July 2011 Random Thoughts


Once a month or so, I clear out some of the content on my Running Commentary, Random Thoughts, and 12 Notes pages and place them here on the main page to make room for fresh content on those pages.  This is the content from July’s 2011 Random Thoughts.  Enjoy!

_______________________________

Watching the hockey news, with the beginning of the free agent signing period.  Rangers for some reason signed Mike Rupp, former crap devils center, for $1.5 million a year.  So the suck-ass for the Rangers continues.  Varlamov, the kid from the Caps, signed with the ‘Lanche.  He wanted to be guaranteed the #1 goalie spot.  Ownership likes Neuwirth.  Guess he really just wanted to get out, why else would the #2 say sign me and guarantee me the #1 spot?

Panthers signed everyone else.  Or so it seems.

Hope they sign Brad Richards as well. With the money this guy wants, I’m not sure he’ll work here with the Rangers.  He’ll fit the mold of failure in New York, insofar as you sign the big money guy, who then goes on to be mediocre, or less than is expected, and then leaves and take all our money with him.

The Rangers need to go after Alex Tanguay, screw Richards.  (7/1)

__________________________________

Dammit, no Tanguay, no Kostitsyn.  Got Richards.  This guy better score 50 goals and lead us to the Stanley Cup Finals.  (7/2)

__________________________________

Got soaked running today.  Rained hard from the minute I started running until the moment I stopped.  20 minutes after I finished running, the rain had stopped.  Dammit, thought it was gonna be a light rain.  Go fig, hope the running shoes dry out for tomorrow (7/3)

__________________________________

Happy Independence day!  I’ve sent in 6 resumes today before heading out to run.  Gonna look to see if I can send more before I begin to get ready to go out with my wife and eat some sammiches in the park under the shade of oak trees near the brook, or some such. (7/4)

__________________________________

Anagram: Independence day/ Penny Needed Acid/ Needy Ended Panic/ I Can Deny Deep End/  Eddy Need Nap? Nice./ I Deny Dependence/ Candy In Deep Need/ Pic Ended Any Need/I’d Deny Ed Penance  (7/4)

__________________________________

The Casey Anthony jury came back with a judgment a lot of people disagree with.  Don’t know that I care, offhand.  The child is dead, and a guilty verdict would not have brought that child back to life.  The prosecution didn’t do their job, the defense did.  So be it.  (7/5)

__________________________________

Bachmann vs. Obama,  November 2012.  Count on It.  Take Obama and the over.  (7/6)

__________________________________

Walked outside during the light rain late this evening after taking out the garbage.  It was beautiful out, said as much to my wife, she was busy working, and could not come out.  T’was sad.  She’s always stuck inside.  I get out every day.  Seems unfair, I have to get her out of the house.  All she ever does is work.   (7/8)

__________________________________

Busted my ass running.  Busted my ass exercising.  Is it any wonder now that my ass is sore? OK, not my Ass per se, My hamstrings feel like I just ran them through the ringer though.  (7/10)

__________________________________

My first day of meaningful work in two months was no different than I expected it would be.  Did paperwork, busted my butt, wrapped stuff up, boxed up fabric, hauled stuff all over the place.  I was reminded of Sotheby’s bt several things though.  I, walking through the place early, noticed several pieces of art that look suspiciously like I had moved and worked with them at Sotheby’s.  Upon closer inspection I was right, from chandeliers to chinese vases to large pieces of marble.  The stuff they bought from there was marked up a bit from the bid prices as I recall them.  lulz.  Small world.  (7/11)

___________________________________

I am going to try to run every day when I am working.  No reason why I shouldn’t be able to. It’s not like I am running long during the week.   5.8 and 6.3 miles so far.  Should be easy. (7/12)

__________________________________

Got a new A/C unit today.  Thing works nice.  Keeps the apartment nice and cool.  Kept me from running though.  Between pick up and installation, it took a couple hours.  So much for running every day I’m working.  (7/13)

_________________________________

It would have been nice had the people at my temp job told me beforehand that I am only getting 30 hours of work a week.  I didn’t find that little nugget o’ joy out until nearly noon today.  Bastards.  you should tell people when they start what their days they are going to work if the week is going to be altered from the accepted norm.

I managed to get a ride to sears on Wednesday to pick up the AC that day, only because I wasn’t sure I would be able to get it before Saturday, and I didn’t know if they would hold it in storage that long for me.  I could have let the ride go and picked it up myself had I known.  Goddamn bastards. (7/14)

________________________________

I will actually work 3 days this week.  Today I sat around and babysat 300 boxes, and tomorrow I’ll basically do the same thing and get paid for it.  I’m not complaining though.  The two hottest days of the year and I get to sit in air conditioning that was cold enough to keep a side a beef nice and chilled.  (7/21)

________________________________

Some nutbag in Norway lost his mind, blew up a  government building, then shot up a camp with kids in it.  No idea how many are dead.  Some idiot on Fox news has already blamed Islamic terrorists.  No one else has jumped on that.  Looks like some lone wolf McVeigh wannabe and a buddy or two did this crap.  (7/22)

________________________________

It’s too bleeding HOT! Someone needs to arrest mother nature for this crap!  (7/23)

________________________________

Paid Con Ed and National Grid on time and in full.  Wife paid them last month because I didn’t have the money.  Feels good to be able to pay for the bills on my own again.  (7/24)

________________________________

Just watched the President give his debt ceiling speech.  Watched John Boehner respond.  Got the feeling that Boehner was just plain full of shit.  President nailed it on all points.  Still doesn’t mean a damn thing as far as getting a deal worked out. That looks less and less likely.  (7/25)

________________________________

Anagram:  Employment/ Empty Lemon/ Me Only Temp?/My Pet Melon/ On My Temple/ My Lent Poem/ Yelp Moment/ My Omen Lept (7/26)

________________________________

I am beat.  Beat as all get out.  Between running, working out, and the work moving the archive that I am doing, I am just about spent.  I don’t mind though.  I’ll get to rest soon enough.  After August 3rd I’ll have plenty of time to sleep, because (unless I get a new job that quick, which would be nice) that day is the last one on the archive assignment.  I’ll get over it. (7/27)

_______________________________

This debt ceiling thing is going to be a mess well past Monday, mark my words, this thing is far from finished.  (7/28)

_______________________________

The debt ceiling bill passed the house.  2 hours later, the Senate shot it down, 59-41, meaning several Republicans joined in shooting it down.  Nice (7/29)

______________________________

Leave a Reply

