my left foot.  Nice.  A bit warm, but it was a nice evening for a run.

Fri., July 29th:  Ran 9.5 miles in 1:15:16, a 7:55.37 m/m pace.  85 degrees, humid, cloudy.  Looking at the time here, I am surprised at just how hard this run was.  I wasn’t fast, but this effort was as much as I had, and I pushed about as hard as I was capable.  I sweated more, and gave more today than I did during the faster and longer effort I put up last Sunday.  It might be  my body reacting to all the mileage I’ve been piling up.  200 miles this month, almost 400 since June 1st.

Sat., July 30th:  Ran 7.1 miles in 53:44.70, a 7:34.18 m/m pace.  82 degrees, sunny.  I did not try to run any faster than I did yesterday.  I may have even had my foot more off the gas today than yesterday, and yet I ran 19 seconds a mile faster today.  No pain to speak of, got pins and needles in my fingers though, which on occasion went away after just letting my hands drop, but that did not work all the time.  Pinched nerve or some such similar thing?  Possible, but uncertain.

Sun., July 31st:  Ran 13.3 miles in 1:44:15, a 7:50.30 m/m pace.  84 degrees, sunny.  7 laps in the park. I didn’t try for any serious speed, but I wasn’t lackadaisical either.  The new run shoes are nice.  Good cushioning, no movement within the shoe, the weight felt no different from my last shoes, which was a pleasant surprise.  Thought about going longer, but with a very long day at work tomorrow, and an afternoon running around today, I thought better of it. I’ll begin exercise again probably the 3rd or 4th of August.

______________________________

This month:  222.39  miles.  Longest run: 13.3 miles (July 17th and 31st) Shortest runs: 2.85 miles (July 4th)  29 runs in 31 days during the month. Average run distance for the month: 7.668 miles

Year to date: 985.53 miles  Longest so far 14.7 miles (May15th) Shortest 1.7 miles (January 24th, injury shortened). 150 runs on the year.  Average run distance:  6.570  miles

______________________________

If last month was my best run month to that point in my running life, this one was that much better.  First time ever over 200 miles on any month, averaged over 7 ½ miles per run, only 2 days off during that time, and a large number of long runs.  It was frankly the best month I have ever had as a runner.  Ever.  August will have to be a gonzo run month to equal it.

Here’s to going gonzo.  🙂

I worked for a fair amount of time this month, and ran most days I worked, despite the work being what could only be called back-breaking labor, and I ran relatively long at that, and hills mostly on top of that.  Sore toes were an issue, and I had pins and needles issues on the last few runs, but that I think is a shoulder issue, so it isn’t a real one, except on a comfort level, which is not something I offhand pay attention to.  If the small stuff like that is the stuff I write about, I am not doing too badly.

I am at this point thinking of attempting to go super long, at least for me anyway, starting to try marathon  and ultra-marathon distance running during my training.  I am at that point, and I am sure I can do it.

_______________________________

That’s it from here, America.  G’night.

Leave a Reply

